We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Welcoming quiet and central location”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Benediktushaus Guest House
Ranked #7 of 110 Vienna B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Everett, Washington
Level Contributor
87 reviews
32 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 87 helpful votes
“Welcoming quiet and central location”
Reviewed 18 July 2013

Stayed here in March to start a trip and see Vienna friends. First of all it is SO CENTRAL and QUIET!!!! Room was well thought out - great hot water and water pressure.

So appreciated a hot-pot in the room for morning coffee or tea! Breakfast was ample and more than sufficient - you can also order an egg (think it was 1 Euro)

The only small quibble is that the internet connection is best in the lobby (1st floor) due to the very thick concrete walls, but not a deal-breaker . . there was a nice coffee table/sofa for guests use . . looks like only 4-5 rooms per floor.

I would recommend Benediktushaus to anyone wishing a good nights rest in a very central and walkable location . . great stay!

  • Stayed March 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank aclarinet
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

124 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    63
    55
    6
    0
    0
See reviews for
31
35
14
12
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (15)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
London
Level Contributor
39 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed 23 May 2013

The Benediktushaus is the guesthouse of the Schottenstift - i.e. it is run by the religious order there. It is right in the centre of Vienna on Freyung, and the Schottentor, with trams around the ring and to Grinzing, is about 5 minutes walk away. The accommodation is modern and spotlessly clean. Our room had no TV (hurray) or fridge (pity) but was spacious, comfortable and quiet. One is requested to treat the guesthouse like a place of retreat and not make a noise, and other users (mainly middle-aged Germans when we were there) were almost silent. Wifi worked well. Altogether I am sorry to see the Benediktushaus on Trip Advisor as I am selfish enough to want to limit its publicity so it will be available next time I go to Vienna.

  • Stayed April 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank johnbg1948
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Birminghamq
Level Contributor
21 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
Reviewed 8 April 2013 via mobile

The last few recent reviews about this guest house are spot on. Close to central area of Vienna and connections to trams and ubahn. Excellent choice at breakfast, quiet dining room, mainly couples and adult travellers. Reception very helpful with maps, advice. Taxi to west bahnhof was €15 , for our onward train to Salzburg. 3 full days in Vienna were plenty to see the main sights: cathedral, schoenbrunn palace and there was a lovely Easter market right outside Benediktushaus! Would highly recommend this as a place to stay for a city break. Basic but clean and comfortable rooms, you ARE woken up by the Church bell at 7am. Otherwise extremely quiet, you'd never know you were in the middle of a city.

  • Stayed March 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank fmbaines
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Nakskov, Denmark
Level Contributor
446 reviews
123 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 175 helpful votes
Reviewed 14 March 2013

Nice accommodation with superb location, close to most Vienna major sights. But be aware that the reception is closed from 19 til 08 the next morning. We arrived late and had not made arrangements beforehand. The reception was empty, and the emergency phone number did not respond. Hence we had to find another hotel for the first night. Actually, Booking.com does tell you about the procedures of late arrivals (key in a coded box), but only in very small writing.
We had an excellent stay in Benediktenhaus all the remaining days. The breakfast buffet is good with a nice selection of bread and cereals. Our room faced a courtyard (guess most do) and was very quiet. Well furnished and very clean. In usual monastery style there was no TV in the room, but that is no problem for us.
There is free wi-fi, but for some reason it only worked in the hall, not inside the room.
Generally we were so satisfied with Benediktenhaus that we have already booked rooms here for our next visit to Vienna.

  • Stayed March 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Finn Spurre P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Adelaide, Australia
Level Contributor
24 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
Reviewed 1 February 2013

As we arrived at the Miedling station and were departing from the Westbahnfof station we were able to get to and fro from the stations via the underground easily. The Herrengasse underground station was only a few minutes walk from the guest house. Walking through the city of Vienna and its gardens was just beautiful with the guest house situated within close proximity to most of the major attractions. The room we had on the fourth floor was quite large- with an ensuite- all very clean and very quiet at night for sleeping. Breakfast was more than adequate and the staff were able to give tips and directions. Great place to stay.

  • Stayed October 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank AdelaideTinkerbell
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Copenhagen, Staden Kobenhavn, Denmark
Level Contributor
5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 22 November 2012

Located in the middle of historic Vienna. Could not be more perfect. The church bell will wake you up early in the morning, but it is part of the charm. We stayed here in november when all the Christmas markets opened. There was also a market in front of the hostel.

  • Stayed November 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Helle A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Munich, Germany
Level Contributor
102 reviews
52 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
Reviewed 5 November 2012

Benediktushaus is a guest house in a very good location in Vienna Innere Stadt. Most of Vienna attractions and historical places are walking distance: Stephansplatz, Dom, Mozart's house, Hofburg, Albertina, Opera, Museums quarter, Rathaus. The closest subway station Herrengasse on the line U3 is 3 min. walking. Billa supermarket is around the corner. Lots of restaurant and caffe' nearby.
We stayed there for 3 nights in a three-bedroom on the first floor with view on the Freyung, a lovely square. Room and bathroom were spacious and clean. There is no TV in the rooms. Wireless connection is for free, password available at reception. Good continental breakfast without hot meals. Staff at reception friendly and helpful. Reception closes at 7:00 pm therefore do not forget the key. If you look for a nice, clean and affordable accommodation in central Vienna and do not bother being awakened at 7:00 am by the Church bell, Benediktushaus is the right place.

  • Stayed October 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank egenan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Vienna hotels
Inner City
The Guesthouse Vienna
The Guesthouse Vienna
#2 of 362 in Vienna
752 reviews
Inner City
Hotel Am Stephansplatz
Hotel Am Stephansplatz
#10 of 362 in Vienna
1,973 reviews
Old University Quarter
Hollmann Beletage
Hollmann Beletage
#6 of 362 in Vienna
1,020 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Neubau
Hotel Sans Souci Wien
Hotel Sans Souci Wien
#1 of 362 in Vienna
1,301 reviews
Old University Quarter
Hotel Austria
Hotel Austria
#24 of 362 in Vienna
1,206 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Benediktushaus Guest House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Benediktushaus Guest House

Property: Benediktushaus Guest House
Address: Freyung 6a, Vienna 1010, Austria
Region: Austria > Vienna Region > Vienna > Inner City , Innere Stadt
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #7 of 110 B&Bs / Inns in Vienna
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — Benediktushaus Guest House 3*
Number of rooms: 21
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Expedia, Booking.com, Agoda, Odigeo and Traveltool, S.L.U. so you can book your Benediktushaus Guest House reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Benediktushaus Guest House Hotel Vienna

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing