We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Great budget accommodation & lovely owner”

Guesthouse Arabella
Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Guesthouse Arabella
Ranked #133 of 196 Speciality Lodging in Vienna
Innsbruck, Austria
Level Contributor
66 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
“Great budget accommodation & lovely owner”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 23 April 2012

My boyfriend and I stayed here for 1 night during our weekend in Vienna. The owner was really lovely and very helpful. The place is in a great location near to the Westbahnhof, and opposite a train station for great links to the city. The room we stayed in had a great view over the city. The building and the rooms are a bit dated, but the room was clean. The oven in our apartment didnt work but the owner let us use the oven in the guest kitchen. If you are just looking for a budget place to stay whilst exploring the city, without having to pay a fortune, I really would reccommend this palce.

  • Stayed April 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank CatW320
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

38 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    16
    10
    5
    4
    3
See reviews for
1
20
3
1
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (6)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Dublin
Level Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 1 October 2011

We (my boyfriend and I - both in our mid-20's) recently spent 3 nights in this hostel and although the rooms were clean and the owner most helpful we found the accomdation very basic and outdated. There was a fusty/old smell. This was very reasonable and the location central however it was a case of paying for what you get.

  • Stayed August 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
Helpful?
1 Thank Catherine C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Debrecen, Hungary
Level Contributor
12 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 6 September 2011

The Arabella guesthouse is actually located in a regular 10-storey apartment house near a main road in Vienna. It is really central with many main attractions and stations in a walking distance plus good transport. The price is reasonable (even cheaper than the cheapest hotel rooms) and comes with a spacious apartment with kitchen, bathroom, balcony. The owners are motivated and help you out with anything you need. Con is that the nearby road is very noisy so you might have to keep the windows closed.

  • Stayed August 2011, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Andr J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Camrose, Canada
Level Contributor
23 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 19 July 2011

My husband and I stayed in a two bedroom apartment with the Guesthouse Arabella in July 2010. We had a wonderful time. The woman who runs it is very friendly and helpful. She helped us find connecting Strassenbahn and how to get to attractions.
If you want to do laundry, give her your laundry in a bag and she'll get them done for you. We just did our laundry in the sink in the kitchen in our room. Don't be put off by the shutters on the windows that look like you're in prison. They are to keep the sun out to keep your apartment cooler...it doesn't mean there is a lot of crime!

Room Tip: If you want your own room and don't want to share with others, ask for the whole apartment, beca...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank travelbugged2006
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sydney, Australia
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 14 July 2011

I was searching for a place to stay, considering the Ibis hotel forlornly, as they are all boring worldwide in my experience. Was standing outside the Gasthaus Franceschi looking lost I suppose and the proprietor asked me if I needed a room. A lucky coincidence and ended up having a great night at the Arabella rather than a boring night at a chain hotel. Thanks guys.I would stay there again.

  • Stayed July 2011, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Richardcarb
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Port Douglas, Australia
Level Contributor
43 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 47 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 28 June 2011

We had booked four nights at Guesthouse Arabella’s primarily because of the reviews we had read. It sounded a bit quirky and welcoming and the reviews were right!
Arabella and her husband Rudi welcomed us with open arms. They fired out and marked on a map some places to see, what to avoid and the best restaurants in the vicinity of the guesthouse-”where tourists don’t go”. The rooms occupy floors 6 to 10 in a ten story building virtually within a stones throw of the metro and several bus lines. We even walked into the city it was so close. The rooms have a variety of layouts, some with basic kitchens, some without. Mostly they are old but with a lived-in, cared for quality that makes it such a homely place. We were surprised when Arabella asked if we had washing to do as she would do it for free. Sure enough it was washed and hung to dry ready to be folded that afternoon. The office/kitchen is a communal area if you want to do some cooking and don’t have a kitchen. It has a stove/oven and microwave plus basics that others have left behind (oil, salt and pepper, etc) to share. Free internet was available in the vicinity of the office/communal area. Our trip to Vienna was made all the richer by staying at Arabella’s. I think yours would be too.

Room Tip: The rear of the building was very quiet.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank AussieOseas
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Helsinki, Finland
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 5 June 2011

We stayed in Arabella for 4 nights and it was everything we needed and more. The Guesthouse has a home-like atmosphere with cosy rooms and ok kitchen. The staff is extremely frinedly and helpfull. Excellen location.

  • Stayed June 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Minni100
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Vienna hotels
Mariahilf
Hotel ibis Wien Mariahilf
Neubau
Kaiser 23 Ho(s)tel & Guesthouse
Wieden
wombats CITY HOSTEL Vienna “THE NASCHMARKT”
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Hostel Ruthensteiner
#1 of 196 in Vienna
4.5 of 5 bubbles 875 reviews
Alibi Hostel
#83 of 196 in Vienna
3.5 of 5 bubbles 82 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Guesthouse Arabella? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Guesthouse Arabella

Property: Guesthouse Arabella
Address: Mariahilfer Guertel 8, Vienna 1060, Austria
Region: Austria > Vienna Region > Vienna > Mariahilf
Hotel Style:
Ranked #133 of 196 Speciality Lodging in Vienna
Number of rooms: 12
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with HostelWorld so you can book your Guesthouse Arabella reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Guesthouse Arabella Hotel Vienna

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing