We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Skip the hotel.. Stay here!”
Review of Pension VITIS

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Vienna
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Pension VITIS
Ranked #7 of 115 Vienna B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Colorado Springs, Colorado
Level 6 Contributor
157 reviews
50 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 65 helpful votes
“Skip the hotel.. Stay here!”
Reviewed 18 March 2014 via mobile

We stayed here 3 nights in
March on our way home from Croatia. Karl is the pinnacle of efficiency and the room was immaculately clean. Traditional Austrian continental breakfast was fine for us. It is easy to get around town from here and a couple of good inexpensive restaurants are close by. A very good value. Highly recommended.

  • Stayed March 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank bobbymcsnoddy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

204 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    165
    36
    3
    0
    0
See reviews for
44
103
25
1
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (25)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Brisbane, Australia
Level 2 Contributor
8 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 13 January 2014

Previous reviews are 100% accurate. Pension Vitis is a snug wonderful B&B in a quiet locale but so handy to bus & train (only 10min to Town-hall, Xmas markets, winter palace, museums, shopping, and everything else we wanted to see). There is a local mall and a decent kids playground within a 10min walk radius. My family of 4 (9 & 13 yo) had a really enjoyable & memorable stay here, from Karl's morning pickup from airport at 6am, to explaining about how to use the public transport system, to the delicious Continental breakfast (mmm, can still smell the lovely hot bread rolls fresh from their oven) served to our room, to the fun Fiaker horse carriage sightseeing ride that Karl had specially arranged with complimentary pickup from the front door all the way to Saint Stephan's cathedral in the old city center.
The room was very cozy & warm, and had plenty of space, even with 4 beddings, a wardrobe and dining table & chairs for 4. The windows had super-dark roller shutters for those that wanted to sleep in. The kitchenette had all we needed and more. The communal washer & a dryer (€4 in total per load) was a godsend as we wanted to catchup on our laundry before joining an upcoming 17-day tour through Austria & Germany. Oh, and kids, a secret tip from my young daughter, you can get rewarded with yummy Austrian treats if you happen to make your bed!
By the way, the free WIFI here is super, so much better than all the 4/5-star hotels in our later tours.
Hospitality here was wonderful, one morning Karl noticed that we had thrown out disposable chopsticks with our instant noodle bowls from a midnight snack (due to jetlag) so he went and got us replacements later that day without prompting. Now that's service!
Bottom line is we would, and have already, recommend Pension VITIS to our friends and family. Of course, we would stay here again on our next visit to the beautiful city of Wien (aka Vienna).

Karl, we just want to say another big 'Danke Sehr' for the memorable and wonderful hospitality at Pension Vitis. Your establishment was more comfortable than the 4-star Regina hotel that you dropped us off at for our tour.

Room Tip: In case it bothers you that the previous guest was a smoker, there are no smoke-free rooms here (as...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
Thank Asian_Kiwi_In_Oz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Island of Malta, Malta
Level 2 Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviewed 12 January 2014

We stayed at pension vitis from the 29th till 5th January 2014, Karl is a very good host, he came for us at the train station and did not complain when we changed train station at the last minute, he took the time to get us a lot of leaflets about vienna and different attractions and information regarding the new year celebrations. The room was very tidy, clean and spacious, breakfast was well serviced every morning in our room. Over all it was a very good experience and we recommend Pension Vitis.

  • Stayed January 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank farrugian
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Green Bay, Wisconsin
1 review
Reviewed 6 December 2013

Karl's place was quite, clean, convenient, and reasonably priced. I also felt very secure and looked after since I was staying by myself as a solo female traveler. Loved the kitchenette and the internet availabilty was also a really big help.

Room Tip: No swimming pool, but this isn't America. ha ha. Enjoy your stay.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
Thank jamie f
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Singapore, Singapore
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 22 November 2013

Stayed in this pension for 2 nights. We enjoyed our stay here, mainly due to the convenience and the comfort. It is situated in a quiet neighborhood but very easy and fast to reach the old city. NO worry! Karl is a good host. He provide not only a comfortable place for us to stay but also other services. He will answer all your questions and provide shuttle service ( with additional charge). He also has a weighing tool to weight your luggage - good for those who shop a lot.

The breakfast was served in beautiful porcelain (from Czech..haha checked the labels) with some cold cuts and freshly baked rolls. It was delicious. Breakfast is usually served around 830 am-10:30 am in the morning. After communicate with Karl, he agreed to serve our breakfast earlier at 8:00 am. So, if you plan to start your day early, make sure you communicate well with Karl about your breakfast time.

Overall, it was a very pleasant stay! Thank you Karl and your wife!

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Crescentia1020
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kissimmee, Florida
Level 4 Contributor
39 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
Reviewed 17 November 2013

What a wonderful place to stay in Vienna!!!! We thoroughly enjoyed our days in Vienna, mainly due to the convenience and comfort of Pension Vitis. We were less than two blocks from the bus and were easily able to come back for a rest and then return to the City for an evening event.

Karl was a wonderful host. His picking us up at the Train was a great convenience and the Transportation passes worked perfectly.

Thank you Karl for a delightful stay.

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Ginny H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reading, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 29 October 2013

Could the previous reviews be correct?
They definitely were, this is a fantastic place to stay and Karl was the perfect host.
He picked us up at the airport, bought our metro passes, gave us all the local information regarding shops, bus stops and metro stations, then delivered us back to Pension Vitis to settle in.
On our arrival, there were plenty of leaflets and information to help us make decisions on our daily excursions, plus a bonus - the weather for our stay was brilliant.
Breakfasts - these were served daily by Karl in our room, a real treat to start our day.
Karl also made us a packed breakfast on our departure at 6am and delivered us to the station for our onward travel.
This really is the most perfect place, owned by the perfect host, what more can I say!!!

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
1 Thank John_C186363
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Vienna hotels
Neubau
Pension Pharmador
Pension Pharmador
#43 of 361 in Vienna
400 reviews
Mariahilf
Hotel ibis Wien Mariahilf
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Leopoldstadt
MEININGER Hotel Wien Downtown Franz
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Pension VITIS? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Pension VITIS

Property: Pension VITIS
Address: Herbststrasse 24 | 1160 Vienna, Vienna 1160, Austria
Phone Number:
Region: Austria > Vienna Region > Vienna > Ottakring
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Room Service Shuttle Bus service Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #7 of 115 B&Bs / Inns in Vienna
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Number of rooms: 2
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Welcome to Pension VITIS in Vienna. Apartments, Rooms with bathroom, separate WC and small kitchen.Our little boarding house is located in a quiet area of the 16th district of Vienna, near the Wiener Stadthalle and the Westbahnhof train station, silent and central in the heart of Vienna.Apartment - Rooms:Both apartments have a large comfortable living room (1 - 4 persons) with SAT-TV, bathroom, separate WC, mini-bar, small kitchen with electric stove, dishes, coffee maker, water kettle, toaster, refrigerator, etc. In the central lobby you can use the PC with free Internet. Additionally, each apartment comes with free WLAN connection. ... more   less 

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing