We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“A Quiet Spot in Downtown Vienna”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Benediktushaus Guest House
Ranked #7 of 110 Vienna B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Tbilisi
Level Contributor
42 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 37 helpful votes
“A Quiet Spot in Downtown Vienna”
Reviewed 15 December 2011

The Benediktushaus is part of a functioning Benedictine Monastery and comes with all of the peacefulness of a religious retreat. It is wonderfully located in the center of the city and easy to reach by a 10 minute walk from the metro (U3 line, Herrengasse). The rooms are somewhat spartan and the reception is not manned 24 hours, but for the price it is a great value.

Room Tip: All rooms are quiet - ask for a double bed even if you have booked a double room.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2011, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank General_Ron
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

124 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    63
    55
    6
    0
    0
See reviews for
31
35
14
12
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (15)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Saint Helens, Oregon
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 26 November 2011

Back in 1986, as one of a group of 14 students from Linfield College, I spent a semester in Vienna. We lived for one month at the Benediktushaus and then had our classroom there for the remainder of the semester when living with host families.
In December 2010 I had the the pleasure of traveling to Vienna with my parents and some of their friends for a few days before a cruise on the Danube River. When I suggested staying at the Benekiktushaus, they checked it out and were all for it to please me and because of the very reasonable price in comparision to other first district hotels.
In 1986 we were expected to speak German to the staff as part of our immersion. By 2010 I have forgotten most of it! But no worries, the front desk staff speak and write excellent English. They even arranged for a private shuttle to meet us at the airport and transport us directly to the hotel. I believe my dad arranged this via email as our reservations were made directly with them through their website. They also held our bags as checkout was earlier than we able to leave for our cruise and arranged a shuttle to take us to the boats on the outskirts of Vienna. None of us brought a computer but saw other guests using theirs in the common areas.
I'm only giving them four "dots" because the decor of the rooms hasn't changed since 1986 and I though the color scheme was outdated then. The bathrooms, however, have been thoroughly renovated and are very modern and clean. Guests now will not know the joy of a sit down shower... The rooms are very large and plenty of space for even 3 people -- even if you live there for a month. Breakfast is great with plenty of options to choose. The elevator is still very small so frequently some of us took the stairs becase our group would not all fit and some needed it more. Very convenient to all the First District sites, the Ring and an UBahn station. Several grocery stores are nearby as well and lots of restaurants, etc. We happened to be there during Advent and with it all the Christmas markets, including one on the Freyung which made the area very festive and also convenient for getting a mug of Punsch or Gluwein.

  • Stayed December 2010, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank CathiCloreFrost
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Riga, Latvia
Level Contributor
44 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
Reviewed 24 September 2011

Like all of the others I selected this place because it was a monastery building with unbeatable location. Most of the grand and fancy hotels in Vienna are situated on the Ring - with all trams, horses and cars sounds just under your window - but Benediktushaus is sooo quiet. All rooms are "inner yard view" so you can hear no sound at all except distant organ music and singing or rain or church bells sometimes which is the most romantic :)
Rooms are spacious even for three persons; tea/coffee facilities is always a treasure in a european hotel; bathroom is simply spotless (i was anxious about bathroom in advance 'cause it probably a quite old building, but it was great)
Breakfast was sufficient - they offer everything you expect in any "common" hotel, and in variety! Nothing hot, but you can pre-order some eggs (said the notice in the breakfast room). No fridge in the room but there is good Billa supermarket in front of the hotel where you can something fresh if you don't want to eat out for some reason.
Wi-fi worked properly and - which is important - when it stopped working once, the lady at the reception was able to fix it.

There is a point people have to consider booking this hotel: check-out time is 10am and reception closes at 7pm - so you can't come in after that time (because you need a key for the front door which you don't have after check-out)! Which is not very convinient if your flight is at midnight, for example. But of course you can spend 3 hours sitting in the very comfortable arm-chair - sorting your photos and posting your notes - like I did :) But remember that you can't go out and then came in for anything, and if you forget something when you leave - you can't go back.

Room Tip: Note that Single is a room with 3 separate beds.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2011, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank irka_v
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Baarn, The Netherlands
Level Contributor
50 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
Reviewed 12 September 2011

The Benediktushaus is situated in a wing of a 'working' Benedictine monastery in the very center of Vienna. Do not go there if you like fancy rooms with flat screen televisions. There is no television (but you can get internet access). The taste of the rooms is sort of 1960's convent-style with brown carpests and orange or yellow curtains, and the breakfast room has the same style, with a quite strict looking lady in charge.... but this is a convent, so that is wat you get, with a romanesque house chapel and lovely music and singing in the background, a winding staircase leading up to the rooms. The rooms are very quiet apart from the bells in the tower. And the bathrooms are surprisingly luxurious.
In summer, the beer-garden in the same block, serving cheap food, is all you need. And do not miss the museum and the weekly guided tour through all the monastery buildings. I hope to be back!

  • Stayed August 2011, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank vselleger
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sussex
Level Contributor
41 reviews
31 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
Reviewed 22 August 2011

We only stayed one night but we were really pleased to find somewhere so quiet yet centrally located. Room was clean and comfortable. Breakfast was not lavish quality but perfectly adequate. Took us a few minutes to find the entrance - it does not look like a typical hotel lobby entrance!
We would certainly use this Guest House again.

  • Stayed August 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Neville_G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Connecticut
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 17 August 2011

We had a great stay at Benediktushaus. I loved hearing faint organ music coming from the chapel as we entered the guest house in the evenings. Why stay at a boring hotel when you can stay at a monastery?
The rooms are simple and spotless. (I think the only decoration was a cross on the wall.) A water heater and plenty of tea bags are provided on a little tray on the desk. I was apprehensive about the lack of air conditioning, but with the fan going and the window open, the room stayed quite comfortable. The bathroom was modern and the shower had good water pressure.
Breakfast was tasty and plentiful, with cold cuts, toast, jam, fruit, yogurt, etc.
The location is fantastic. The Freyung, where the guest house is located, is a gorgeous little square with a fountain in the center. From there, you can walk to anything in the Inner Stadt-- the Hofburg complex was only 5-10 minutes away.
One thing to note, though, is that reception has limited hours, especially on weekends. If you check in after hours, you need to ask for a PIN to open the lockbox outside for your key. This is what we did, and it worked fine for us.
I would certainly stay here again!

  • Stayed August 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank BootsMadeForWalkin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Redwood City, California
Level Contributor
207 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 65 helpful votes
Reviewed 15 August 2011

My family and I stayed here for two nights. This is a great location. Only a short walk from train station which we used. The room was comfortable and very clean. We had free, easy WiFi use. The breakfast was extensive with a buffet of meats, cheeses, breads, yogurt and fruit. The staff was very friendly. We had to store refrigerated medication during our stay which they graciously accomodated.

  • Stayed July 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Bernadette G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Vienna hotels
Inner City
The Guesthouse Vienna
The Guesthouse Vienna
#2 of 362 in Vienna
751 reviews
Inner City
Hotel Am Stephansplatz
Hotel Am Stephansplatz
#10 of 362 in Vienna
1,973 reviews
Old University Quarter
Hollmann Beletage
Hollmann Beletage
#6 of 362 in Vienna
1,020 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Neubau
Hotel Sans Souci Wien
Hotel Sans Souci Wien
#1 of 362 in Vienna
1,299 reviews
Old University Quarter
Hotel Austria
Hotel Austria
#24 of 362 in Vienna
1,205 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Benediktushaus Guest House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Benediktushaus Guest House

Property: Benediktushaus Guest House
Address: Freyung 6a, Vienna 1010, Austria
Region: Austria > Vienna Region > Vienna > Inner City , Innere Stadt
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #7 of 110 B&Bs / Inns in Vienna
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — Benediktushaus Guest House 3*
Number of rooms: 21
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Booking.com, TripOnline SA, Odigeo, Agoda and Traveltool, S.L.U. so you can book your Benediktushaus Guest House reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Benediktushaus Guest House Hotel Vienna

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing