We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Very nice hotel” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Imlauer Vienna

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Imlauer Vienna
Ranked #135 of 367 Hotels in Vienna
Toronto, Ontario, Canada
Level Contributor
11 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Very nice hotel”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 27 June 2013

First I would like to say that my husband and I had a wonderful trip to Austria and the staff at the Imlauer Hotel were great. Room was large, very clean and location only about a 15 minutes’ walk from the city center. This hotel is listed as wheelchair accessible but really it is not. My husband and I travel requesting a wheelchair accessible hotel, which most importantly it has to have an accessible entrance and a bathtub (or shower) with a bathtub chair. This hotel had neither. It does have a door inside of the entrance that is powered but you must first get into the building through an unpowered door. We did have a very large room with a stand up shower (no tub chair). We did not complain and managed because I did not want to ruin our long planned vacation with negative feeling. I personally believe that this hotel should not be listed as wheelchair accessible but a very nice hotel for anyone who does not need wheelchair accessibility.

Room Tip: Some of the rooms on the lower floor, nearest the powered interior door, are somewhat noisy. You ca...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Dformtoronto
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

559 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    192
    266
    67
    17
    17
See reviews for
68
286
17
58
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (59)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Czech first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hungarian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Arlington, Virginia
Level Contributor
34 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 27 June 2013

Good value for your money because it's clean and close to the Taborstrasse U-Bahn stop. Our group of 4 had 2 rooms for 4 nights. There's a very reasonably priced breakfast place right around the corner, as well as a Spar Gourmet and Aldi within 3 minutes walk..

  • Stayed June 2013, travelled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank PanamaZac
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kendal, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
103 reviews
49 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 62 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 19 June 2013

Good comfortable hotel close to u-bahn and trams and convenient for airport transport. Handy for old town and Prater area. Comfortable rooms, clean and reasonably fitted out. Only news channels in English on TV. Lots of cafes roundabout. Helpful staff. Breakfast was a silly price. You're better off going to one of the bakeries on TaborstraBe or the Carmelite market.

  • Stayed May 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank icemandan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
imlauer, General Manager at Imlauer Vienna, responded to this review, 25 June 2013
Dear value guest,
Thank you very much for your kind review.
It’s great to hear that you had a good experience with your stay with us. Thank you for your nice comments about our staff and our service.
We are currently looking for a different provider for our TV system in order to offer more national as well as international TV channels for the convenience of our guests.
For only € 17 per person and per day our huge buffet-breakfast offers different kind of hot and cold specialities of food and drinks.
I hope to see you back again with us.

Best regards
Gerald Wlcek
General Manager
Hotels IMLAUER&Nestroy Wien
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
30 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 19 June 2013 via mobile

We stayed at this hotel for 3 nights. Our room is well presented, with modern furnishings, clean and spacious.
Tea and coffee making facilities is provided which we liked as we love to have a cup of tea anytime we like. A bar fridge is a must for any hotel, although we didn't buy any of their drinks but still is handy for storing drinks that you buy for yourself. I love the design of the bathroom, it's spacious and very modern amenities.
The price of our hotel didn't include breakfast so, we didn't have any.
The location is not so bad, 10-15 mins walk to the city centre and there are cafes, shops and grocery store nearby.
The receptionists, all I can say is they need to be a bit more welcoming and it wouldn't hurt to smile.
All in all I highly recommend this hotel.

  • Stayed May 2013
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Ging2013
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
173 reviews
41 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 52 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 9 June 2013 via mobile

Stayed opposite of the hotel in their second building which was a surprise but in the end turned out fine. Staff at the desk pleasant, rooms clean and comfortable, bathroom clean. The hotel is located very close to the centre and interesting market (karmalieter) where you can have a great breakfast for a better price than the hotel. The Donau river with it lively evening programm is also 5 min walking. Will come again if I'm in Vienna

  • Stayed June 2013
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank EUlrich
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
imlauer, General Manager at Imlauer Vienna, responded to this review, 11 June 2013
Dear value guest,
Thank you very much for your kind review.
It’s a pleasure for me to hear that you have fully enjoyed your stay with us and that you were very satisfied with our room amenities as well. Thank you for your feedback about our location. Of course “Karmelitermarkt” is a very popular and very nice market nearby, which is very recommended by lots of our guest.
I hope to see you back again very soon.

Best regards
Gerald Wlcek
General Manager
Hotels IMLAUER&Nestroy Wien
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Oxford
Level Contributor
77 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 1 June 2013

This hotel lives up to the excellent reviews we read online before choosing it. Recently refurbished, spotlessly clean, beautifully furnished and appointed. Beds comfortable. We benefitted from a free minibar for being "Expedia Elite" clients, which was a bonus we weren't expecting. We didn't have the breakfast (€17), but chose the cheaper option of different cafes instead. The bar area was very pleasant, and had special offers. We visited, but didn't use, the up-to-the minute gym/sauna area. It would have been nice to have a pool, or even a jacuzzi, but space is probably at a premium.
Staff on reception generally helpful.
Location - nearest UBahn Taborstraße, which is one stop from the Ring, and walkable into the city centre (10-15 mins).

Room Tip: Our room was above a courtyard, and one morning there were people chatting in there at about 5am. Wh...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, travelled with friends
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Yvonne S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
imlauer, General Manager at Imlauer Vienna, responded to this review, 19 June 2013
Dear guest,
thank you for taking the time to tell us about your stay.
I am glad to read that you enjoyed your stay in our hotel.
I will forward your positive words to our employees, as this is the best motivation for the future.
Nice to hear that you liked our special arrangements as well as our Sauna and Fitness area which is brand new without any pool our Jacuzzi due to limited space.
Thank you very much for your great comment.
I hope to welcome you again soon.

Best regards,
Gerald Wlcek
General Manager
Hotels IMLAUER&Nestroy Wien
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Briarcliff Manor, New York
Level Contributor
103 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 30 May 2013

We stayed at the Imlauer from May 25 to 29th, 2013. Our room was a junior suite, quite spacious with a terrace. The room was clean and comfortable, but not luxurious. It is very convienient to the subway station and about a 20 to 25 minute walk to the museum district. We didn't eat here but had a drink at the bar one night. The bar has the staples but very limited wine selection. There were three steps down to the bathroom in our room. We did not have a problem with this but it could be for for some people. The staff was courteous, professional and helpful. If you need a taxi they will call for one and it will be there in 3 minutes. There is no concierge so it's a good idea to do your homework and bring a communication devise. For example, We wanted to rent a car. The staff recommended the Orbitz site but could not help us with the reservation. The Internet in the hotel is spotty but luckily the people we were traveling with had an international phone plan and made the reservations by phone. Overall I would recommend this hotel.

Room Tip: If you use a hair conditioner bring it with you. The hotel supplies a shampoo/body gel and lotion bu...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Kathy P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
imlauer, Assistant General Manager at Imlauer Vienna, responded to this review, 25 June 2013
Dear value guest,
Thank you very much for reviewing our property.
I am glad to read such good things about our rooms and their furniture as well as the good location of our hotel. We do have different typed of Junior Suites – also with barrier-free access and without any stairs in the room for the convenience and the choice of our guests.
Thank you for your nice comment about our staff – usually we also do private car-hire-reservations for our guest and we do have a concierge service at our reception desk – I will now have a word with my team in order to avoid similar situations for the future.
I am sorry, that you experienced a lack of choice at our bar-wine-card, but we are currently renewing it and we will shortly have a new one with a great choice.
I hope to see you next time back again.

Best regards
Daniel Zwieb
Assistant General Manager
Hotels IMLAUER&Nestroy Wien
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Vienna hotels
Leopoldstadt
Hotel Nestroy
Hotel Nestroy
#171 of 367 in Vienna
4.0 of 5 bubbles 557 reviews
Leopoldstadt
Mercure Wien City
Mercure Wien City
#142 of 367 in Vienna
4.0 of 5 bubbles 930 reviews
Leopoldstadt
Der Wilhelmshof
Der Wilhelmshof
#28 of 367 in Vienna
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,364 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Leopoldstadt
Hotel Vienna
Hotel Vienna
#216 of 367 in Vienna
4.0 of 5 bubbles 221 reviews
Leopoldstadt
Hotel City Central
Hotel City Central
#57 of 367 in Vienna
4.5 of 5 bubbles 734 reviews
Leopoldstadt
MEININGER Hotel Wien Downtown Sissi
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Imlauer Vienna? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Imlauer Vienna

Property: Imlauer Vienna
Address: Rotensterngasse 10-12, Vienna 1020, Austria
Region: Austria > Vienna Region > Vienna > Leopoldstadt
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Room Service Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#97 Romantic Hotel in Vienna
#100 Luxury Hotel in Vienna
#120 Family Hotel in Vienna
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:4 star — Imlauer Vienna 4*
Number of rooms: 60
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located in a peaceful part of the city, Hotel Imlauer Vienna makes a great base, with the Taborstr. and Nestroyplatz U-Bahn stations 5 minutes away. Guests can walk to the Prater amusement park, 10 minutes away, and ride the Riesenrad Ferris wheel which made an appearance in the movie The Third Man. Guests can pore over their guidebooks and plan the next day's sightseeing in the hotel's charming glass-covered courtyard. Other welcome amenities include a sauna and a small fitness center ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travel Republic (UK), Hotel.de, ACCOR, seekda GmbH, Lastminute, Agoda, Booking.com and Hotels.com so you can book your Imlauer Vienna reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Imlauer Vienna Hotel Vienna

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing