We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Rooms and location great...but a ways to go with service and policies”
Review of K&T Boardinghouse

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
K&T Boardinghouse
Ranked #2 of 116 Vienna B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 29 December 2010

Great location near subway, shopping, museum quarter. Rooms near new, spacious and clean. Older building under renovation/restoration in floors above so a little construction inconvenience.
Here's the downside...while the rooms were great, unfortunately they came with owner/resident manager who appear to know little about building a reputation but lots of energy for squeezing every Euro they can out of guests.

We got messed up with Europe December 2010 weather problems and arrived a day late for our scheduled three nights. They do not accept credit cards for payment or with booking. We were reminded about three times daily when we finally arrived that we had to pay for the missed night - owner 'heard on the news' that airlines would pay for expenses such as this so would not give any relief from charging us for missed night. We pointed out that we were not eligible for any such reimbursement (airlines quit compensating for weather-related delays for non-connecting passengers years ago).
They insisted we 'should have contacted them sooner' however did not seem to understand that making contact with a facility that has no reception is easier said than done when one is on an airplane that is diverted to another airport where passengers had to remain on board awaiting for destination airport to re-open.
Even after extending our stay (four of us) by one night, the owner would only reduce the price of the missed night by 9 Euros per room. Since they are not set up to take credit cards, we were tempted to find another place when we first arrived and learned that we would be charged for the missed night (they would have received nothing), but decided that was not the honourable thing to do as we fully expected, particularly after adding an additional night at the end of our stay for rooms that would otherwise have been unsold, that common sense, customer service, reputation management and avoiding reviews such as this would have prevailed.
For a start-up operation, one would think they would be building some loyalty versus the opposite. Resident manager quite unfriendly and every interaction as we came and went for the three days was around getting cash payment and telling us we could claim from airline. After polite good byes when we left, she slammed the door on my wife. Ouch. So much for hospitality from people that appear to be new to the hospitality industry.

  • Stayed: December 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank YYCBP
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (251)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

188 - 194 of 251 reviews

Reviewed 21 December 2010

After reading rave reviews about K&T Boardinghouse, I decided to book a room with them for my trip to Vienna. They replied to me promptly and asked if I want to stay at K&T Boardinghouse 2 which has newer and bigger room. I cannot remember if it costed more but the rooms look good on the website and I decided to book 3 nights.

It is near to Neubaugasse metro station which makes it a very convenient base to explore Vienna. You just need to make sure you uses the right exit of the metro and look out for a small sign to K&T Boardinghouse 2. You need to press the door bell to ask the caretaker to let you enter the building and you walk up flights of stairs in to reach K&T Boardinghouse 2.

The caretaker (don't think it was Tina even though she did not tell us her name) gave us the keys to the room and gave a quick intro. She rushed through a quick overview of the city and gave us a map. She also recommended a few restaurants around the place, we went to one but the food was average. I tried to ask a few questions about Vienna but she seems to be busy and gave me condescending replies. Not sure if the other reviewers met the same person but we seem to have different experiences.

I was a given a very nice room which is quite big for European standard. The room has a electric flask which is very useful if you need hot water. However, the room is right beside a bus stop and it was very noisy when the bus starts the engine. Not a problem in the day time but it can get very irritating at night and in the early morning and I had great difficulty getting a good night sleep. Not sure if the other rooms have the same problem.

In short, for the price, the room and the location of K&T 2 were great. I did not have any issue with the renovation of building as I am usually out before it starts. However, I did not like the attitute of the caretaker and the noise from the bus was too much to bear.

  • Stayed: September 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank ysouk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 October 2010

the room was nice, high ceiling, the floor was a narrow and a bit cold, very unfriendly staff, a stressed student, the whole building was under construction and we got no notification before, and the only compensatory was a tiny bottle of wine in the room, opening the windows was not possible because of plastic film, and the end: we were forced to check out before the official check out time
fazit: go there if you just need a nice room and don^t care about atmosphere or fresh air

  • Stayed: October 2010, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank tinka999
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 July 2010

It was a bit hard to find K & T2 because of the construction that was happening on the building but once we found it, it was perfect! Great, friendly staff who were in contact with you immediately and greeted you at the door. Excellent location for shopping and sightseeing. Clean, spacious rooms! I would definitely recommend this boardinghouse to any traveller!

  • Stayed: July 2010, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank dancingqueen004
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 July 2017 via mobile
Google Translation

Stayed: July 2017, travelled as a couple
Thank Katerina I
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 July 2017
Google Translation

Room Tip: alle Zimmer sind prima
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2017, travelled with friends
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank munnypenny2017
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 March 2017
Google Translation

  • Stayed: March 2017, travelled solo
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank aldycavaller
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Vienna hotels
Mariahilf
Hotel Das Tyrol
Hotel Das Tyrol
#4 of 358 in Vienna
1,533 reviews
Neubau
Ruby Marie Hotel Vienna
Ruby Marie Hotel Vienna
#25 of 358 in Vienna
1,652 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Neubau
Hotel am Brillantengrund
Mariahilf
Time Out City Hotel Vienna
Mariahilf
Stadtnest Bed & Breakfast and Apartment
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to K&T Boardinghouse? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about K&T Boardinghouse

Address: Chwallagasse 2, Vienna 1060, Austria
Region: Austria > Vienna Region > Vienna > Mariahilf
Amenities:
Room Service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 116 B&Bs / Inns in Vienna
Price Range: £54 - £102 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — K&T Boardinghouse 3*
Number of rooms: 5
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Many of the Amenities marked are not in our house directly available but in the very close vicinity. We are located in the best zone you could ever have in Vienna, just right off MAriahilferstrasse the biggest shoppingstreet in the City. Many eateries, cofee shops and restaurants are closy by fancied by the locals. Most of the major sights are within walking distance and the U3 metro station is right front of the door.Breakfast is available also outside as the variety is so reach in choices. In our beautiful old house you can spend some days feeling the autentical viennese atmosphere!!! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Booking.com, TripOnline SA, Travel Republic (UK), Ebookers, HotelsClick and 5viajes2012 S.L. so you can book your K&T Boardinghouse reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing