We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Simple Italian food - perfectly prepared”
Review of Zimolo - CLOSED

Zimolo
Price range: US$8 - US$26
Cuisines: Italian, Seafood, Wine Bar
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Business meetings, Groups
Dining options: Dinner, Lunch, Accepts Mastercard, Accepts Visa, Cash Only, Full Bar, Outdoor Seating, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Waitstaff, Wine and Beer
Neighbourhood: Inner City
Description: Cosy ambiente, original "al dente" pasta, fresh fishes directly from italy.
St. Albans
Level Contributor
135 reviews
68 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 65 helpful votes
“Simple Italian food - perfectly prepared”
Reviewed 9 April 2014

We had supper here with three children aged 13 to 7. Adults and children were both catered for. This is simple traditional Italian fare, but cooked and presented to perfection. Home made pasta with delicate flavourings - children had simple spaghetti with tomato sauce or gnocchi with tomato and mozzarella sauce. We had delicious ravioli. Main courses were grilled fish and prawns with roast potatoes and vegetables. Deserts were, again, traditional but beautifully done - creme brulee and profiter roles were both excellent. All perfectly cooked and delicious. A great place for both children and adults to eat well.

  • Visited April 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank TomGSt_Albans
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

37 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    16
    16
    3
    2
    0
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
København
Level Contributor
194 reviews
167 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 60 helpful votes
“Nice Italian in Central Vienna”
Reviewed 22 November 2013

When we entered the restaurant we saw a lot of business men having their lunch at the restaurant which normally is a good indicator of a place, and luckily we were not dissapointed. The food is great and the atmosphere great. The owner is very friendly and likes to talk to his customers.

  • Visited November 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Maria S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Atlanta, Georgia
Level Contributor
174 reviews
113 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 91 helpful votes
“Recommended Italian in Vienna”
Reviewed 2 August 2013

Yum! We had such a delicious dinner at Zimolo tonight. The service was fantastic and so friendly - what you'd expect from a family run Italian restaurant. The location is great, and we hear they have a great wine list - though we just told the owner what we like and he played sommelier and brought us a few options which turned out to be great. We loved the scallops in particular, but every course was great. I would recommend this restaurant to anyone traveling to Vienna for more than a night or two (there's only so much schnitzel one can eat!)

  • Visited August 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank 699JaneM
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Tel Aviv, Israel
Level Contributor
9 reviews
8 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“If you need a break from Shnitzel and Lieberknodle ...this is the place”
Reviewed 4 July 2013 via mobile

We did. We were served basic,precise Italian food cooked well. We had the ravioli in butter sauce and the gnnochi with tomatoes and mozzarella . Both were very good as was the steamed spinach side dish. The price was reasonable too. Definitely recomend this place.
Also the restaurant is set in a pleasant, small cobbled ally which is nice.

  • Visited July 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank anatlovestoeat
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Beaufort, SC
Level Contributor
39 reviews
16 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 49 helpful votes
“Excellent!”
Reviewed 3 July 2013 via mobile

We had dinner here after another restaurant recommended it for good Italian food. Family owned and run by an Italian family. Pasta is homemade, although our penne was a little too al dente for our taste, thus 4 rating. We had the pasta with mussels, clams, shrimp, and squid, in a light sauce that was perfect for the dish. The service was attentive and friendly and we fund out later our waiter was the owner's son. You won't go wrong with this restaurant!

Visited July 2013
Helpful?
Thank Mandi1Mom
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Zimolo also viewed

Vienna, Vienna Region
 
Vienna, Vienna Region
 

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing