We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good choice, decent place”
Review of Hotel Riede

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Hotel Riede
Ranked #21 of 116 Vienna B&B and Inns
Reviewed 28 March 2013

Even though is not right in the city center, I must say that it’s very well placed. Close to Ubahn station, many markets and stores in the neighborhood and a very close Schonbrunn.
Stayed on the 3’th floor, in a classic and very well maintained XVII century Viennese building, room bigger than medium, very tall and spacious (not the same for the bathroom). Basic quality furniture and amenities, simple but clean appearance. Breakfast is good on quality but lacking in diversity.

Overall, it’s a choice for the good value

  • Stayed: February 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank IanDono79
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (97)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

31 - 37 of 97 reviews

Reviewed 25 February 2013

We stayed for 2 nights, 2 families in 2 big appartments.
Very clean, good value for money. Very friendly owner.
The place is right next to subway station, so in 10 mins you are in Old Town area, in 3mins in Schonnbrunn.
Nice breakfast, but we missed the Viennese soft boiled eggs....
Overall - great, will stay again.

  • Stayed: February 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank katarzyna2012
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 January 2013

Good location: close to U-Bahn station, 3-4 stations far from the City Centre.
We had a really big room with double bad and additional sofa, equipped with garderobe, 2 tables, TV and mini-bar.
Standard breakfast, but very friendly staff.

Stayed: January 2013, travelled as a couple
Thank Irina L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 October 2012

we spent for the second time a week end in this hotel ,and we will stay here again ,because we like very much everything ,from the big apartement with2 rooms each with tv,very clean,good towels and soap,excelent shower,free parking,across the street is a INTERSPAR,metro station,and the breakfast is excelent,and when you check out

  • Stayed: October 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Felicia_Mihalceanu
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 August 2012

Stayed here for two nights in the heat wave of early July 2012, and the lack of AC was noticed, but the floor fans and large windows made it tolerable.
The service was excellent - very helpful and full of good information about parking and getting around. The Metro station is a half block away and whisks you into downtown with one transfer in about 15 minutes. We bought parking passes for the street and a two day transit pass at the local Tabac store, which worked out perfectly.
Breakfast was very good, lots of fresh stuff and the usuual bread and meat to keep you going through the morning. I would strongly recommend not trying to find a restaurant in the area after about 8 pm as they are basically all Kebab or pizza stands, unless that is what you are craving. There are so many awesome places to eat downtown that you should only sleep and have breakfast at the hotel.
We walked one day to the Schonbrunn Palace which is a nice short walk and a very interesting attraction. It is worth the cost to do the full tour of the palace. you can spen hours wandering aroung the gardens and grounds - it is a beautiful place.

When you check out you are given a nice bottle of their family wine which we found to be very good. A nice touch - I would recommend this hotel to anyone.

  • Stayed: July 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank BC_Travellers24
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 July 2012

I selected Pension Riede mainly because of it's proximity to Schonbrunn Palace and it's cost. For the money, the hotel was a very good deal. we got a room on the 3rd floor, it was spacious and clean with a relatively small bathroom (shower, basin and a toilet). The room was furnished with a double bed and a sofa-bed with enough space for luggage and personal belongings. The water drained very slowly from the shower stall and the basin but the good part was that we got fresh & cold Alpine spring water directly in our taps. The hotel is located not too far from the Meidling train station and seems to be in an area with with a diverse population. Kids played at the nearby park and their parents/elders hung around chatting until it got dark which was around 9 pm (July). Nearby was a doner kebab shop (Diwan) where we frequently got our inexpensive snacks. The best part was the subway/metro station which was just two-minutes away from the hotel. The underground train (U3) took about 10 minutes to take us to the center of the town (near St. Stephen's Cathedral) via Westbanhof and a few minutes more on a different line to Karlplatz. The trains run like clockwork and you can be sure that you will get your connecting train within 5 minutes. It takes another 5 minutes or so more to go to Schwedenplatz stop where one can find good restaurants and the original Zanoni & Zanoni gellateria (excellent gellatos!) The entrance to the Pension is secured by a solid iron door which requires a key to get in and to get out. The elevator/lift is the old fashioned type probably running since 1950s...it is slow but sturdy and efficient. The breakfast is served in the restaurant on the ground floor with adequate seatings. The breakfast itself is a simple fare with not much variety but enough to keep you going for the rest of the day. The days were hot (in July) so one has to be a little careful in eating cut vegetables and cold-cut meats left on the breakfast bar for a long period of time....Talking about the July temperatues in Vienna - it was unbelievably hot and we felt the lack of a/c in the room even though we were supplied with a floor (Honeywell) tower fan. We were given another fan when we requested one. The managers and the staff are very friendly and helpful. They even give you a bottle of wine (from their family vineyard) at the end of the stay. All in all, Pension Riede is an excellent value for the price it charges.

Room Tip: If it's hot ask for rooms on the 1st or the 2d floor....
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Abzen2007
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 June 2012

Booked an apartment for 3: Very spacious, simple but enough for spending a couple of nights. The metro station is just 2 buildings down the street and a very nice supermarket in just across the street. The breakfast is definitely one of the most amazing things of the whole experience! And about the service: just thumps up!!!!!!!!!

Room Tip: If you want more space and comfort: book the apartment!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Leonardo G R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Vienna hotels
Renaissance Wien Hotel
#69 of 359 in Vienna
1,145 reviews
Ottakring
Boutique Hotel Donauwalzer
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Mariahilf
Time Out City Hotel Vienna
Hotel Fabrik
#11 of 116 in Vienna
187 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Riede? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Riede

Address: Niederhofstrasse 18, Vienna 1120, Austria
Region: Austria > Vienna Region > Vienna
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly)
Hotel Style:
Ranked #21 of 116 B&Bs / Inns in Vienna
Price Range: £60 - £83 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Riede 3*
Number of rooms: 21
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The perfect location of our Art-Deco hotel makes sightseeing easy. You will be situated in the heart of the City and only minutes away by Underground from Schoenbrunn Castle and our famed opera house and musical- theaters.Our comfortable and well-equipped rooms and apartments all have private baths and come with satellite-TV, mini-bar and direct-line dialing telephone service.A sumptuous, full breakfast is served in our cozy dining room by our friendly and courteous staff. A parking garage is also available to our guests upon request.During your stay you will be looked after by our family, who will do their utmost to make your stay in Vienna as memorably enjoyable as possible.The Riede Family ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with TripOnline SA, Booking.com, Agoda, HotelsClick and Travel Republic (UK) so you can book your Hotel Riede reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing