We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Not elegant, but the most functional, trendy and ergonomic room ever!!”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Sofitel Vienna Stephansdom
Ranked #30 of 361 Hotels in Vienna
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 31 August 2011

I was here for buisness for three nights.

First thing to say is I booked online through another website and so got a great price - since the rack rate is a lot more, I just wanted to put that out there.

The hotel is a 3 minute walk from the schwedenplatz underground station, accross the bridge looking over the river. It is smart. Not elegant like a mandarin oriental, but sophisticated.

I was shown to my room (how often does that happen) and that is the best bit of this hotel. It is amazing - all white, with an open plan bathroom (sliding glass wall if needed).

The key thing is that everything has been thougt off. You want a separate toilet - got it. You want somewhere to plug your laptop into the TV - got it, even a special stand from the wall to put it on. You want ot shave in the shower - the shaving mirror is flat and bends straight onto the wall of the shower. It has free water and juice in a large fridge, as well as a nespresso machine with free capsules. The bed was great, the air con was perfect - no wind, but right temperature!

And clean!!!Very clean. The floor is matt white something - so you feel it is clean - you would see any dirt - brave to do a white room.

I would highly recommend this to business travellers and couples. Not sure with young children - didnt see any and this is the most un-toddler proof room ever!

Room Tip: No need to bring toiletries/hairdryer/dressing gowns/slippers
  • Stayed: August 2011, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank cosmoz79
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GRMgt, General Manager at Sofitel Vienna Stephansdom, responded to this reviewResponded 5 September 2011

Dear Guest,

It gives us much pleasure to read that you were so impressed by the design of our hotel and that you appreciated the unique features of our white rooms.

We hope to be able to welcome you back soon.

William Haandrikman

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (2,068)
There are newer reviews for Sofitel Vienna Stephansdom
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

930 - 936 of 2,069 reviews

Reviewed 30 August 2011

we loved this hotel. easy location, with subway, ring tram, danube cruise dock right outside the door across the bridge. we mostly walked to everywhere in old town from the hotel. we stayed in the luxury room, with a fantastic view. cool windows with 'shades' that open so you can lie in bed with a panoramic view of vienna at night. room was huge, really cool bathroom with his/her sinks. service was fantastic. concierge booked train tickets to salzburg for us, but when we found out it was to rain there, he was able to cancel them for us. loft bar & lounge on 18th floor was amazing; beautiful ceiling, views across vienna, ambience. small gym, though that didn't matter too much since we did a lot of walking everywhere anyways. we'll be back at vienna, and no doubt stay here again.

  • Stayed: August 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank bruneko
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GRMgt, General Manager at Sofitel Vienna Stephansdom, responded to this reviewResponded 5 September 2011

Dear Guest,

We are glad to read that our Concierge was able to help you during your stay with us. It also gives us great pleasure that you were so impressed with the concept of our rooms and the service you received throughout your stay.

We hope to see you again soon.

William Haandrikman

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 August 2011

Modern hotel, great location - less than 10 minute walk to Stephansplatz, 2 minutes to the nearest U-bahn station which is served by 2 lines with direct links to Schonbrun and the Danube, although many other Vienna hotels also are very central. Room was simple yet luxurious and modern. The service was good and staff always were very willing to help. The building itself stands out and the top floor bar/restaurant has a fantastic view, although this was more expensive than anywhere else we went to in our 5 day stay in Vienna, but worth visiting. Overall, a great experience.

  • Stayed: August 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank cdsinge
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GRMgt, General Manager at Sofitel Vienna Stephansdom, responded to this reviewResponded 5 September 2011

Dear Guest,

We are happy to read that you were able to visit the major sights easily from our Hotel. Our staff will be more than happy with your nice comments.

We hope that you will visit us again soon to enjoy once more the amazing view from our bar over Vienna.

William Haandrikman

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 August 2011

One of the coolest hotels i've ever stayed .. great service, great staff, great rooms ... puts every so called design hotel or boutique hotel to shame. Thank you guys ... you've raised the bar .. and make it virtually impossible for me - to stay in another hotel in vienna - again.

Room Tip: Get a white room ...
  • Stayed: August 2011, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank realdca
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GRMgt, General Manager at Sofitel Vienna Stephansdom, responded to this reviewResponded 1 September 2011

Dear Guest,
it is great that you were so happy about staying in our hotel.
We hope to see you again soon.
William Haandrikman

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 August 2011

We were pleasantly surprised when we saw the location of the Sofitel overlooking the canal. We got a bus direct from the airport to Schwedenplatz for only 7 euros and took only 20 minutes, and then was just a short walk along the canal to the hotel. The hotel has a striking entrance and the doormen greet you with a genuine friendliness. First impressions when you walk in is that this is a very modern and sleek hotel. In cool black and white the reception area is minimilistic and has a very clean look. Check in was very quick and professional and we were personally taken to our rooms and everything was explained to us. We had a deluxe room which was all white and overlooked the ferris wheel side of the hotel. The white room can be quite daunting to start with especially with the number of mirrors in the room as well, so hard to see where one room starts and ends (can't explain it as you really have to experience it), but was very impressed with the large and VERY comfortable bed and bedding, nespresso machine, free juices and water in the mini bar, hermes bath products, deep bath, rainfall shower and double sinks. The inbuilt flat screen TV right at the end of the bed was great too. The hotel offer free wireless internet connection which was a god send and you could even use the internet on the flat screen TV with the computer keyboard they supply you with at an extra 24 hr rate. We had a couple of incidents at the hotel; on our first full day, we arrived back at the hotel room at about 4pm and the room had still not been made up. We called down to reception and they said they would send someone up. The maid arrived with her apologies and said that she had seen the do not disturb on the door earlier that morning but hadn't seen it change to 'make up the room' even though we put it on when we left for the day at 10.30am. The rooms are made up between 8.30am and 4.00pm so not sure when it would have been done if we hadn't called. In the end we just asked for fresh towels and the mini bar to be stocked up rather than the room to be cleaned as we just wanted to relax in the room for a bit before going to dinner early evening. The maid was very apologetic and arranged a time to clean the room the following morning. We didn't complain or make a big thing of it as the girl was so apologetic. The next day we thought we would try the hotel's bar on the top floor (Le Loft). I wore a smart maxi dress with some dressy flip flop type shoes. I was blocked on arriving by the lady on the door and said that there was a strict dress code of no flip flops and if I was a guest at the hotel, could I go back to the room to change my shoes. I found this a bit of an insult as it wasn't as if I was wearing shorts, t-shirt and fiip flops, I was dressed smartly in evening wear! I changed and came back and was 'let in'. We sat at the bar and had a couple of cocktails which were lovely overlooking the whole of Vienna. However, we watched several other guests walk in with trainers, ripped jeans, sandals (that were not too disimilar to mine) and then to top it off a dog was allowed in with it's owners and was even offered a dog bowl of water to drink. It just seemed a bit wrong to have refused me entrance in what I have on my feet (and you couldn't even really see them as my dress was covering them) when others were dressed less smart than me and pets were allowed. I didn't see a dress code at the door unless I missed it. They were my only two gripes of the whole stay and again we didn't complain as we didn't want to make a fuss as we were only there for a weekend. Again check out was very professional and the guy on reception that checked us out was very chatty, friendly and helpful. All in all I would come back to this hotel and would recommend it to business travellers and couples - not sure I would take children to an all white room!

Room Tip: Ask for a room on a higher floor for the best views
  • Stayed: August 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank LouMurray
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GRMgt, General Manager at Sofitel Vienna Stephansdom, responded to this reviewResponded 1 September 2011

Dear Guest,

we are delighted to hear that you were so impressed with the room and we are sorry for the inconvenience due to the room not being cleaned up when you were back. We have also taken note of your comments regarding your experience in the bar to better handle our dress code. We noticed your comment about the bus and we want to inform you that our hotel offers a limousine transfer directly to the airport which makes your travelling much more comfortable. Our chauffeur and we will take care of your luggage so you will be able to enjoy a smooth and relaxing farewell and departure.

We would be delighted to welcome you back soon William Haandrikman

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 August 2011

We are spending one week in vienna and sofitel is absolutely a very pleasant place for our vacation. The whole room is white and very comfortable bed! Generally I always get jetlag and could not sleep well everytime i travel but this time I sleep very well. There is a small library in the hotel that you can relax and read there.The restaurant on 18th floor has a amazing cityview. The breakfast buffet is very good, except that the fruits can be more fresh.

The hotel is close to everything. During the night, you can go take a gelato or a drink along the Danube. The hotel staff pay attention to details and are very helpful. Only a small disadvantage is that the internet signal is a little week. Otherwise, we have a very relaxing week vacation in Wien and I will put Sofitel as my primary choice in my future trip.

  • Stayed: August 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank flatfoosie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GRMgt, General Manager at Sofitel Vienna Stephansdom, responded to this reviewResponded 1 September 2011

Dear Guest,
it gives us great pleasure to read that you enjoyed our hotel. We have passed on your comments regarding the fruits to our Restaurant Manager.
We have also informed our Technical department concerning the internet and we are working on a solution to improve this.
We hope to welcome you soon.
William Haandrikman

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 August 2011

I stayed there with a friend on a mini city break to Vienna, we stayed in a pure white room, it was amazing. The hotel staff were very friendly all in all, breakfast was lovely but very expensive. Spa was relaxing. Only down side was the bar on the high floor, it was very impressive and spectacular, but the service was appalling, long wait to be served every time and on one occasion we ate and it took an hour and we were the only people waiting!! I woukd stay there again as overall it was lovely, just slow service.

Room Tip: higher level floors have great views, but really all rooms seem nice
  • Stayed: July 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Annabel206
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GRMgt, General Manager at Sofitel Vienna Stephansdom, responded to this reviewResponded 23 August 2011

Dear Guest,

our seamless coloured rooms are indeed amazing and we are happy that you enjoyed your white room so much.

We apologise for the slow service in the Bar. At Sofitel we continually strive to give a superior service and we have passed on your comments to our bar manager.

We hope that you will visit us again soon and that we will be able to convince you with our service in the bar.

William Haandrikman

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Vienna hotels
Inner City
Palais Hansen Kempinski
Palais Hansen Kempinski
#10 of 361 in Vienna
1,176 reviews
Inner City
The Guesthouse Vienna
The Guesthouse Vienna
#8 of 361 in Vienna
904 reviews
Inner City
The Ring, Relais & Chateaux
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Serviten Quarter
Hilton Vienna Plaza
Hilton Vienna Plaza
#40 of 361 in Vienna
1,295 reviews
Inner City
The Ritz-Carlton, Vienna
Inner City
Steigenberger Hotel Herrenhof Wien
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Sofitel Vienna Stephansdom? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sofitel Vienna Stephansdom

Address: Praterstrasse 1 | Sofitel Vienna Stephansdom, Vienna 1020, Austria
Phone Number:
Region: Austria > Vienna Region > Vienna > Leopoldstadt
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#11 Spa Hotel in Vienna
#11 Business Hotel in Vienna
#17 Family Hotel in Vienna
#25 Luxury Hotel in Vienna
#28 Romantic Hotel in Vienna
Price Range: £176 - £353 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:5 star — Sofitel Vienna Stephansdom 5*
Number of rooms: 182
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Within splendid view of its gothic namesake, St. Stephens Cathedral, the 5 star superior Sofitel Vienna Stephansdom is an emphatically 21st century structure. Echoing the hotel's sleek exteriors, the 182 monochromatic guest rooms, including 26 suites, are decorated in either immaculate white, cool grey or velvety black. On the mezzanine level the hotel offers a business center and a library. For distinctive business or celebratory events you can choose from 8 sun lit meeting rooms for up to 150 people. On the 5th floor guests can enjoy a relaxing massage in our So SPA or work out in our So FIT. Join the local crowd at Das LOFT, the Sofitel Vienna´s superbly stylish rooftop dining & bar retreat; a fete extraordinaire with fantastical interiors by Jean Nouvel and culinary arts from the imagination of Fabian Gunzel, our Chef de Cuisine. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Travel Republic (UK), Southall Travel, Hotels.com, Agoda, Cancelon, Evoline ltd, 5viajes2012 S.L., HotelQuickly and getaroom.com so you can book your Sofitel Vienna Stephansdom reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Sofitel Vienna Stephansdom Hotel Vienna

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing