We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Good location, great value”
4 of 5 bubbles Review of Imlauer Vienna

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Imlauer Vienna
Ranked #142 of 362 Hotels in Vienna
Moscow, Russia
Level Contributor
5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
“Good location, great value”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 28 May 2012

On a 'quality/value' ratio this hotel is far above average.
The location is good - about 10 mitutes walk to the center or 15 minutes - to the Opera.
Alternatevely, you can take a subway (U-line) - the station is about 200 meters from the hotel.
The standart room was big and very clean - looks just like it just went a renovation.
Modern design, comfortable bed, good bathroom.

Breakfasts are 17 euros for person - too expensive. We opted to have them outside of the hotel - you can have a decent one for 10-12 euros in the city. I will definently recommend Cafe Mozart or Cafe Museum for breakfasts (well, and for lunches either).

Room Tip: Higher floors have less noise - if you prefer to have window open during the night.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Ggevdoki
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

567 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    196
    269
    67
    17
    18
See reviews for
68
292
17
59
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (59)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Czech first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hungarian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Vienna
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 26 May 2012

good location. Very new,clean.the windows in the room is great and big.toilet is big ,clean.tower is also.everything is fine. I love it.if next time I travel here I will also choose this hotel.

  • Stayed May 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Easytobook.com

Helpful?
2 Thank Fuyun L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London
Level Contributor
39 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 22 March 2012

We were very happy with the Imlauer, and would definitely stay there again.

Since I used to live in Vienna I know the place very well, and I knew that you can generally get better hotel deals if you avoid the 1st district (the centre of town, where most of the sights are) and shoot for some of the districts immediately adjacent to the 1st, such as the 2nd, the 3rd, or the 9th districts. The Imlauer was such a place – it is in the 2nd district right across the canal, so is barely seven minutes walking distance from the centre of town. For that we got much better value than anything we could find in the 1st; clean, modern, plenty of amenities (and we were in a normal double room, not a suite). No complaints. And we were not affected by the construction that other reviewers seem to have suffered.

The one catch about the Imlauer is that the rate doesn’t include breakfast, with the buffet being an obvious rip off at a whopping 17 euros per head. We simply never bothered – we went to some of the many cafes around (all of which were also much better value than you would find in the 1st), and sometimes just bought fruit and bread at the supermarket down the street (also something you won’t find in the middle of the 1st). In general, the surroundings give you much more of a feel for the “real” Vienna – good, bad, and the ugly - than the touristy 1st. The service at the hotel is hardly stellar, but it is acceptable; Vienna is in general not a place where you should be expecting good or friendly service.

The Imlauer is very modern and cool, so if you are after the ultimate Vienna experience it may not be for you. For example, if you are in Vienna for the first time on your honeymoon, I might say bite the bullet and go to one of the 5 star hotels in the 1st. But if you are after good value at a reasonable price, I would highly recommend it.

  • Stayed March 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank the_green_line
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
stuttgart
Level Contributor
139 reviews
29 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 87 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 20 February 2012

We booked the Nestroy but we were put in the Imlauer due to construction. Hotels are next to each other and actually connect on each floor. Nestroy is undergoing renovation and noise can be heard throughout building.
Rooms at Imlauer are contemporary, average sized, and very clean. Bathroom also modern and clean!! Free TV in several languages is another plus.
Location is decent. Only one block from Taborstrasse U-bahn station and 3 km from Schwedenplatz U-bahn. Vienna is a compact city so you are really within 10km, easy U-bahn reach, from nearly all attractions. Traveling from airport: take S-Bahn 7 (S7) to Praterstern. Transfer to U-Bahn 2 (U2) to Taborstrasse (one stop). Hotel is one block to south on Rotensterngasse. Cannot miss it...big vertical sign visible from Taborstrasse. Cost is 3.60E (2 zone) each way and takes about 25 minutes. City Airport Train (CAT) will get you close by but costs about 10E for maybe 10 minute savings.
Downside: hotel free wireless was so slow we could not check into our flights. Even using the hotel provided computer in the business center (across the street) we were unable to access the airline's site.

  • Stayed February 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank WaywardTravelor
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
imlauer, Manager at Imlauer Vienna, responded to this review, 11 May 2012
Dear value guest,

Thank you very much for your review.
The maintainence works in all our public areas are now finished!
The Hotel Bar, the Breakfast Room, Lobby and Reception as well as Sauna and Fitness are now brand new and completely modern designed for your convenience.
Sorry for the inconveniences described.

It will be a pleasure for us to welcome you once again at one of our propertiesto take advantage of our brand new areas

Best regards

Gerald Wlcek
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Washington DC, District of Columbia
Level Contributor
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 10 January 2012

Hotel sounded great on line but not truthful. Checked in (prepaid for good rate) found the lobby under construction, jack hamming noise obnoxious, sauna and fitness center not available because of the construction, bar area covered with construction dust, and the wine was old so we gave it back and left. The online description also said there were laundry facilities that we needed- there were not. Also, lead to believe it was closer to city cener. At least a 10 minute walk to get to any services. Felt taken.

  • Stayed January 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank DSK7551
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
imlauer, Manager at Imlauer Vienna, responded to this review, 11 May 2012
Dear value guest,

Thank you for sharing your impressions of your stay with other guests here on tripadvisor.
I am very very sorry for the inconveniences described.
The maintainence works in all our public areas are now finished!
The Hotel Bar, the Breakfast Room, Lobby and Reception as well as Sauna and Fitness are now brand new and completely modern designed for your convenience.
Please feel free to contact me at any time for any belongings.


Best regards

Gerald Wlcek
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
12 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 9 January 2012

Rooms are great. However, you need to order a Junior Suite. The Junior Suites have a great size for Europe. The hotel has recently been renovated and when we first arrived, we were placed in the downstairs area of the hotel. This was extremely noisy. My partner had trouble sleeping as you could hear bangs from upstairs until 3 in the morning and then the garbage trucks arrived on the street! The hotel quickly moved us upstairs to the proper suites we ordered. This was not prompted by a complaint, but because they were starting renovations downstairs. The room upstairs was great. Writing desk, large balcony (shared) and it didn't smell like smoke like the one downstairs. The beds are lovely and the hotel is situated in downtown Vienna so you can easy walk into the CBD. P.S - Don't come to Vienna unless you are ready to shop - the whole town is quite sleepy and the best time can be spent in the main shopping mall...... hope you have a good credit card limit as well.

Room Tip: Ask for a Junior Suite on the top level only.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Cameron_D1980
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
7 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 8 January 2012

We checked in 23rd December 2011, as per normal procedure at hotels, our credit card details were taken for security, and on 25th December 2011 our credit card was used to shop on the internet. Before, during and after our stay in Vienna we did not use our credit card as we had cash for our trip. I say no more!!! I e-mailed the hotel and they didn't even bother to acknowledge my e-mail. Girl on duty on 26/12/11 was not helpful, we asked her for information on a place and because our pronucation of the place was slightly incorrect, she was laughing at us. Even though our pronucation was not that far off, she made like she didn't understand what we were saying. Generally, the rest of the staff were friendly, hotel clean, but I would not recommend this hotel, unless you want a short stay without frills.

  • Stayed December 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank CreamStreet
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Vienna hotels
Leopoldstadt
Hotel Nestroy
Hotel Nestroy
#174 of 362 in Vienna
4.0 of 5 bubbles 560 reviews
Leopoldstadt
Mercure Wien City
Mercure Wien City
#132 of 362 in Vienna
4.0 of 5 bubbles 948 reviews
Leopoldstadt
MEININGER Hotel Wien Downtown Sissi
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Leopoldstadt
Der Wilhelmshof
Der Wilhelmshof
#27 of 362 in Vienna
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,390 reviews
Leopoldstadt
Hotel Vienna
Hotel Vienna
#216 of 362 in Vienna
4.0 of 5 bubbles 222 reviews
Leopoldstadt
Novotel Wien City
Novotel Wien City
#119 of 362 in Vienna
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,338 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Imlauer Vienna? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Imlauer Vienna

Property: Imlauer Vienna
Address: Rotensterngasse 10-12, Vienna 1020, Austria
Region: Austria > Vienna Region > Vienna > Leopoldstadt
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Room Service Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#97 Romantic Hotel in Vienna
#104 Luxury Hotel in Vienna
#120 Family Hotel in Vienna
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4 star — Imlauer Vienna 4*
Number of rooms: 60
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located in a peaceful part of the city, Hotel Imlauer Vienna makes a great base, with the Taborstr. and Nestroyplatz U-Bahn stations 5 minutes away. Guests can walk to the Prater amusement park, 10 minutes away, and ride the Riesenrad Ferris wheel which made an appearance in the movie The Third Man. Guests can pore over their guidebooks and plan the next day's sightseeing in the hotel's charming glass-covered courtyard. Other welcome amenities include a sauna and a small fitness center ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, seekda GmbH, Hotels.com, ACCOR, Travel Republic (UK), Lastminute, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your Imlauer Vienna reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Imlauer Vienna Hotel Vienna

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing