We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Extreme comfort in busy Vienna”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Sofitel Vienna Stephansdom
Ranked #31 of 362 Hotels in Vienna
Certificate of Excellence
Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
18 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Extreme comfort in busy Vienna”
Reviewed 1 August 2011

Very comfortable stay! Highlight of trip to Europe. Staff were extremely helpful and always anxious to please. Most enjoyable!

Stayed July 2011, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank MrsJo156
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GRMgt, General Manager at Sofitel Vienna Stephansdom, responded to this review, 5 August 2011
Dear Guest,

Thank you for your nice words. These comments are always a great motivator.

We hope to see you soon.

William Haandrikman
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,957 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    1,336
    450
    125
    33
    13
See reviews for
269
965
114
352
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (261)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Hebrew first
  • Hungarian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Serbian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Hamburg, Germany
1 review
Reviewed 31 July 2011

I spend a weekend with my wife in vienna and was amazed by this beautiful hotel. The design is world class (we stayed in a all white room) which adds an elegant and fresh note to Vienna's usual baroque kitsch. With the very fluffy bed you feel like waking up in heaven. The Restraurant on 18th floor has excellent breakfast and food with a breathtaking view over Vienna. Serivce overall is great and very charming with a very helpful Concierge.

  • Stayed July 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Hamburg-meine-Perle2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GRMgt, General Manager at Sofitel Vienna Stephansdom, responded to this review, 5 August 2011
Dear Guest,

We will be delighted to inform our Concierge about your nice words. We are happy to read that you appreciated the concept of our hotel and that you were able to enjoy the view from our restaurant.

We hope to be able to welcome you back soon.

William Haandrikman
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sydney
Level Contributor
112 reviews
39 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 39 helpful votes
Reviewed 29 July 2011

What a surprising hotel, ultra modern glass and marble with wonderfully trained reception staff and rooms in grey, black or white to reflect the cathedral's tiles. The top floor bar and restaurant is eighteen floors above Vienna with a stunning backlit ceiling of colorful autumn leaves. This hotel mixes old-fashion service with crisp, even stark, decor. We won't stay anywhere else in Vienna.

Room Tip: Get. High floor overlooking St Stephens ... It's worth it for the view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Toby21Sydney
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GRMgt, General Manager at Sofitel Vienna Stephansdom, responded to this review, 2 August 2011
Dear Guest,

We would like to thank you for your nice words about our staff. These comments are a great motivation. It’s always nice to read that our guests really appreciated the concept and design of our Artwork. We hope you will be visiting us again soon.

William Haandrikman
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
North China
Level Contributor
50 reviews
32 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
Reviewed 27 July 2011

We stayed with our two kids for 3 nights at the Sofitel Stephansdome and did not regret it.
We got a 'black and white" junior suite for the parents and a 'white" room for the kids, both rooms connected. This Jean Nouvel designed hotel was really different as what you normally see in Imperial-driven Vienna. Just the complete opposite and a must for contemporary design lovers. The Pipilotti Rist designed ceilings at LE LOFT you can see as far as from the other side of the Danube water channel! Difficult to get seats though, but absolutely worth to have a dinner there. From 18th floor you can see all over the city with a 360 view! Ceiling is just amazing and changes it's colors not because of internal lights but due of outside lights.

The service is impeccable and very personalized. I need to mention especially Guest Relations, where Thomas gave us a tour through the hotel before checking us in in our rooms. (yes we wanted to see everything!) We arrived by Rental car and they parked us the car and we just needed to call 10 minutes before arrival and it stood in front of the door. Cleaned of course!
Breakfast is served as well on the 18th floor and I personally loved the cheeses, various yoghurts and choice of bread. Again - the view was stunning.

They also have an amazing Spa, but we did not use it, to be honest.

To sum it up: This hotel has as the cutting edge - good combination of modern design (if you like it....), stylish F&B and very very personalized service. They really go the extra-mile

Well done Sofitel Team , will be back! There is one reason, why I mostly choose Sofitels .
Reason being is their drive to deliver personal service. It lets me feel home and special

  • Stayed July 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank ExpatinChina
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GRMgt, General Manager at Sofitel Vienna Stephansdom, responded to this review, 30 July 2011
Dear Guest,

It is always a pleasure to read that people are excited by the concept and the design of our hotel and restaurant. We will be more than happy to pass on your nice words to Thomas.

We hope to be able to welcome you back soon and that you will have the time to experience one of our Spa treatments.

William Haandrikman
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
IL
Level Contributor
11 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed 27 July 2011

Firsrt off, the sleek, ultra modern hotel is an beautiful addition to the imperial landscape of Vienna. the Sleek, tasteful monochromatic rooms are amazing! my room was white. everywhere and i loved it.. nespresso machines, bathrooms- amazing additions.

Staff are amazing. They go above and beyond to make sure you have everything. the concierge organized day trips, took care of airport transfers and everything was just perfect. The View from the rooftop restaurant is breathtaking. Restaurant staff are incredible and complied with special orders and squeezed us in even though we didnt have a reservation.

If you're ever in Vienna, definitely stay here!
my only complaint is that they didnt have a swimming pool, only a couple of whirlpools.

  • Stayed July 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Chemboy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GRMgt, General Manager at Sofitel Vienna Stephansdom, responded to this review, 30 July 2011
Dear Guest,

We would like to thank you for your nice comments about our staff. It is nice to read that you enjoyed the concept of the rooms and that you spent a great evening in our restaurant.

We hope to see you again soon.

William Haandrikman
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Doha, Qatar
Level Contributor
6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 25 July 2011

i stayed at sofitel vienna jul 2011.
may stay was great the moment i arrived there with my family from early check in through a great room breath taking view from the 14th floor great breakfast, helpful welcoming wonderful staff, to late checkout .
the location of the hotel is superb 5 minutes away from most of the attractions.
thank you sofitel for a nice memorable stay

  • Stayed July 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Salman1980
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GRMgt, General Manager at Sofitel Vienna Stephansdom, responded to this review, 12 August 2011
Dear Guest,

How nice to hear that you spent an unforgettable time with your family in our hotel.

We hope that you will give the pleasure of welcoming you back soon.

William Haandrikman
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Guaymas,Sonora
Level Contributor
105 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
Reviewed 20 July 2011

A very nice hotel with a modern luxury and a great service!!! I definitively will go back.

  • Stayed July 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Clau M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GRMgt, General Manager at Sofitel Vienna Stephansdom, responded to this review, 22 July 2011
Dear guest. Thank you for your nice comment and see you soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Vienna hotels
Inner City
Steigenberger Hotel Herrenhof Wien
Inner City
Palais Hansen Kempinski Vienna
Inner City
The Guesthouse Vienna
The Guesthouse Vienna
#2 of 362 in Vienna
751 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Inner City
The Ring
The Ring
#28 of 362 in Vienna
949 reviews
Neubau
Hotel Sans Souci Wien
Hotel Sans Souci Wien
#1 of 362 in Vienna
1,300 reviews
Inner City
The Ritz-Carlton, Vienna
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Sofitel Vienna Stephansdom? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sofitel Vienna Stephansdom

Property: Sofitel Vienna Stephansdom
Address: Praterstrasse 1 | Sofitel Vienna Stephansdom, Vienna 1020, Austria
Phone Number:
Region: Austria > Vienna Region > Vienna > Leopoldstadt
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#11 Spa Hotel in Vienna
#11 Business Hotel in Vienna
#17 Family Hotel in Vienna
#26 Luxury Hotel in Vienna
#28 Romantic Hotel in Vienna
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £££
Hotel Class:5 star — Sofitel Vienna Stephansdom 5*
Number of rooms: 182
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Within splendid view of its gothic namesake, St. Stephens Cathedral, the 5 star superior Sofitel Vienna Stephansdom is an emphatically 21st century structure. Echoing the hotel's sleek exteriors, the 182 monochromatic guest rooms, including 26 suites, are decorated in either immaculate white, cool grey or velvety black. On the mezzanine level the hotel offers a business center and a library. For distinctive business or celebratory events you can choose from 8 sun lit meeting rooms for up to 150 people. On the 5th floor guests can enjoy a relaxing massage in our So SPA or work out in our So FIT. Join the local crowd at Das LOFT, the Sofitel Vienna´s superbly stylish rooftop dining & bar retreat; a fete extraordinaire with fantastical interiors by Jean Nouvel and culinary arts from the imagination of Fabian Gunzel, our Chef de Cuisine. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Traveltool, S.L.U., ACCOR, Ebookers, Agoda, Odigeo, Southall Travel, TripOnline SA, TravelUp, Evoline ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your Sofitel Vienna Stephansdom reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Sofitel Vienna Stephansdom Hotel Vienna

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing