We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“The best spot to get around!” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Derag Livinghotel An der Oper

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Derag Livinghotel An der Oper
Ranked #3 of 201 Speciality Lodging in Vienna
Certificate of Excellence
Newcastle
Level Contributor
21 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“The best spot to get around!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 5 November 2012

Located in a secondary road, Elisabeth Strasse, The Derag City Apartment is only 2 minutes from Karlsplats underground station and you can go basically everywhere from here (10 minutes for Shonbrunn, 10 minute for Prater, and just a couple of minutes for the Stephan Cathedral). And if you like walk you are in Kartener Strasse, the main road, full of shops, cafe and restaurant.
We have been warmly welcomed by the receptionist that give us a map and introduces us to the main attraction of the city. The building has a lift and was refurbished to a high standerd. We were in a superior flat, very well decorated, really really warm, with double glased, TV and stereo.
Kitchen area is with induction hob, dishwasher and you will find soap and dishwasher detergent.
If you need something else there is a spar located just opposite the street!
We were thre for work but we really enjoyed the nice flat, the cleaness and kindness of all the staff, and of course the great location to visit Vienna.
I didn't expect to find kettle and coffe machine when I am outside of the UK, but I found them anyway, nver used it. I prefer have my coffee in a proper viennese cafe!
The bathroom was well maintained and we didn't see any wires at all! Maybe they put in place some good strategy to check and mantain flats.
I was really worried by the previous review and this place seemed to me quite the opposite and I will certainly come back!

Room Tip: Flats with windows in Elisabeth Strasse are quiter that the one on the main facade.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, travelled on business
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank vivian191199
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

260 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    152
    79
    14
    9
    6
See reviews for
103
93
10
18
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (37)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
21 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 29 September 2012

Encouraged by the many positive reviews on this site, we booked 8 days at these apartments in Vienna in September. It was our first experience with Derag apartments and, since we travel a lot in Europe, we were keen to find out what their apartments were like.

As most reviews point out, the location is great – very central and yet in a quiet street. We were pleased to find that our flat was large (but quite dark). Being English we first needed a cup of tea. There was no kettle and no teapot so I ended up making tea in a saucepan for the first time in my life! There were only 4 very small coffee cups supplied and no mugs. Curtains in the bedroom were not hung but sat folded on a bed. Curtains in the hall were only partially hung with one dropping off. The first morning we had no coffee because the coffee machine was broken. The safe was also broken and never got mended throughout our stay. I reported these problems to reception and a new coffee machine and kettle were promised immediately. After 20 minutes no-one had delivered us a coffee machine or kettle and in frustration we went out for breakfast.

We gradually noticed other problems:
- A loose wire hanging out of the bathroom ceiling where a light should have been.
- There was black mould in the tiling in the corner of the bath/shower and where the shower screen met the bath.
- The carpet in the living area had been badly stained with some spilt liquid.
- Two of four forks supplied had bent prongs which made eating with them a risky activity!
- In spite of repeated empty promises from reception, to repair the safe it was never repaired. Derag list on their website that one is standard in every flat but we had to carry all of our valuables around with us throughout out holiday.

A coffee machine and kettle along with only two mugs did arrive after the first day. Considering the apartment was meant to house up to six people there was very little supplied by way of basic crockery and glasses e.g. no wine glasses.
When the kettle did arrive I found a faulty plug point in the kitchen which I could not get a plug into. Later I realised it was because a prong from an appliance had been rammed into one of the holes (very dangerous if anyone had tried to remove it!) When my husband reported it the receptionist/janitor seemed to make light of it saying he had managed to survive an electric shock; but he did come to turn off the electricity and remove it within 48 hours.

If there had been an emergency I don’t know what we would have done since there was no information whatsoever supplied about who to contact or how to contact them (not even a number for reception or on how to get an outside line.)
It should not be up to customers to find and report faults and shortcomings in the flats, but it was clear that no basic checks had been made before we moved in and that reception did not really want to be contacted by phone. Most previous reviewers on this site did their reports last year and it may well be the case that the flats have now fallen into disrepair or that the management no longer cares..... whatever the reason, we will not be using Derag apartments again and we are sending this report with photos of the more serious faults to their head office.

Room Tip: Have a good check around as soon as you arrive and report all problems to reception immediately.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank seasonedpunter
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Nairobi
Level Contributor
132 reviews
41 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 58 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 29 April 2012

Vienna is one of the cities where the enjoyment of yoyr stay will very much depend on where you stay. Derag City apartments in the 1st district of Vienna is perhaps the nicest places one could choose to stay in Vienna. I lived in Vienna for a couple of years and went back in April 2012 after 9 years. It was great to visit the city again...and more so because of the location.

The hotel is simple and no frills as you may expect at a 4/5 star European hotel. However it is very spacious, good service and most importantly has an excellent location. Centre of Vienna town pedestrian zone, tram lines, underground, buses, etc are all within the area. Top restaurants as well as delicious kebab/pizza joints are also within which always give a very vibrant, alive feel to your stay which in many other ;parts of Vienna would certainly not be the case!

The rooms are spacious...we took a one bedroom apartment and it was well equipped. With two kids comfortably sorted on the sofa bed and extra bed which we requested, we were well settled. There are two TVs although unfortunately one of ours was not working. Given how much there is to do in the city honestly it didn't really matter. Simple and comfortable is how I would describe Derag City Hotel, with an unbeatable location. I would happily and certainly return to this hotel.

  • Stayed April 2012, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank NIA1011
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Belgrade
Level Contributor
27 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 15 November 2011

We have been here in spring 2011. I can't find one thing that is not great in this apartment. :)

  • Stayed May 2011, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank VesnaJovanovic
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Melbourne, Australia
Level Contributor
26 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 13 November 2011

My family and I feel so blessed to have chosen the Executive Double Apartment at the DERAG City Apartments ("DCA") for our trip to Vienna. The apartment was very comfortable and so, so, so conveniently located.

It takes less than one minute to walk from the DCA to the escalators leading down to the U-Bahn Karlsplatz station and about two minutes to reach the tram stop (for Trams 1, 2 and D) directly opposite the State Opera House. It is diagonally opposite Hotel Bristol and within comfortable walking distance to St. Stephan's Cathedral, St. Charles Church, Naschmarkt and the Albertina. It's very easy to take tram and bus rides around the city, too.

The 6th floor apartment we got was well laid out, well-lighted, very clean, looked new, sleeps up to 5 people, and has a small kitchenette with glass hobs, microwave, dishwasher and the full complement of pots, pans, cups, glasses, plates, saucers, corkscrew and cutlery. It has heaters as well as air-cons. Tablets for the dishwasher and dish-washing liquid were provided. The bathroom was white and spotless, has two sinks with lighted mirrors, a bathtub with shower, hair-dryer, soap/shampoo dispenser but only one toilet -- quite normal for apartments in Vienna. A coffee maker (but not the coffee) was provided and a kettle was available upon request. There were also two TVs in the apartment, a radio-CD player and free Internet via a LAN cable and WiFi.

We chose an apartment facing the street with a great view but can be a tad noisy if we left the windows open. In any case, all four of us slept soundly every night. Around the DCA, there's a supermarket, post office, print shop, nightclub (no noise at all when we were there) and many places to eat. Cafe Museum (worth a visit) is located at the back of the apartment block, and for late night snacks, check out the hotdog kiosk that stays open till 5am.

If I were to nitpick, I'd say the tiny lift can only fit 3 adults and the rooms don't get cleaned everyday but those didn't matter to us.

We could not have asked for a better place and staying at such a good location made our trip more enjoyable. Excellent!

  • Stayed November 2011, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank adrian_vic
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
mumbai
Level Contributor
43 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 30 September 2011

It is very well maintain apartments in heart of Vienna city. It is only few steps away from Opera and shopping area. Very close to metro. Very helpful front desk. Thank you for making our stay pleasurable.

Room Tip: Ask for room facing the main road and not on back side.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2011, travelled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank manish2001
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 21 September 2011

We are from Chile and stayed in Vienna in August 2011, with 2 small children, and this apartment was just great. It is very well located, just one block from the Opera House and the Cafe Sacher (by the way, you must go there), as well as other important spots in Vienna. The apartment had a double bed and a sofa bed, and they lent us a cot for the baby. It has a very well equiped little kitchen and a big toilet. The only bad thing could be that cleaning is only twice a week. Even though, it is a very pleasant place to stay.

  • Stayed August 2011
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank PanchoOctavio
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Vienna hotels
Inner City
The Guesthouse Vienna
The Guesthouse Vienna
#2 of 367 in Vienna
5.0 of 5 bubbles 728 reviews
Wieden
Best Western Premier Kaiserhof Wien
Neubau
Hotel Sans Souci Wien
Hotel Sans Souci Wien
#1 of 367 in Vienna
5.0 of 5 bubbles 1,271 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Inner City
Hotel Sacher Wien
Hotel Sacher Wien
#3 of 367 in Vienna
5.0 of 5 bubbles 1,557 reviews
Mariahilf
Small Luxury Hotel Das Tyrol
Inner City
The Ring
The Ring
#27 of 367 in Vienna
4.5 of 5 bubbles 935 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Derag Livinghotel An der Oper? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Derag Livinghotel An der Oper

Property: Derag Livinghotel An der Oper
Address: Kaerntner Strasse 44, Vienna 1010, Austria (Formerly Derag Livinghotel City Apartments Wien)
Region: Austria > Vienna Region > Vienna > Inner City
Amenities:
Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 201 Speciality Lodging in Vienna
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4 star — Derag Livinghotel An der Oper 4*
Number of rooms: 42
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com and Odigeo so you can book your Derag Livinghotel An der Oper reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing