We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“OMG and not in a good way”
Review of Hotel Imlauer Wien

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Hotel Imlauer Wien
Ranked #75 of 359 Hotels in Vienna
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 18 September 2013

Don't be deceived by the reception that looks modern and kinda funky. My room was beyond horrible. I suspect some of the rooms are more modern based on the work being done in my block, but my room wasn't one of them. The room smelt dusty, that was after I managed to track down the more offensive smell to the bathroom. The air con sounded like a cricket being strangled. Tried to move rooms to no avail as it was fully booked (hard to believe). I will be in Vienna often over the next few months and will would rather extract my own teeth than stay here again. Oh and the restaurant had all the atmosphere of an undertakers.

  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank LAScotty
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
beiwzd, Manager at Hotel Imlauer Wien, responded to this reviewResponded 20 September 2013

Dear value guest,
Thank you very much for choosing the Hotel Imlauer Vienna for your recent stay in Vienna.
We greatly appreciate you sharing your opinion and experience with other travellers on TripAdvisor.
Your honest comments are very well received and help us to measure our quality and service on a daily basis.
Your comments regarding our other team members have been discussed with the department heads and we are most grateful to you for having taken the time to bring this matter to our attention.
We look forward to welcoming you soon again to our hotel.
best regards
Daniel Zwieb
Asst. General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (738)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

268 - 274 of 738 reviews

Reviewed 17 September 2013

I am really satisfied from staying in this hotel! First of all it's really close to the city center ON FOOT (8-10minutes walk)!!! Secondly the standard of the hotel is very high: rooms were very clean, big, the bed was comfortable. Whatis more its close enough to u-bahn station . The big minus is the price of breakfast: 17 euro/per person/ per night. But there was a lot of restaurants near, where we could eat something good and much cheaper. I am deeply convinced that i will stay in this hotel during my next trip.

  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Ela100
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
beiwzd, Leiter Front Office at Hotel Imlauer Wien, responded to this reviewResponded 20 September 2013

Dear value guest,
thank you for taking the time to share your review with us and with other travellers. It is always a pleasure to receive feedback from our guests and to obtain their perpective of the hotel, and one of the best ways for us to learn more about our hotel is through the eyes of those who have visited us.
Your support is greatly appreciated and we thank you for choosing the Hotel Imlauer Vienna.
We are indeed very pleased to read that you enjoyed your stay at our hotel.
Comments such as yours truly insipre all of us here to work harder every day and to try to exceed our guests´expectations.
We look forward to welcoming you back to the Hotel Imlauer Vienna in the very near future.
best regards
Daniel Zwieb
Asst. General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 September 2013

In between 2 U-Bahn stations (Taborstrasse on purple line and Nestroyplatz on red line). If there for a few days suggest you purchase a 72 hour ticket at airport (15.40) plus airport top up (2.50 each way) - great value!
Best way to see the city is on a Segway (City Segway) - £70 but good value for money 3hour tour - small groups with great guide!!
If looking for something to eat there is a good choice down at Naschmarkt and a great atmosphere.
Looking to have a nice drink somewhere - try 18th floor bar of the Soffitel Hotel - although a little more expensive but great panoramic views of the city.

Room Tip: There were 3 in our group so the suite was perfect .
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Johanna C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
beiwzd, Manager at Hotel Imlauer Wien, responded to this reviewResponded 10 October 2013

Dear value guest,
Thank you very much for choosing the Hotel Imlauer Vienna for your recent stay in Vienna.
We greatly appreciate you sharing your opinion and experience with other travellers on TripAdvisor.
We look forward to welcoming you soon again to our hotel.
best regards
Daniel Zwieb
Asst. General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 September 2013

We recently stayed at the Imlauer for 7 nights in September. The hotel is located close to a number of u-bahn stations and easy to find on arrival. It is a 10-15 minute walk to the centre of Vienna which takes you past a number of shops, supermarkets and over the Danube canal.

Our room was located in the centre of the hotel with a view over the small courtyard. The room itself was large with all the required amenities. The free wi-fi was excellent, we never had any problems with connectivity. The bathroom was large and clean, the only problem being the design of the shower as it resulted in the floor flooding slightly each time the shower was used (serious flood on the first use when the shower head was pointed in the wrong direction) but the temperature and water pressure were good.

We chose not to have breakfast in the hotel due to the price, there are a number of supermarkets and bakeries in close proximity to the hotel so we used these instead.

Can't really comment on the staff as we only dealt with them when checking in and out and when our room keys broke (three times). We received a handy free map on checkin with a map of the underground.

  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Leanne J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
beiwzd, Leiter Front Office at Hotel Imlauer Wien, responded to this reviewResponded 20 September 2013

Dear value guest
thank you very much for your comments.
We appreciate you taking the time to write a review. Your observations and opinions are appreciated as they enable us to assess the standard of our facilities and services and monitor if we are meeting guests needs and expectations.
We were delighted to hear that your impressions of our staff and facilities were very good.
Your comments regarding the problem with the shower have been discussed with the department heads.
Once again, thank you for your truly and valuable comments and we look forward toi welcome you back to the Hotel Imlauer Vienna in the near future.
best regards
Daniel Zwieb
Asst. General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 September 2013

Very comfortable rooms, well-planned and comfortably furnished. Loved the bathroom, fabulous shower; and one of the best mirrors we've ever seen anywhere. Easy to get to via underground, easy to get to the heart of the city via underground, easy to get anywhere we wanted to go. Staff very helpful and attentive, and very knowledgeable. I had to call from the U.S. and e-mail about a package we had to have sent there to be held for us. They said they could do it, no problem, and it was no problem. We thought the price for the breakfast was a little high, so we only had breakfast at the hotel our last day, and it was worth the price. Everything was delicious. We really liked the hotel, recommend it highly, and would stay there again. We were there for three nights.

Room Tip: Our room overlooked the street, and it was a quiet street. So I don't know if it matters whethe...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Josie D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
beiwzd, Manager at Hotel Imlauer Wien, responded to this reviewResponded 18 October 2013

Dear value guest,
thank you very much for taking the time to share your review.
Thank you also for having chosen the Hotel Imlauer Vienna for your recent stay in Vienna.
It makes us very proud to see that we were able to fulfill your expectations and you was satisfied with our services.
Should your travel plan ever bring you back to Vienna we would be delighted to welcome you again as our guest.
best regards
Daniel Zwieb
Asst. General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 September 2013

We just completed a 7 night stay at this hotel in the 2nd District of Vienna. It is located very close to two U-Bahn stations and a bus stops out front. You can actually walk to Stephanplatz (St. Stephens cathedral) and Michaelerplatz (Hofburg Palace) within 15-30 minutes. There are actually 3 -4 grocery stores within one to 4 blocks of the hotel. We did not buy the breakfast at the hotel but there are coffee and pastry shops with a European breakfast located close.The Imlauer Wein has very clean modern rooms with a large bathroom by European standards We had a standard room (booked online on the hotels website-70 Euro a night) at the back of the courtyard which was the most quiet room we have ever stayed in. Service, maid and front desk, was excellent. The staff was very professional and booked a day tour to Budapest for us in addition to answering all our questions.
We are a 60 year old couple who like to travel in the off season when there are less tourists and we do not compare European hotel accomodations to those in the U.S. We know from traveling in Europe that there are sometimes 2 single beds, very tiny bathrooms, strange shower stalls with very shallow bottom basins prone to water leakage if you do not aim the shower head right and that the air-conditioning in old buildings does not compare to the rooms say in Las Vegas. If you spend most of your time in your hotel room then you might want to upgrade to a much more expensive hotel. The Hotel Imlauer Wein met and exceeded our expectations for a very comfortable and clean hotel with great service. Any reviewers with noise problems might do well to change their vacation times to the off seasons when the hotel is not full. As a final note we felt very safe walking in the area around the hotel and to the city center when we were not using the very extensive and inexpensive Vienna transportation system.

Room Tip: Go in the off season when more rooms are available and ask for a courtyard room and away from elevat...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank LoveEurope425
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
beiwzd, Manager at Hotel Imlauer Wien, responded to this reviewResponded 18 October 2013

Dear value guest,
thank you very much for choosing the Hotel Imlauer Vienna for your recent stay in Vienna.
We greatly appreciate you sharing your opinion and experience with other travellers on TripAdvisor.
Your honest comments are very well received and help us to measure our quality and service on a daily basis.
Your comments regarding our other team members have been discussed with the department heads and we are most grateful to you for having taken the time to bring this matter to our attention.
It is through constructive criticism such as yours that we are able to take corrective actions when necessary.
Commets like yours truly inspire us to work harder every day and to exceed our guest´s expectations.
We look forward to welcoming you soon again to our hotel.
best regards
Daniel Zwieb
Asst. General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 September 2013

The hotel was as described by easytobook exactly.about 15 min from St Stephan's cathedral.Bella supermarket almost in front of the hotel.close to 2 metro stations .A comforable stay except that the bed covers were too heavy for september and the air condition does not go low in temperature to cool the room.Also the kettle was available but with no supply of coffee or tea bags.This was disappointing and we had to buy from supermarket.The breakfast was too expensive too.

  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Easytobook.com
1  Thank Sahar K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
imlauer, General Manager at Hotel Imlauer Wien, responded to this reviewResponded 12 September 2013

Dear value guest,
Thank you very much for your review on Tripadvisor.
I am glad to hear, that you liked our Hotel, it’s location and the room.
I really regret your experience with our housekeeping staff, which really should not happen – my apologize for this. I will have a meeting with my staff in ordert to discuss this case in order to avoid such for the future.The breakfast price is for the full Buffet breakfast. I really hope, that you will come back to our Hotel one more time in order to obtain of our good quality.

Best regards

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Vienna hotels
Leopoldstadt
Hotel Nestroy
Hotel Nestroy
#179 of 359 in Vienna
584 reviews
Leopoldstadt
Der Wilhelmshof
Der Wilhelmshof
#31 of 359 in Vienna
1,514 reviews
Leopoldstadt
MEININGER Hotel Wien Downtown Sissi
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Leopoldstadt
Mercure Wien City
Mercure Wien City
#135 of 359 in Vienna
1,021 reviews
Leopoldstadt
Hotel City Central
Hotel City Central
#64 of 359 in Vienna
832 reviews
Margareten
Holiday Inn Vienna City
Holiday Inn Vienna City
#59 of 359 in Vienna
1,120 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Imlauer Wien? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Imlauer Wien

Address: Rotensterngasse 10-12, Vienna 1020, Austria
Region: Austria > Vienna Region > Vienna > Leopoldstadt
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Room Service Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#57 Luxury Hotel in Vienna
#97 Romantic Hotel in Vienna
#120 Family Hotel in Vienna
Price Range: £74 - £188 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel Imlauer Wien 4*
Number of rooms: 106
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located in a peaceful part of the city, Hotel Imlauer Vienna makes a great base, with the Taborstr. and Nestroyplatz U-Bahn stations 5 minutes away. Guests can walk to the Prater amusement park, 10 minutes away, and ride the Riesenrad Ferris wheel which made an appearance in the movie The Third Man. Guests can pore over their guidebooks and plan the next day's sightseeing in the hotel's charming glass-covered courtyard. Other welcome amenities include a sauna and a small fitness center ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Agoda, Lastminute, BookAssist, ACCOR, Travel Republic (UK), TripOnline SA, Hotels.com, Ebookers, Evoline ltd, Cancelon, HotelQuickly and 5viajes2012 S.L. so you can book your Hotel Imlauer Wien reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Imlauer Vienna Hotel Vienna

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing