We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice sunday brunch!”
Review of Restaurant Orpheus

Restaurant Orpheus
Ranked #501 of 4,193 Restaurants in Vienna
Cuisines: Greek
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: After-hours, Lunch, Dinner, Breakfast, Reservations
Neighbourhood: Inner City
Level Contributor
98 reviews
60 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 41 helpful votes
“Nice sunday brunch!”
Reviewed 27 January 2014 via mobile

We have been visiting greek restaurant for the first time in Austria and didn't now what to expect.
It was a great surprise. Food very good ofcourse from tzatziki, to lamb chops everything we were looking for.
Service quick, everybody smiling and polite. Nothing is a problem. It was a sunday brunch restaurant full, crowded, great atmosphere.

  • Visited January 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Hakeri123
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

166 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    66
    67
    18
    10
    5
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Oakland, California
Level Contributor
199 reviews
38 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 111 helpful votes
“Great service and food”
Reviewed 17 January 2014 via mobile

We were originally going to Osteriais Pronto da Salvo, could not find it, went into Orpheus for directions and returned there after finding Pronto to be totally inadequate.
First, the service in Orpheus could not have been better. This is a Greek food place with a fine decour. We four easily found items on the menu to order, and each of us enjoyed our meals. We liked our wine. We liked our waiter.
Orpheus is a classy place.

Visited January 2014
Helpful?
Thank jwhitehouse
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Vienna, Austria
Level Contributor
22 reviews
10 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
“Really good food”
Reviewed 9 January 2014

I am not a big fan of Greek cuisine, it ist usually old-fashioned like in the 60s. But Orpheus ist different. Very, very friendly, perfect location in the city, really good food (by European standards - no Greek holiday Kitsch)

  • Visited January 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank HannibalVienna
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Nijkerk, The Netherlands
Level Contributor
99 reviews
69 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
“Good food and good service”
Reviewed 6 January 2014

When I am travelling for business purposes I often go out for dinner just by myself. I asked the hotel to book a table at 20:30h but when I arrived the table was not ready yet. After just 5 minutes I was taken to a table at the end of the restaurant, close to the wardrobe. The table was fine however.

On the wine list was a wine I liked and according to the description of this wine it was a 2011. When the waiter served the wine it turned out ot be 2012. I mentioned this and the waiter went away to check whether the 2011 was available. Unfortunately is was sold out. I knew 2011was a good year but I did not know about 2012. I asked the waiter and he confimed 2012 was okay. I decided to give it a try and agreed with this bottle... Unfortunately the wine was very young in taste and not quite my style.

I told the waiter that although I had approved the wine I preferred another wine. He went away to ask this and his colleague returned with some alternatives without hesitation. I really appreciated this gesture since the wine I ordered had been opened especially for me. This is the kind of service I like.

I ordered the octopus salad as a starter and it was delicious! Very tender and tasty. I thought the gyros as main course was also a good choice.

The only thing I did not like so much was that the restaurant charged me for bread I did not order but when mentioning this to the waiter he pulled it off the bill without any problem.

When looking for a stylish greek restaurant down town Vienna Orpheus is a good choice!

  • Visited December 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Paul V
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London
Level Contributor
18 reviews
12 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Always great”
Reviewed 6 December 2013

We have been at this restaurant multiple times over the last years. Bright and friendly ambience, friendly service, simple, honest and tasty food, very reasonably priced. Always great to go there.

  • Visited November 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank travelscout1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Restaurant Orpheus also viewed

Vienna, Vienna Region
Vienna, Vienna Region
 
Vienna, Vienna Region
Vienna, Vienna Region
 
Vienna, Vienna Region
Vienna, Vienna Region
 

Been to Restaurant Orpheus? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing