We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Disappointing, but still adequate”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Hotel Pension Schottentor
Ranked #70 of 113 Vienna B&B and Inns
Washington DC, District of Columbia
Level Contributor
50 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 42 helpful votes
“Disappointing, but still adequate”
Reviewed 19 August 2014

We stayed during a brief summer visit to Vienna. This is a very spartan accommodation -- in a city of such great culture it seemed weird that there wasn't a single piece of art on the walls. Usually we take hotel art for granted, but if it is missing and all you have is a barren white wall, then you notice. it was not the cleanest place either -- for example, no mattress protectors and there was mold on the wall above the ceiling. Our room was right on the first floor, which meant that the window opened right on to the street. While the staff was friendly, I found it weird that the front desk was not manned in the early hours when we departed. Still, for 90 Euros a night, out family of four slept comfortably in the two rooms. Location is also great as it is a quick walk to the metro/streetcars/bus stops. We walked easily to Stephensdom and there is a nice playground just behind the Borse (stock exchange). However, I really don't know how that place keeps three stars accreditation though. Adequate is the best I can say about this place.

  • Stayed August 2014, travelled with family
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Epic_Winter_1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

57 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    4
    11
    27
    5
    10
See reviews for
18
12
5
6
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (4)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Bangkok, Thailand
Level Contributor
61 reviews
35 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
Reviewed 25 March 2014

Nothing special about this pension. It is a guest house rather than a hotel. The staff is helpful and the pension is well managed and clean, even if the premices are a little quaint. Breakfast just ok, but enough to start the day and make it to a nice Café.
On Saturday night one could here the echo of a boom box somewhere in a nearby building. Otherwise calm location, very central (short walk to the Hofburg).

  • Stayed March 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank la_soeur_warner
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Germantown Hills, Illinois
Level Contributor
12 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 3 January 2013

We stayed at the Pension Schottentor between Christmas and New Year's. We were traveling as a family of 6. The hotel is conveniently located near the Schottentor metro stop.

The hotel staff were very friendly. They allowed to leave our luggage (since we had arrived early by overnight train) and then moved our luggage into the room for us before we returned. We were able to borrow a hair dryer from the front desk. The room was clean and we received fresh towels and linens every day.

The breakfast was pretty standard fare for a European hotel (fruit, cereal, meat and cheese, yogurt, bread and hard-boiled eggs). The breakfast doesn't start until 8 am, but that wasn't a real problem since our metro passes weren't valid until 9 am.

WiFi is available in the common area of the hotel. We were close enough to the front desk that we were able to pick it up in our room as well.

It is an old building, with a small television in the room, but then again you aren't going to Vienna to sit in a hotel room and watch TV.

  • Stayed December 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Scott W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Vantaa, Finland
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed 11 April 2012

I stayed in Pension Schottentor over Easter holidays, and I cannot really relate to all the complaints written in here. We arrived at about 11 am and got our rooms immediately. The rooms were clean, including the bathroom. Beds, pillows and blankets were good. There was some noise from the corridor if someone passed by but that is the case in most of the hotels. The building was old but beautiful, old viennese style, and the ceilings were high. We didn't have any problems with hot water, it never ran out. Some of the bathrooms were renovated so they have stand-in showers, we had a bath tub and it was okay too.

The personnel was a bit shy and quiet but we didn't have any problems communicating (out English is not perfect either). A hair dryer and a water boiler can be borrowed from the reseption, and the baggage can be left on the hallway and picked up later if you check out and your plane doesn't leave yet.

The breakfast was okay, there was two kinds of bread and cheese and different toppings, youghurt, cereal and müsli. Some kind of cake and fruit was also served every day. I thinks it was quite sufficient, I have nothing to complain about.

Overall it was a nice stay, perfect location, not many rooms so the atmosphere was calm and intimate. Only downside is that the building is old, so the floors are creaky and everything is not top notch, so if you want luxury you should go somewhere else.

  • Stayed April 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank KanervaS
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
cluj-napoca
Level Contributor
157 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 111 helpful votes
Reviewed 28 December 2011

We are a family, with 2 kids and we just spent the X-mas there, from 22nd to 27th december, renting 2 rooms. In just a few words, our holiday was :

"+" :
- even on a main street, there was no noise from the street at all;
- very close to the city center, just 5 minutes walk to the Town Hall, and its famous X-mas market;
- nice ppl at the reception; the guys were very quiet, but the lady was always available to talk and help;
- we have paid the parking in advance, for 5 days, but because there were 3 days of free parking, they gave us the money back, on request.

"-" :
- asked for a king bed, for me and my wife, but received 2 singles;
- dirt on the floor;
- dust in the wardrobe;
- poor breakfast and identical every day;
- TV smaller than my laptop's screen;
- in the morning, when more ppl take shower at the same time, there's no hot water...
- the bathroom from our room, seemed like has been built on the 2nd world war and never upgraded;
- small breakfast area (only 6-7 tables), you can have the "chance" to be full and then you have to wait to take your breakfast;
- no soundproofing rooms, you can hear all the noise from the lobby or from the other rooms.
- smoke smell around

Overall, I can give a note of 6.5-7 on a scale from 1 to 10.
If you want to visit Wien, and ONLY to sleep there, could be ok, being very close to the centre. But if you want a real vacation, for sure you could find some more friendly places to stay.

Anyway, I recommend you to visit Wien, wherever you will stay.
A few interesting places not to miss : Schonbrunn (especially the gardens and the zoo), Stefan's Platz with Stefan's Cathedral, Town Hall Place, Mariahilferstrasse.

Room Tip: Sorry, no tip... You will have to see the rooms to can choose one...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank horaxx
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Vantaa, Finland
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 16 October 2011

Room for four person, was actually part of flat: plenty of room to open suitcases. Our room was opposite side of street, 4th floor, not any noise at all .
Basic accommodation, pensions WiFi works fine. Room was old, but clean.
Breakfast is thin, if you are used to buffe breakfasta. Btw Vienna has many opportunities to get breakfast in some cafe also.

Location of pension is excellent, Schottentor subway station is for 2 minutes walk.

  • Stayed October 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank L0Rider
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
izmir
Level Contributor
24 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed 21 September 2011

I unfortunately stayed at this hotel for 2 nights on August 2011 with my girlfirend. First of all, they made us wait for 5 hours for our room!!! I mean really 5 hours. They always told us "sorry it will be ready in 30 minutes" :)

Location is OK, breakfast is OK (cakes are nice) Rooms are DIRTY, old and poor.

And the worst part is after we get back to home we found that they charged our credit card one more time after 1 month!!! I called them and they returned it back but what if I didn't noticed? You can find many nice hotel with the same amount of money near this one. Do not go to this hotel. I think they are running a fraud business here.

Room Tip: Corners are better I guess
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank LeventIzmir
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Vienna hotels

Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Vienna hotels
Serviten Quarter
Hotel Pension Baron am Schottentor
Alservorstadt
Hotel Regina
Hotel Regina
#100 of 360 in Vienna
780 reviews
Serviten Quarter
Hotel Am Schottenpoint
Hotel Am Schottenpoint
#284 of 360 in Vienna
90 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Serviten Quarter
Pension Gross
Pension Gross
#47 of 113 in Vienna
29 reviews
Josefstadt
Hotel-Pension Lehrerhaus
Hotel-Pension Lehrerhaus
#21 of 113 in Vienna
94 reviews
Inner City
Benediktushaus Guest House
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Pension Schottentor? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Pension Schottentor

Property: Hotel Pension Schottentor
Address: Hoerlgasse 4, Vienna 1090, Austria
Region: Austria > Vienna Region > Vienna > Serviten Quarter , Alservorstadt
Hotel Style:
Ranked #70 of 113 B&Bs / Inns in Vienna
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Pension Schottentor 3*
Number of rooms: 16
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Priceline, Booking.com and TripOnline SA so you can book your Hotel Pension Schottentor reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing