We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Okay unless it is hot outside”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Benediktushaus Guest House
Ranked #5 of 115 Vienna B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Issaquah, Wa
Level 4 Contributor
45 reviews
31 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
“Okay unless it is hot outside”
Reviewed 18 August 2013

We stayed here two nights. The room is clean, very quiet (maybe too quiet), but a good location. However I am not so sure how concerned they are about guest's comfort. We stayed during a heat wave, mid 90's and the room on the 4th floor was uncomfortably hot all day and night. The one and only fan was a basic 3 speed table top model, and I asked if perhaps they had a second fan. The reply was no. All they need to do is provide each room with a decent fan or two fans to help with the heat. And we agreed with the comment of another reviewer about the woman in the breakfast room. She could not even say good morning or smile and could not have looked any more unhappy. Overall I think this is more an abbey first with a hotel and they are not concerned with making changes to make guests more comfortable. No one asked how was your stay upon check out. If you want a good location and a clean room and it is not sweltering hot, it is okay.

Room Tip: Higher floors are way too hot during a heat wave
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank JAAIssaquah
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

139 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    70
    63
    6
    0
    0
See reviews for
33
44
14
13
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (17)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
London, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
99 reviews
46 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 56 helpful votes
Reviewed 4 August 2013

I arrived long after the reception desk had closed but the key distribution machine worked well and I got in without difficulty. Poor signposting made it hard to find my room, however. The room was spotlessly clean and extremely quiet; it was also very hot, as one might expect given the high temperature outside and the lack of a/c inside. The breakfast was good if provided by a cheerless lady who couldn't even manage a smile. Nor was the atmosphere very welcoming: perhaps because of the nature of the place, everyone was whispering, which seemed odd though not unwelcome. The location is about as perfect as one could imagine: how glorious Freyung is both at night and in the day.

So, if you stay here, do not expect much to be as it is in most hotels. That need not be a problem, of course: the Benediktushaus is singular in every respect, and those who do not like what is usually on offer in guest accommodation may well find this refreshingly different.

Room Tip: With only one exception, rooms are well situated and quiet, facing the inner courtyard.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank John R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Eindhoven, The Netherlands
Level 6 Contributor
508 reviews
43 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 226 helpful votes
Reviewed 23 July 2013

No you do not need to convert, but you can still enjoy the location and spartan clean comfort of this guesthouse in the center of Vienna. The rate here is at least half of that at many of the nearby hotels. The reception is a walk up (or use the elevator). Rooms are mostly on higher floors. They are clean and well laid out.

The receptionists were very helpful and knowledgeable.

There is a full breakfast included. It offers everything we wanted or needed for breakfast. Please leave the breakfast room staff a little tip when you leave.

Overall, a location I will try to stay at again when visiting Vienna.

Room Tip: Book early since this location seems to fill during peak vacation and other holiday periods.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Paul L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Everett, Washington
Level 6 Contributor
88 reviews
32 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 88 helpful votes
Reviewed 18 July 2013

Stayed here in March to start a trip and see Vienna friends. First of all it is SO CENTRAL and QUIET!!!! Room was well thought out - great hot water and water pressure.

So appreciated a hot-pot in the room for morning coffee or tea! Breakfast was ample and more than sufficient - you can also order an egg (think it was 1 Euro)

The only small quibble is that the internet connection is best in the lobby (1st floor) due to the very thick concrete walls, but not a deal-breaker . . there was a nice coffee table/sofa for guests use . . looks like only 4-5 rooms per floor.

I would recommend Benediktushaus to anyone wishing a good nights rest in a very central and walkable location . . great stay!

  • Stayed March 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank aclarinet
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London
Level 4 Contributor
39 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed 23 May 2013

The Benediktushaus is the guesthouse of the Schottenstift - i.e. it is run by the religious order there. It is right in the centre of Vienna on Freyung, and the Schottentor, with trams around the ring and to Grinzing, is about 5 minutes walk away. The accommodation is modern and spotlessly clean. Our room had no TV (hurray) or fridge (pity) but was spacious, comfortable and quiet. One is requested to treat the guesthouse like a place of retreat and not make a noise, and other users (mainly middle-aged Germans when we were there) were almost silent. Wifi worked well. Altogether I am sorry to see the Benediktushaus on Trip Advisor as I am selfish enough to want to limit its publicity so it will be available next time I go to Vienna.

  • Stayed April 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank johnbg1948
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Birminghamq
Level 4 Contributor
25 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
Reviewed 8 April 2013 via mobile

The last few recent reviews about this guest house are spot on. Close to central area of Vienna and connections to trams and ubahn. Excellent choice at breakfast, quiet dining room, mainly couples and adult travellers. Reception very helpful with maps, advice. Taxi to west bahnhof was €15 , for our onward train to Salzburg. 3 full days in Vienna were plenty to see the main sights: cathedral, schoenbrunn palace and there was a lovely Easter market right outside Benediktushaus! Would highly recommend this as a place to stay for a city break. Basic but clean and comfortable rooms, you ARE woken up by the Church bell at 7am. Otherwise extremely quiet, you'd never know you were in the middle of a city.

  • Stayed March 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank fmbaines
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Nakskov, Denmark
Level 6 Contributor
457 reviews
125 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 177 helpful votes
Reviewed 14 March 2013

Nice accommodation with superb location, close to most Vienna major sights. But be aware that the reception is closed from 19 til 08 the next morning. We arrived late and had not made arrangements beforehand. The reception was empty, and the emergency phone number did not respond. Hence we had to find another hotel for the first night. Actually, Booking.com does tell you about the procedures of late arrivals (key in a coded box), but only in very small writing.
We had an excellent stay in Benediktenhaus all the remaining days. The breakfast buffet is good with a nice selection of bread and cereals. Our room faced a courtyard (guess most do) and was very quiet. Well furnished and very clean. In usual monastery style there was no TV in the room, but that is no problem for us.
There is free wi-fi, but for some reason it only worked in the hall, not inside the room.
Generally we were so satisfied with Benediktenhaus that we have already booked rooms here for our next visit to Vienna.

  • Stayed March 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Finn Spurre P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Vienna hotels
Inner City
The Guesthouse Vienna
The Guesthouse Vienna
#8 of 361 in Vienna
865 reviews
Old University Quarter
Hotel Austria
Hotel Austria
#24 of 361 in Vienna
1,305 reviews
Neubau
Hotel Sans Souci Wien
Hotel Sans Souci Wien
#1 of 361 in Vienna
1,446 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Inner City
Steigenberger Hotel Herrenhof Wien
Old University Quarter
Hollmann Beletage
Hollmann Beletage
#5 of 361 in Vienna
1,076 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Benediktushaus Guest House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Benediktushaus Guest House

Property: Benediktushaus Guest House
Address: Freyung 6a, Vienna 1010, Austria
Region: Austria > Vienna Region > Vienna > Inner City , Innere Stadt
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #5 of 115 B&Bs / Inns in Vienna
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3 star — Benediktushaus Guest House 3*
Number of rooms: 21
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Agoda and TripOnline SA so you can book your Benediktushaus Guest House reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Benediktushaus Guest House Hotel Vienna

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing