We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Good Vienna food” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Gassner's Wirtshaus - CLOSED

Gassner's Wirtshaus
Cuisines: Austrian, European
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Dinner, Reservations
Neighbourhood: Landstraße
Los Angeles, California
Level Contributor
306 reviews
209 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 110 helpful votes
“Good Vienna food”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 29 May 2014 via mobile

No one rushed us. The food was really good. We had amazingly tender turkey breast, lots of broccoli and pork schnitzel. I only have one observation, the seating is really hard. But this is typical authentic schnitzel house seating. You go there for the food, not the chairs!

Visited May 2014
Helpful?
Thank skier003
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

13 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    7
    5
    0
    1
    0
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Any
English first
Vienna, Austria
Level Contributor
33 reviews
25 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
“where the locals go”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 9 November 2013

This is an excellent Gasthaus, well above average for Vienna. The atmosphere is nice, the service is excellent, prices are reasonable and the food delicious. The portions are large, so go with a large appetite, or be prepared to share. The restaurant has a large menu of local wines of varied quality and prices. I usually order the inexpensive house wines (red or white), which are very drinkable and excellent value. Three Austrian beers are on tap, and other beers are available in bottles. The place is very popular with locals, so reservations are often necessary. November 11 is St Martin's Day, which in Austria means Martini Gansl: roast goose served with red cabbage and dumplings. Gassner's serves this feast each year, beginning at least two weeks prior to the 11th of November. We went this year with friends on the 8th of November to enjoy Martini Gansl at Gssner's. The restaurant was full, and nearly everyone had ordered goose. Reservations at least one day in advance are necessary to reserve your goose.The goose with trimmings was delicious, but so are other typical Austrian dishes served. I live nearby and visit this restaurant often. I go more often now that smoking is no longer allowed indoors. In the summer, there is outdoor seating for those who smoke, but the atmosphere (and air quality!) is much better inside.

This family-run business does not open on Saturday, Sunday or holidays.

  • Visited November 2013
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Larry W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Edmonton, Canada
Level Contributor
55 reviews
16 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 52 helpful votes
“Delicious”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 3 September 2013

We wanted a traditional Viennese meal and our bed and breakfast has this tavern on their list. It was only a few short blocks so we decided to try it.
We were seated and asked our drink choices immediately. Our waiter spoke English and brought us English menus.
We settled on starts of potato salad and coleslaw to share, the portions were huge, far too large. I ordered a serving of bread for a Euro and we were brought a large selection of buns in a basket (it was actually to servings or two Euros) and it included a large fresh pretzel.
We both ordered the pork schnitzel with parsley potatoes and were given two very large pieces of schnitzel on top of a full plate of potatoes -- all delicious!
With a beer and a pop it was 35.00 euros for all that food.
Suggestion: order be of everything and share it.

  • Visited September 2013
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank margo c
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Tampa, Florida
Level Contributor
81 reviews
47 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
“Great Local Food in Vienna”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 15 July 2013

We visited this restaurant on the recommendation of Spiess and Spiess B&B, where we were staying just a few minutes walk away. We went there on our first night in Vienna and enjoyed it so much that we returned on our last night as well. It's clearly a place where locals go, but the staff was very friendly to us as tourists. When they noticed that we didn't speak German, they were quick to get an English menu. I had the Cordon Bleu and my wife had the schnitzel, and both were large portions and excellent. Prices were very reasonable as well, we couldn't get a meal that good at home for the price we paid. Definitely worth a visit, great authentic Austrian food.

  • Visited July 2013
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
1 Thank mkjava
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Houston, Texas, United States
Level Contributor
14 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“One of our best traditional meals in Vienna”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 13 September 2012

This restaurant was recommended by our B&B, Spiess and Spiess, and it was only a short 3 minute walk (also 3 mins from the U). Our waiter spoke English very well, the food was great, portions were large (we should have split an entree since we both had appetizers), price was very reasonable and they gave us an assorted bread basket free of charge (free stuff is very very rare in Europe). Outdoor and indoor seating available. Great restaurant where the locals go!

  • Visited September 2012
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Stacy J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Gassner's Wirtshaus also viewed

Vienna, Vienna Region
Vienna, Vienna Region
 

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing