We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good Value for the price and very good location!”
3 of 5 bubbles Review of Hotel Admiral

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Hotel Admiral
Ranked #234 of 362 Hotels in Vienna
Leamington Spa, UK
Level Contributor
105 reviews
79 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 100 helpful votes
“Good Value for the price and very good location!”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 25 February 2011

I stayed 6 nights at the Admiral recently on business. Given that it is a budget hotel I thought it provided a very reasonable place to stay in central Vienna. The single room was fine (apart from the snorer in the next room!), breakfast was OK and there was no outside noise to speak of. The free wi fi in the room was also appreciated. It is very conveniently located for trams, u-bahn and local restaurants and is just round the corner from one of Vienna's main shopping streets and the Museum Quarter. Good value for a break in this fantastic city.

  • Stayed February 2011, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Kenfaisey
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

211 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    39
    89
    48
    22
    13
See reviews for
52
53
20
24
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (15)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Hungarian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Slovak first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Domzale, Slovenia
Level Contributor
6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 30 November 2010

The hotel is very centrally located, just behind the corner from Mariahilfe shopping street and the museum district, about a five minutes walk from the Hofburg. The room was a good size, basic but clean, the bathroom was renovated. You have free-of-charge wi-fi in the rooms. The hotel was very quiet day and night. They offer a good breakfast (cheese, ham, wurstel, jogurt, cereals, fruit and fantastic fresh bread). The hotel has private parking just nextdoor at a very good price per night, reservation needed!
The staff could show a little more interest in their work, they all seemed as they didn't want to be there.

  • Stayed November 2010, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank TjasaD
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Belgrade
Level Contributor
7 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 13 September 2010

We spent four nights in this hotel and were in generaly very satisfied with it.The hotel has an extraordinary location.It is situated in a quiet street just of one of main shoping streets of Vienna. Some of the most important museums are just around the corner .The amazing buildings in RIng ( including Opera,Burgtheater , Rathhaus etc ) and the Historic city center are in the walking distance .Near the hotel are stations of two subway lines and also tram and bus stops. Hotel is modest,but clean,staff nice,breakfast very good .At our next visit to Vienna we'ill book it again.

  • Stayed September 2010, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank JLRBelgrade
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Norman, Oklahoma
Level Contributor
2 reviews
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 1 September 2010

The Hotel Admiral is in the Museum Quarter, near the metro station and one block from the Modern Art and several other fantastic art museums. Window shopping is a treat going to and from the subway. Restaurants nearby are tops.

Stayed May 2010, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank HelenDuchon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
New Jersey
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 22 August 2010

I chaperoned a group of high school students with EF tours. We found the hotel very nice in all aspects but one. Group leaders beware there is a very shady night club that opens after 11pm that can be very loud. I witnessed what appeared to be drug deals on the street just across for the hotel's front entrance. Just warn your students.

  • Stayed July 2010
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Travel2Teach
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Helsinki, Finland
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 15 December 2009

There were smoking areas all around the hotel, people could even smoke while having breakfast, that's disgusting. Whole room smelled cigarettes. Breakfast was poor and coffee horrible! I wouldn't stay in that hotel more than max. 1 night, if must.

Stayed December 2009, travelled solo
Helpful?
1 Thank HannaA3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Vienna hotels

Shandtastic
Level Contributor
13 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 14 November 2009

This was probably the most disappointing hotel of our European trip. It is very "industrial", so if you are looking for quaint, this definitely isn't it. But there were two things that cause me not to recommend this hotel. First, we requested a baby crib with our hotel reservation. When we arrived, there was no crib in the room. I then requested the crib and was told there would be a 5 Eur / day charge for the crib, and they wouldn't be able to provide sheets for it (?). I was so aggravated, I told them to forget it. Second, on Monday morning (our first morning there) they served rolls and bread that were clearly not fresh; they were day old at best, and appeared to have been frozen; definitely the worst breakfast of our 14 day trip.

  • Stayed November 2009, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Shandtastic
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Vienna hotels
Mariahilf
Hotel Terminus
Hotel Terminus
#254 of 362 in Vienna
3.5 of 5 bubbles 148 reviews
Neubau
Hotel Viennart am Museumsquartier
Neubau
Savoy Hotel Vienna
Savoy Hotel Vienna
#145 of 362 in Vienna
4.0 of 5 bubbles 343 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Wieden
Hotel Carlton Opera
Hotel Carlton Opera
#181 of 362 in Vienna
3.5 of 5 bubbles 344 reviews
Wieden
Hotel Drei Kronen
Hotel Drei Kronen
#173 of 362 in Vienna
4.0 of 5 bubbles 248 reviews
Mariahilf
Mercure Secession Wien
Mercure Secession Wien
#141 of 362 in Vienna
4.0 of 5 bubbles 637 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Admiral? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Admiral

Property: Hotel Admiral
Address: Karl-Schweighofer-Gasse 7, Vienna 1070, Austria
Region: Austria > Vienna Region > Vienna > Neubau
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #234 of 362 Hotels in Vienna
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Admiral 3*
Number of rooms: 80
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Jet2Holidays , Travel Republic (UK), Odigeo, Booking.com, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your Hotel Admiral reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing