We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Imlauer Hotel, our reference point in Vienna”
Review of Hotel Imlauer Wien

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Hotel Imlauer Wien
Ranked #76 of 359 Hotels in Vienna
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 24 July 2013

This had been our third and fourth time in Vienna as guests in Imlauer Hotel.
For business reasons, I am a frequent visitor of this fantastic city.
Actually I have worked and lived in Vienna for one year, back in the 2000-2001 period.

In the first time, I had selected Imlauer because of its location. Closer but not in the center of Vienna.
I can take either U2 or U1 lines of U-bahn system just walking 5 minutes to Taborstrasse or to Nestroyplatz.

I can go by foot to Schwedenplatz and find several options of good restaurants nearby.

Last time, my wife came with me and she had oportunity to enjoy the city but also some specific features of the Imlauer Hotel that when in business I had no time to visit, like the fitness room.

Staff and services are just very good, even though there is always room for improvements.

Some young staff may need further training or closer supervision

I always book my room in advance through internet booking.com and everything works well.

  • Stayed: July 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Claudio C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (729)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

283 - 289 of 729 reviews

Reviewed 20 July 2013

The rooms are VERY clean and renewed. There is no view on the city from the windows, however. The staff speak English fluently and are polite.
The location is very good, two subway stations (Taborstrase and Nestroyplatz) are only 2 munutes of walking and a bus stop is just near the hotel entrance.
The breakfast is very expensive (17 euro per person), so we didn't take it. There are plenty of cafes and bakeries around and at Carmelit Market, where you can have a breakfast for two for the same money.
There is a small fridge in the room (a minibar), we used it to store our stuff.
They supply teabags and coffee (NesCafe) and refill every day.
They have a free wi-fi in the rooms. The speed is sufficient for checking e-mails and random browsing, but not for viewing of online videos. Also looks like they block YouTube somehow.
The only TV channels in English are news chanel and EuroSport.
You can leave your baggage in the hotel prior to check-in and after the check-out as well.
The city tax is not included in the room price, we paid 6 Euro for 3 nights. Also they require a deposit of 50 Euro (via credit card) at the time of check-in.

  • Stayed: July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank mal_michael
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 July 2013

Very good value for the money. The hotel is located slightly out the most touristic place which provide you decent price levels. Nevertheless, if you go by subway (which is located within a ~5 minute walk) you can quickly reach only 2 stations away. Depending on the time you are staying, I would recommend you to buy the 48 or 72 hour subway pass, since you would use it to go from the hotel to the other places in the city. Being close to a subway is very convenient, since all attractions are close to subway stations. In addition, it is also close to the train station, from which you can get your train on your way to the airport. Back to the hotel, it seems very renewed, clean and the staff is also very friendly. The breakfast is quite expensive in the hotel, reason why I would recommend to have it somewhere else. We have had it on the corner just in front of the closest subway station.

  • Stayed: July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Umekita
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 July 2013

Stayed at the hotel for 1 night, combination of business for myself, and pleasure for my wife and kids.
Initially got to the room and although we were charged 109 Euros for a junior suite with balcony found we had been given a ground floor, large room, with no balcony. In addition the room was priced at 50 Euros on the door.
Spoke to reception staff and they confirmed there was a mix up in bookings and then offered us a room with a balcony however informed us that it was a much smaller room and by the time we had 4 beds, there would not be much space. Accepted we would just stay where we were. No discount offered.
In the morning I was leaving promptly, however when having my shower noticed a bra, not belonging to my wife, had been left in the bathroom. I told my wife to mention it to hotel staff when she left.
She did so and was simply told ´thank you´ no apologies or anything like that.

Other than the above, the room was very clean and location is great for sight seeing.

  • Stayed: July 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Jody L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 July 2013

A modern and comfortable place in the Centre of the City. The staff was extremely polite and pleasant. Stayed there for 3 nights and enjoyed every minute of that time. Would most certainly stay there again!

Stayed: July 2013, travelled on business
Thank AdrianIoannou
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 July 2013

  • Stayed: June 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Easytobook.com
Thank Sharon M
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveller and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Reviewed 7 July 2013

Excellent hotel situated right in the heart of the city.
I stayed there 2 weeks and things could not be better. One of the nicest hotels i stayed in.

Pros:
-Great location
-Nice rooms
-Very clean
-Nice bathroom (huge room...excellent shower cabin)

Cons:
-Soft beds

A great hotel to stay in but a little expensive.

  • Stayed: September 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Neghinitza
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Vienna hotels
Leopoldstadt
Hotel Nestroy
Hotel Nestroy
#179 of 359 in Vienna
584 reviews
Leopoldstadt
Der Wilhelmshof
Der Wilhelmshof
#31 of 359 in Vienna
1,511 reviews
Leopoldstadt
MEININGER Hotel Wien Downtown Sissi
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Leopoldstadt
Novotel Suites Wien City Donau
Margareten
Holiday Inn Vienna City
Holiday Inn Vienna City
#58 of 359 in Vienna
1,119 reviews
Leopoldstadt
Mercure Wien City
Mercure Wien City
#134 of 359 in Vienna
1,016 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Imlauer Wien? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Imlauer Wien

Address: Rotensterngasse 10-12, Vienna 1020, Austria
Region: Austria > Vienna Region > Vienna > Leopoldstadt
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Room Service Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#56 Luxury Hotel in Vienna
#97 Romantic Hotel in Vienna
#120 Family Hotel in Vienna
Price Range: £73 - £192 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel Imlauer Wien 4*
Number of rooms: 106
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located in a peaceful part of the city, Hotel Imlauer Vienna makes a great base, with the Taborstr. and Nestroyplatz U-Bahn stations 5 minutes away. Guests can walk to the Prater amusement park, 10 minutes away, and ride the Riesenrad Ferris wheel which made an appearance in the movie The Third Man. Guests can pore over their guidebooks and plan the next day's sightseeing in the hotel's charming glass-covered courtyard. Other welcome amenities include a sauna and a small fitness center ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Travel Republic (UK), BookAssist, Agoda, ACCOR, Lastminute, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Ebookers, Evoline ltd, 5viajes2012 S.L., Cancelon and HotelQuickly so you can book your Hotel Imlauer Wien reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Imlauer Vienna Hotel Vienna

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing