We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice accommodation in a great location”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
BENEDIKTUSHAUS IM SCHOTTENSTIFT
Ranked #4 of 117 Vienna B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 5 September 2013

Benediktushaus offers very nice accommodations in a great location. Within walking distance of St. Stephens and all the attractions in Old Vienna. The rooms have no televisions, which offers the chance to relax and enjoy each other. Besides, when in a town like Vienna, who stays in a room longer than just to sleep?

Breakfast is fine, even for vegetarians like us. And the rooms are kept very clean. Overall, I recommend Benediktushaus for single, couples or even families in

  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank tkirk01
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (168)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

71 - 77 of 168 reviews

Reviewed 24 August 2013

during our travels we like to stay at a unique place as this was one. It is well located near the catherdral and historic centre. Problem we did arrive while they were having a heat wave. There is no air condition. We kept the windows opened to no avail. The room was clean, the breakfast was ok not great. Due to its location I would recommend. The staff was friendly and we had no trouble finding the hotel or getting in, we did arrive early afternoon.

  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Jim B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 August 2013

We stayed here two nights. The room is clean, very quiet (maybe too quiet), but a good location. However I am not so sure how concerned they are about guest's comfort. We stayed during a heat wave, mid 90's and the room on the 4th floor was uncomfortably hot all day and night. The one and only fan was a basic 3 speed table top model, and I asked if perhaps they had a second fan. The reply was no. All they need to do is provide each room with a decent fan or two fans to help with the heat. And we agreed with the comment of another reviewer about the woman in the breakfast room. She could not even say good morning or smile and could not have looked any more unhappy. Overall I think this is more an abbey first with a hotel and they are not concerned with making changes to make guests more comfortable. No one asked how was your stay upon check out. If you want a good location and a clean room and it is not sweltering hot, it is okay.

Room Tip: Higher floors are way too hot during a heat wave
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank JAAIssaquah
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 August 2013

I arrived long after the reception desk had closed but the key distribution machine worked well and I got in without difficulty. Poor signposting made it hard to find my room, however. The room was spotlessly clean and extremely quiet; it was also very hot, as one might expect given the high temperature outside and the lack of a/c inside. The breakfast was good if provided by a cheerless lady who couldn't even manage a smile. Nor was the atmosphere very welcoming: perhaps because of the nature of the place, everyone was whispering, which seemed odd though not unwelcome. The location is about as perfect as one could imagine: how glorious Freyung is both at night and in the day.

So, if you stay here, do not expect much to be as it is in most hotels. That need not be a problem, of course: the Benediktushaus is singular in every respect, and those who do not like what is usually on offer in guest accommodation may well find this refreshingly different.

Room Tip: With only one exception, rooms are well situated and quiet, facing the inner courtyard.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank John R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 July 2013

No you do not need to convert, but you can still enjoy the location and spartan clean comfort of this guesthouse in the center of Vienna. The rate here is at least half of that at many of the nearby hotels. The reception is a walk up (or use the elevator). Rooms are mostly on higher floors. They are clean and well laid out.

The receptionists were very helpful and knowledgeable.

There is a full breakfast included. It offers everything we wanted or needed for breakfast. Please leave the breakfast room staff a little tip when you leave.

Overall, a location I will try to stay at again when visiting Vienna.

Room Tip: Book early since this location seems to fill during peak vacation and other holiday periods.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Paul L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 July 2013

Stayed here in March to start a trip and see Vienna friends. First of all it is SO CENTRAL and QUIET!!!! Room was well thought out - great hot water and water pressure.

So appreciated a hot-pot in the room for morning coffee or tea! Breakfast was ample and more than sufficient - you can also order an egg (think it was 1 Euro)

The only small quibble is that the internet connection is best in the lobby (1st floor) due to the very thick concrete walls, but not a deal-breaker . . there was a nice coffee table/sofa for guests use . . looks like only 4-5 rooms per floor.

I would recommend Benediktushaus to anyone wishing a good nights rest in a very central and walkable location . . great stay!

  • Stayed: March 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank aclarinet
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 May 2013

The Benediktushaus is the guesthouse of the Schottenstift - i.e. it is run by the religious order there. It is right in the centre of Vienna on Freyung, and the Schottentor, with trams around the ring and to Grinzing, is about 5 minutes walk away. The accommodation is modern and spotlessly clean. Our room had no TV (hurray) or fridge (pity) but was spacious, comfortable and quiet. One is requested to treat the guesthouse like a place of retreat and not make a noise, and other users (mainly middle-aged Germans when we were there) were almost silent. Wifi worked well. Altogether I am sorry to see the Benediktushaus on Trip Advisor as I am selfish enough to want to limit its publicity so it will be available next time I go to Vienna.

  • Stayed: April 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank johnbg1948
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Vienna hotels
Mariahilf
Hotel Beethoven Vienna
Hotel Beethoven Vienna
#12 of 359 in Vienna
1,434 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Neubau
Hotel am Brillantengrund
Inner City
Opera Suites
Opera Suites
#6 of 117 in Vienna
299 reviews
Hotel Fabrik
#10 of 117 in Vienna
187 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to BENEDIKTUSHAUS IM SCHOTTENSTIFT? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about BENEDIKTUSHAUS IM SCHOTTENSTIFT

Address: Freyung 6a, Vienna 1010, Austria
Region: Austria > Vienna Region > Vienna > Inner City , Innere Stadt
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 117 B&Bs / Inns in Vienna
Price Range: £82 - £147 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — BENEDIKTUSHAUS IM SCHOTTENSTIFT 3*
Number of rooms: 21
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
According to the tradition of the Rule of St. Benedict, the Benedictine monastery "Schottenstift" ("Abbey of Our Beloved Lady of the Scots") runs a guesthouse. The bed-and-breakfast style BENEDIKTUSHAUS im SCHOTTENstift is embedded in the large historical buildings complex of the abbey in the center of Vienna. Our guests value the very quietly situated, well equipped rooms looking out onto one of the tree-lined courtyards of the monastery. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, TripOnline SA, Agoda and Hotels.com so you can book your BENEDIKTUSHAUS IM SCHOTTENSTIFT reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Benediktushaus Guest House Hotel Vienna

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing