We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Really Helpful Staff”

Vienna Explorer Tours & Day Trips
Book In Advance
More Info
US$136.34*
and up
Wachau Valley Small-Group Tour and Wine Tasting from Vienna
More Info
US$75.88*
and up
Wine Tasting Bike Tour departing Vienna
More Info
US$51.87*
and up
Private Tour: Vienna City Highlights Tour
Ranked #1 of 33 Food & Drink in Vienna
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: Your specialist in Vienna for small group tours, private tours and bike rental. We have been operating in Vienna since 2010 and our goal is to show you Vienna and the Wachau Valley at its best. All our tours are disigned by travellers for travellers. We founded the first winery bike tour through the Wachau Valley and are proud to show you exclusive wineries and stunning historical sights. Our energetic international staff will meet all you expecties and needs.
Wilmington, New York
Level 3 Contributor
12 reviews
7 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
“Really Helpful Staff”
Reviewed 25 November 2013

So we got to Vienna after the biking tours were over for the season, but not knowing this we stopped into the store. The two guys behind the counter were very helpful. The provided us with maps, showed us the bike route that would have been followed, and recommended must see stops around the route. They provided us with a local restaurant recommend as we left, and then came running after us when they remember that the restaurant they recommended was closed on Monday. So we didn't ride the bike, but these guys provided excellent customer service. Next time we are in Vienna - we will try the wine trip bike ride.

Visited November 2013
Helpful?
Thank 452xyz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

959 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    796
    102
    33
    14
    14
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Dubai, UAE
Level 5 Contributor
74 reviews
44 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 41 helpful votes
“Excellent City Tours”
Reviewed 27 October 2013

We only had three days to explore Vienna. In every city we always look for a bicycle tour to capture a condensed overview prior to focusing on other points of interest. Vienna Explorer did not disappoint. The company offers a combination tour of a walking tour in the morning followed by a bike tour in the afternoon. The tours together were a perfect combination. The city walking focused on the cities historical city centre and the bike tour, although repeating a short overview of the city centre, expanded into many other districts of the city. One full day WELL spent! We highly recommend these tours together. The tour guides were excellent. Both guides were very passionate and proud of "their" city. Their professionalism, passion and knowledge made this an excellent tour. HIGHLY RECOMMEND this company.

Visited October 2013
Helpful?
Thank captmorgan1Dubai
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Port Adelaide, Australia
Level 4 Contributor
39 reviews
16 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
“The Beautiful Wachau Valley”
Reviewed 23 October 2013 via mobile

We went on the car tour of the Wachau Valley with Stelios in October. We had wanted to do the bike tour but since my wife was six months pregnant that would have been impractical and impossible.

There were only five people on the tour including ourselves. We piled into a van and off to the Wachau Valley we go. The valley was beautiful. Scenery was breathtaking and the spots Stelios took us to were superb. It was great to get out of Vienna to see how other Austrians live.

You can tell that Stelios enjoys his job and who wouldn't. We were picked up at 9 and dropped off at six. Well worth the cost of the tour.

Visited October 2013
Helpful?
Thank H0ldfa5t
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Toronto, Ontario
Level 5 Contributor
38 reviews
21 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
“Fun day biking the Wachau Valley”
Reviewed 23 October 2013

Despite the rainy weather, we had a great day on the Wachau Valley Winery Bike Tour. Our guide, Esther, was wonderful and we really enjoyed spending the day with her.

The tour began at the Vienna office, which is very easy to find. We then took a 1 hour train ride, followed by a 10 minute walk to where the bikes are housed. There are 2 different sizes of bikes, which was wonderful. Each bike comes with a helmet and a rain poncho (both optional).

The pace is leisurely and the terrain is very manageable. There are a few small inclines when biking through town, but nothing prohibitive. We really enjoyed the wine stops and learning about the different types of grapes grown in the valley.

Lunch is enjoyed in Durnstein. Our meal selections were pre ordered in the morning, so there was no waiting for food when we got there, which was wonderful! Make sure you have the cost of the meal on hand to pay the guide, as there are no bank machines until you get back to Vienna. For those that are interested, you can hike up to the Durnstein castle ruins (you also get a nice view of the ruins on the other side of the river on the way back).

I would recommend this tour as a wonderful way to get out of the city and enjoy the beautiful countryside.

Visited October 2013
Helpful?
3 Thank Misty_River7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Auckland Region, New Zealand
Level 6 Contributor
110 reviews
69 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
“Great way to see Vienna and beyond”
Reviewed 22 October 2013

This is a great company. Knew very little about Vienna and I came across the website for this company. Their shop is easy to find and a nice place to hang out. We did 3 tours. The first was a walking tour with a large group but ably conducted by Andrea. She was informative, passionate and obviously loved her city. Saw many great sights and had a lot of fun. In the afternoon we had a much smaller cycling tour with our guide Horst. He was really fun and also passionate about his city. Got to see many more sights than you would otherwise see. Thoroughly recommend doing these 2 tours as it is better than seeing from a tour bus. Area is quite flat so would suit most abilities. However the highlight was our wine tour of the Wachau Valley with Esther as our guide. She was brilliant and kept our group together. It was a group of varied abilities and I was designated as sweeper keeping the slower riders going. Esther was informative and really knew her stuff - give her a pay rise! The tour itself was one of the highlights of our 6 week European trip. The train trip was an adventure in itself out to Krems where we picked our bikes up. The group bonded pretty well together despite being from a variety of countries and backgrounds and languages. But all spoke pretty good English. We ate grapes, did some wine tasting and ended up having lunch in Durnstein. It would have been good to have another half hour or so exploring but it would have been an even longer day - maybe next time. Did some liquor and chocolate tasting. Then followed the Danube to Weissenkirchen where we tasted wine under walnut trees overlooking the beautiful town and eating the fallen walnuts. It was just bliss! Crossed the river on a ferry and then cycled passed orchards with trees bearing fruit which we of course sampled. Don't know whether we were meant to! Apples were so crisp and tasty and I thought New Zealand produced the best apples. I was one of the 3 in our group who went for a swim in the Danube. Well you have to just to say you have done it. Got back to Vienna at 7 pm which was a long day but I would do it all over again.

Visited September 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank Gary L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Vienna Explorer Tours & Day Trips also viewed

Vienna, Vienna Region
 

Been to Vienna Explorer Tours & Day Trips? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing