We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Chic Vienna Hotel”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Sofitel Vienna Stephansdom
Ranked #30 of 359 Hotels in Vienna
Certificate of Excellence
A TripAdvisor Member
Aberdeen
11
Reviewed 11 July 2011

Outstanding. The view of Vienna from the restaurant/bar on the top floor was a sightseeing event by itself. The food at the restaurant for morning and lunch was outstanding. The service and friendliness of the staff were exemplar.

  • Stayed: June 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank A TripAdvisor Member
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GRMgt, General Manager at Sofitel Vienna Stephansdom, responded to this reviewResponded 30 July 2011

Dear Guest,

Great to read that you enjoyed our restaurant. We hope to welcome you back soon.

William Haandrikman

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (2,091)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

957 - 963 of 2,091 reviews

Reviewed 9 July 2011

we started our trip from vienna, covered salzburg, innsbruck and headed towards france (montecarlo, paris). sofitel was one hotel we missed when v were at other places. as u enter its lobby (where the rooms are)...u'll find it very dark and mysterious...its all black....d black turns to blackish pink. at first we thought we made a wrong decision because we had kids with us and they dont like dark places...but the moment d hotel personnel will open d room for u....its "MAGIC" for u to discover. trust me ...head for sofitel. the staff is cooperating. they kept our luggage for 3 days after check out...all intact

Stayed: June 2011, travelled with friends
1  Thank LiveOn_2010
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GRMgt, General Manager at Sofitel Vienna Stephansdom, responded to this reviewResponded 12 July 2011

Dear guest, we are delighted that you discovered the “magic” of our hotel with your family and I am happy that our staff created magic moments for you I appreciate very much that you shared your experience with us. William Haandrikman

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 July 2011

This was truly our best hotel experience everrrr - the hotel is perfect in every way - the simplistic design is magnificent. The interior design of the rooms is beyond perfect - every corner is well studied without one thing missing. We had wifi internet in the room and complimentary water and jucies refilled everyday. The service was just outstanding from every aspect. The breakfast on the 18th floor is a must - the views are breathtaking and the breakfast service is just top luxury. Finally the location is extremely convenient. Perfect in every way!!!

  • Stayed: June 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank ymas2010
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GRMgt, General Manager at Sofitel Vienna Stephansdom, responded to this reviewResponded 7 July 2011

Dear Guest,

Thank you for choosing SOFITEL and posting your feedback on TripAdvisor. It is most pleasant to read that you appreciated the hotel and its features, as well as that you experienced our staff friendly and professional.

We hope to have the opportunity to welcoming you back to Vienna soon again.

Friendly wishes,

William Haandrikman

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
A TripAdvisor Member
Sopron
1
Reviewed 17 June 2011

We would do appriciate an origional sauna with scent speciment. Above this we had a nice pleasure time and vocation.
The massage menu sholud be wider not only the oriental types. For example general sport massage beside the relaxing ones.

  • Stayed: June 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank A TripAdvisor Member
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GRMgt, General Manager at Sofitel Vienna Stephansdom, responded to this reviewResponded 22 June 2011

Dear Guest,

We very much appreciate your comments regarding your stay at the Sofitel Vienna Stephansdom. It is always a pleasure to receive positive feedback.

We do apologise that the SPA did not fully meet your expectations.

Thank you again for sharing your experience, and we hope your next visit will be as pleasant as the previous one.

Sincerely,

William Haandrikman

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 June 2011

I stayed here for business seminar, and was impressed by the sleek design. I was in one of the grey rooms (they are all unicolour), and liked the concept. People in the white ones took off their shoes immediately in order to keep it clean! Impressive view on Vienna from the restaurant on the top floor, where also breakfast is served. Needless to say that the choice was enormous and of excellent quality. It is situated at walking distance of the historical city center, and public transport is nearby as well.

  • Stayed: May 2011, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank BelgianInIstanbul
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GRMgt, General Manager at Sofitel Vienna Stephansdom, responded to this reviewResponded 20 June 2011

Dear Guest,

We very much appreciate your comments regarding your stay at the Sofitel Vienna Stephansdom. It is always a pleasure to receive positive feedback.

We are very glad to read that you enjoyed the unique design of the room.

Thank you again for sharing your experience, and we hope your next visit will be as pleasant as the previous one.

Sincerely,

William Haandrikman

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 June 2011

I stayed here on for 3 nights on the last leg of my trip to Europe in one of the "white rooms" which was most generous in space and comfort. Loved the amazingly deep baths and had the best, well needed sleep in the Sofitel MyBed. Loved the contemporary design of the hotel, business centre and gym facilities are excellent. I had brief dealings with the staff but on all occasions i was addressed personally, which made me most welcome. Loved the concentrates smoothie juice shots included with breakfast, and the 360 degree views over Vienna on the top floor restaurant was magical by night and day, The only dissatisfaction i had with my entire stay was the unattentive and slightly slow service at dinner on a Saturday night. In conversation with the staff, the restaurant is a hot spot and was undeniably packed. Food is of excellent quality. I will most deffinately be back and most definitely recommend it to our guests (i also work in hotels).

  • Stayed: March 2011, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank MetalQueen
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GRMgt, General Manager at Sofitel Vienna Stephansdom, responded to this reviewResponded 20 June 2011

Dear Guest

We very much appreciate your comments regarding your stay at the Sofitel Vienna Stephansdom. It is always a pleasure to receive positive feedback.

We will be more than happy to forward your nice comments to our staff.

We do apologise that the service in our restaurant did not meet your expectations. We hope you will give us a new chance to prove our service very soon.

Kind regards

William Haandrikman

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 June 2011

Incredible. What a hotel. Minimalitic furniture, very modern, great view, outstanding service, super location, what a view and above all great lounge at last floor. 15 minuteswalk from every single city attraction. If they ask me, they can double the price for what they offer.

  • Stayed: September 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Dino_Rasic
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GRMgt, General Manager at Sofitel Vienna Stephansdom, responded to this reviewResponded 15 June 2011

Dear Guest,

We very much appreciate your comments regarding your stay at the Sofitel Vienna Stephansdom. It is always a pleasure to receive positive feedback.

I will share your comments with our team. I am sure that this feedback will serve as an encouragement to all of our staff as we strive to continuously improve the quality of our services.

Thank you again for sharing your experience, and we hope your next visit will be as pleasant as the previous one.

Sincerely,
William Haandrikman

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Vienna hotels
Inner City
Palais Hansen Kempinski
Palais Hansen Kempinski
#10 of 359 in Vienna
1,201 reviews
Inner City
The Guesthouse Vienna
The Guesthouse Vienna
#9 of 359 in Vienna
933 reviews
Inner City
The Ring, Relais & Chateaux
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Neubau
Hotel Sans Souci Wien
Hotel Sans Souci Wien
#1 of 359 in Vienna
1,508 reviews
Inner City
The Ritz-Carlton, Vienna
Inner City
Le Meridien Vienna
Le Meridien Vienna
#74 of 359 in Vienna
2,972 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Sofitel Vienna Stephansdom? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sofitel Vienna Stephansdom

Address: Praterstrasse 1 | Sofitel Vienna Stephansdom, Vienna 1020, Austria
Phone Number:
Region: Austria > Vienna Region > Vienna > Leopoldstadt
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#11 Spa Hotel in Vienna
#11 Business Hotel in Vienna
#17 Family Hotel in Vienna
#25 Luxury Hotel in Vienna
#28 Romantic Hotel in Vienna
Price Range: £160 - £324 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:5 star — Sofitel Vienna Stephansdom 5*
Number of rooms: 182
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Within splendid view of its gothic namesake, St. Stephens Cathedral, the 5 star superior Sofitel Vienna Stephansdom is an emphatically 21st century structure. Echoing the hotel's sleek exteriors, the 182 monochromatic guest rooms, including 26 suites, are decorated in either immaculate white, cool grey or velvety black. On the mezzanine level the hotel offers a business center and a library. For distinctive business or celebratory events you can choose from 8 sun lit meeting rooms for up to 150 people. On the 5th floor guests can enjoy a relaxing massage in our So SPA or work out in our So FIT. Join the local crowd at Das LOFT, the Sofitel Vienna´s superbly stylish rooftop dining & bar retreat; a fete extraordinaire with fantastical interiors by Jean Nouvel and culinary arts from the imagination of Fabian Gunzel, our Chef de Cuisine. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, ACCOR, Odigeo, Travel Republic (UK), Southall Travel, Hotels.com, Ebookers, HotelsClick, Cancelon, Evoline ltd, 5viajes2012 S.L., getaroom.com and HotelQuickly so you can book your Sofitel Vienna Stephansdom reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Sofitel Vienna Stephansdom Hotel Vienna

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing