We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Good Room”
Review of Adagio Vienna City

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Adagio Vienna City
Ranked #120 of 362 Hotels in Vienna
Level Contributor
14 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Good Room”
Reviewed 4 October 2013 via mobile

Location: Quite a good location- about 600m from a metro which can take you straight into the city (which is about a 20 minute walk away anyway). There are a few restaurants and clubs around as well.

Room: Was pretty good- lots of amenities and quite clean. Our room smelled strongly of smoke (so remember to ask for a non smoking room if this will be an issue), and the carpets could do with a clean. We found it odd that a cleaning service was provided every day if you stay for three days, but not at all if you stay for four.
The gym provided is very minimal and old ( not all machines were working properly), but it was good enough for a small workout.

Service: The hotel staff were friendly. I just wouldnt recommend ordering from the food menu provided in the rooms, as we didnt get what we ordered for and the hotel staff and restaurant said there was nothing they could do about it.

If you want to stay here check a few different websites to get the best price (as you may find its cheaper on another site).

  • Stayed September 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank eurogapyear
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

761 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    297
    319
    101
    25
    19
See reviews for
162
350
38
93
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (71)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Czech first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Birmingham, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
42 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 October 2013

This was our first trip to Vienna, travelled with husband and daughter, it was she who booked the Adagio after reading some of the reviews. We had a two room 'apartment' with a kitchenette, bathroom, and seperate w.c, extremely useful with more than two sharing. Kitchen was well equipped with hob, microwave, dishwasher,kettle, fridge and coffeemaker, crockery, and cutlery and cooking 'pots'. For stays of more than 3 nights the rooms are not serviced,which we did not find a problem, clean towels are available on request from the reception desk, beds are comfy and clean, and there is ample hanging space and shelving in the wardrobe in the 'bedroom'. There is not much space around the bed, but again this was not too much of a problem. Would agree with a previous reviewer in that the carpets would benefit from a clean or replacement as they were a little stained, but apart from that the rooms were exceptionally clean. Tip: Would suggest ladies take their own hairdryer, as the one supplied is basic and is only suited to drying very short hair, as the handle gets very hot if used for too long and it overheats and cuts out, this was the only issue we had. Reception staff were efficient, friendly and helpful. The hotel is well situated for the Ubahn and tram stop is just outside the hotel, we found getting around Vienna really easy as a result we really enjoyed our stay.

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Brummie147
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Mumbai (Bombay), India
Level Contributor
48 reviews
33 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 42 helpful votes
Reviewed 23 September 2013

Adagio Vienna City is very conveniently located. Once you have a Vienna travel pass, entitling you to jump in and out of trams, getting to the Adagio or from it to any place in Vienna is a cinch.

The apartments are well designed and comfortable. Unfortunately, the carpets are somewhat old and soiled. Surprisingly there is no cleaning service at all if you stay for six days.

On the positive side:
* the room, bathroom and kitchen are well equipped
* sound-insulated and quiet
* all gadgets as well as the wi-fi work adequately

The staff at the reception are extremely friendly. One Mr Arun Sharma, in particular, gave us marvelous guidance when we checked in and the person who checked us out carefully held on to one of our bags that we had left behind in a hurry.

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Visphot
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
11 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
Reviewed 23 September 2013 via mobile

A listed building its not the most inviting or exciting looking exterior... In fact it looks dated including the red Adagio sign. Inside however its a different... Its modern, its clean and its everything you need when you are away from home.

Location: its situated just at the edge of inner city (inner strade).. Tramline 1 stop just outside is called julius rabe platz. Very convenient to hop on it to reach inner city. Otherwise the next tram stop is Shweden platz where you can get on the underground U1 or U4.. If you need U2 you should carry on the tram for another two stops till Shottenring.

Staff: we were met at the reception by Mr Arun Sharma who was friendly, knowlegdeable and helpful.  every evening when we returned he was there..always attentive, on his feet and greeting us with a smile and small talk.

Room: we were in room 719. the room was spacious and tastefully decorated. It had two double windows overlooking Danube river giving excellent panoramic views. We could see the vienna's famous ferris wheel from our window. The bathroom was clean and modern. The kitchen was good sized and had all the cutlery, crockery and utensils you might need. It even came stocked with washing up liquid, kitchen towels and dishwashing tablets to get you started (the "Billa" store is a stone's throw away for food/milk). I was apprehensive about the pull down bed but my worries were unfounded. The mattress was firm and supportive and the sheets were crisp Egyptian cotton ( or similar). We stayed 4 nights and the housekeeper cleaned, changed sheets, provided fresh towels daily.

Price: we paid around 135euro for each night through Expedia which I believe was just the right price point.

  • Stayed September 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank ramneeshpuri
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Perth, Australia
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 21 September 2013

Studio was tiny, triangular and extremely claustrophobic, small window onto awful courtyard. Noise from room above. We were booked for 2 nights but checked out after one due to the noise from the floor above which kept us awake in the night.

Room Tip: Don,t go for tiny studio appartment facing courtyard. Inspect room before paying if possible.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
Helpful?
1 Thank Camfred2013
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
AdagioWien, Rezeption at Adagio Vienna City, responded to this review, 23 September 2013
Dear guest,

Thank you very much for taking the time to share your comments regarding your stay at the Adagio Vienna City with us and the tripadvisor community.

First of all, please let me apologize for the circumstances you had during your stay in the Adagio Vienna City. I am really sorry to read, that our rooms did not meet your expectations and that the room above you was very noisy in the night you stayed in our hotel.

It would be a pleasure to welcoming you in Adagio Vienna City again.

Thank you again for staying with us and all the best!
Best regards,
Ines Schodl
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Quebec, Quebec, Canada
Level Contributor
39 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
Reviewed 18 September 2013

Our expectations were rather modest, considering the hotel's modest rates, in comparison to the Viennese market.

We were pleasantly surprised by the value, especially considering this is an apartment, not a hotel room. With markets nearby, cost-sensitive travelers can achieve dramatic savings by using the facilities furnished.

Friendly and useful staff, clean, great location. Great value!

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Ricardo T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Thessaloniki, Greece
Level Contributor
37 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed 18 September 2013

This hotel offers spacious rooms with many amenities. It is not in the center but it is only 1 to 2 metro station regarding where you want to go. The metro station is 5 min walk from the hotel. If you prefer tram, there is one just outside. On foot the center is on walking distance, about 15 min walk. The only drawback is that there is no daily cleaning (for a 5 night stay, no cleaning/clean towes provided) and NO soundproof. There was a kid on the next floor jumping and it really felt like an earthquake. I had to ask 3 times the receptionist to make a call so I could sleep eventually.

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank danae23590
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Vienna hotels
Inner City
Starlight Suiten Hotel Salzgries
Leopoldstadt
Novotel Wien City
Novotel Wien City
#117 of 362 in Vienna
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,353 reviews
Leopoldstadt
Mercure Wien City
Mercure Wien City
#135 of 362 in Vienna
4.0 of 5 bubbles 956 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Inner City
Best Western Hotel Pension Arenberg
Inner City
Hotel Capricorno
Hotel Capricorno
#22 of 362 in Vienna
4.5 of 5 bubbles 465 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Adagio Vienna City? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Adagio Vienna City

Property: Adagio Vienna City
Address: Uraniastrasse 2, Vienna 1010, Austria
Phone Number:
Region: Austria > Vienna Region > Vienna > Inner City
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#82 Family Hotel in Vienna
#88 Luxury Hotel in Vienna
#96 Romantic Hotel in Vienna
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:4 star — Adagio Vienna City 4*
Number of rooms: 124
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Adagio City Vienna is located in the heart of Vienna, right next to Julius-Raab-Platz and in close proximity to the ring road and the historical city center. We offer 124 fully equipped rooms, from studios for 2 people to 2-room apartments for 4 people. Located in the "Stubenviertel", with its unique facades, narrow alleys and numerous courtyards, it is the ideal base for a business trip or a long, relaxing weekend. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline, Odigeo, Hotels.com, Travel Republic (UK), ACCOR, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Cancelon, Evoline ltd, Hotel.de and HotelQuickly so you can book your Adagio Vienna City reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Adagio Wien Zentrum Hotel Vienna

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing