We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Wonderful stay!” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Sofitel Vienna Stephansdom

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Sofitel Vienna Stephansdom
Ranked #31 of 367 Hotels in Vienna
Certificate of Excellence
Toronto, Canada
Level Contributor
43 reviews
27 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“Wonderful stay!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 30 January 2014

Stayed here last week and had a fabulous time. Hotel is nicely decorated, very chic and hip while remaining to be simple and modern. Hotel staff are all very welcoming and professional. Check-in and check-out are both efficient and pleasant. Service was impeccable, everybody had a smile on their face and was sincere about it.

We had a superior double room. The interior design is all white (there are black, grey, white ones apparently and ours happens to be white), and very modern, with a sliding door between the bath/sink area and the room. Bed was super comfortable, with a selection of pillows to choose from. We were satisfied with the standard pillows and did not have to request for special ones.

Breakfast was on one of their top floors, I forgot which, and the view was phenomenal. In addition, the ceiling had special artistic design, which because of the floor-length all-glass windows on this floor, can be seen from outside the building, simply breath-taking.

Location-wise, also perfect. Across from the Schwedenplatz, which is a 5 minute walk across the street, and has a direct connection Airline bus that will take you right to Vienna airport. And the famous church, is only another 5 minutes away by foot.

Totally 5* deserving hotel! I would stay here again and again without doubt!

  • Stayed January 2014, travelled on business
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Faintingstar
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Alexander M, Geschäftsführer at Sofitel Vienna Stephansdom, responded to this review, 19 February 2014
Dear guest,
Thank you very much for your positive and detailed comment.
I am glad to read that you enjoyed your stay with us and the modern design by star architect Jean Nouvel.
Your friendly words have been forwarded to all Ambassadors, as this is the best motivation for them.
I hope to welcome you back soon.
Kind regards from Vienna,
Alexander Moj
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,923 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    1,312
    444
    123
    32
    12
See reviews for
258
952
111
349
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (259)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Hebrew first
  • Hungarian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Serbian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Abu Dhabi
Level Contributor
8 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 49 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 27 January 2014

have stayed here twice now and on return to Vienna I would stay again. The hotel is very central and the service is excellent. I have not used the restaurants but concierge and room service are most helpful.

Room Tip: I chose the black room suite, was good room but noisy banging of doors from opposite room
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, travelled solo
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank susanad
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Alexander M, Geschäftsführer at Sofitel Vienna Stephansdom, responded to this review, 4 February 2014
Dear guest,
Thank you very much for your positive feedback.
It is my pleasure to forward your kind words to our Ambassadors and especially the concierges, as this is the best motivation for them.
I am glad to read that you enjoyed your stay with us and hope to welcome you back soon.
Kind regards from Vienna,
Alexander Moj
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
7 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 26 January 2014 via mobile

Beautiful hotel with surprising design elements at its core. Rooms all in white with every comfort and flexible lay out with sliding doors and glass panels. Top floor restaurant provides a spectacular view on the city of Vienna and be therefore prepared for a longer breakfast then originally planned. Friendly staff, very customer and service oriented.
The design stores next door are a definite plus. I took a few good ideas and adresses home. Definitely a hotel to return to.

Stayed January 2014, travelled on business
Helpful?
Thank Sonja W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Alexander M, Geschäftsführer at Sofitel Vienna Stephansdom, responded to this review, 4 February 2014
Dear guest,
Thank you very much for your positive feedback.
It is my pleasure to forward your kind words to our Ambassadors, as this is the best motivation for them.
I am glad to read that you enjoyed your stay with us and hope to welcome you back soon.
Kind regards from Vienna,
Alexander Moj
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
New York City, New York
Level Contributor
34 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 25 January 2014

This is a very modern hotel with a unique design. Different parts of the windows move in different directions so that you can create your own personal view of the city. Service is exceptional. Food, service and view from the restaurant at the top floor are amazing.

Room Tip: Try to get a grey room.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Ann V
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Alexander M, Geschäftsführer at Sofitel Vienna Stephansdom, responded to this review, 4 February 2014
Dear guest,
Thank you very much for your positive feedback.
I am glad to read that you enjoyed the design of your room as well as the Le LOFT Restaurant.
Your kind words have been transmitted to our Ambassadors, as this is the best motivation for them.
I hope to welcome you back soon.
Kind regards from Vienna,
Alexander Moj
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Fortaleza, CE
Level Contributor
102 reviews
58 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 101 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 23 January 2014

O hotel é realmente uma atração em si. Muito bonito, bem localizado, com um lobby grande e bem decorado. O check in foi problemático, pois houve um erro na comunicação com o hotel que não me garantiu a cama extra. Algumas horas depois, me contactaram dizendo que poderiam ceder um colchão e acabei aceitando. Não foi ruim, principalmente porque não cobraram. Como somos do Club Accor, ganhamos cortesias para os drinks no badaladíssimo Le Loft, o bar no topo do prédio. Ao chegarmos lá para usufruirmos, fomos mal recepcionados e depois ignorados, mesmo após de nos identificarmos como hóspedes. Os quartos e o banheiro eram de bom tamanho, mas pobremente decorados. A vista, porém, era fantástica. O café Nespresso era cortesia, assim como os chás. Também ganhamos uma caixa de macarrons na véspera de ano novo. Passamos a virada do ano no quarto com uma fantástica vista dos fogos e o hotel nos providenciou taças e gelo para o champanhe. O café da manhã era bem variado, mas nada de excepcional, a não ser, novamente, pela vista. A Jacuzzi e a sauna eram pequenas e quando tentamos utilizá-la já estava lotado. O serviço de bar do lobby é péssimo e o Le K-Fé, um café expresso que também fica no lobby, nunca tinha nada para comer ou beber. O concierge foi bastante solícito e nos ajudou com ótimas dicas de restaurante e também a solucionar um problema com o transfer para Budapeste. A localização é boa, cerca de 10 minutos a pé para a catedral. O Sofitel possui uma ótima estrutura, mas um serviço deficiente e funcionários pouco simpáticos e acolhedores. Não me senti bem recebida e esse foi o principal problema.

...

The hotel is really an attraction in itself. Very beautiful, well located, with a large lobby and nicely decorated. The check in was problematic because there was an error communicating with the hotel and they didn´t assured me the extra bed. A few hours later, they contacted me saying that they could give a mattress and I accepted . It was not bad, mainly because it was not charged. We are part of Accor Club, and we got courtesies drinks at Le Loft , the bar at the top of the building. When we got there to enjoy those, we were not greeted and we were ignored even after we identify ourselves as guests. The rooms and bathroom had good size, but they were poorly furnished. The view, however, was fantastic. The Nespresso coffee was complimentary, as well as teas. We also got a box of macaroons on new year´s eve. We spent the New Year´s Eve in the room with a fantastic view of the fireworks and the hotel provided us with glasses and ice for champagne. The breakfast was quite varied, but nothing exceptional, excepct, again, by the view. The Jacuzzi and sauna were small and when we tried to use it was already packed. The lobby bar service was terrible and Le K - Fe, a coffee place that is also in the lobby, never had anything to eat or drink. The concierge was very attentive and helped us with great restaurant tips and also to solve a problem with the shuttle to Budapest. The location is good, about 10 minutes walk to the cathedral. The Sofitel has a great structure, but a poor and unfriendly staff friendly and an unwelcoming service. I did not feel welcomed and that was the main problem.

Room Tip: Luxury rooms
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2014, travelled with family
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Alexandra A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Alexander M, Geschäftsführer at Sofitel Vienna Stephansdom, responded to this review, 4 February 2014
Dear guest,
Thank you very much for your feedback.
I am very sorry for the inconveniences you experienced during check in. I have spoken with our Reservation team and our Front Office Manager to bring out once more that communication is particularly important.
Your comments about our Ambassadors and their absence of friendliness have been transmitted to all Managers in charge in order to review the issue with the team.
I would like to apologize for this behavior and I hope to welcome you back soon.
Kind regards from Vienna,
Alexander Moj
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Zagreb, Croatia
Level Contributor
101 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 56 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 20 January 2014

A modern, well located, high level Accor brand hotel in Vienna. I expected a lot more during our stay in Vienna, and was a bit disappointed. Modern room design does not work really for me - it functions perfectly only for the first 5 minutes you enter the room... once you start to use the room - it becomes less visible attractive and clean. My opinion is that designer was a bit too bold with the choice of white for interior design. Because rooms are hard to maintain, sometimes cleaning takes too long, so you can't expect your room to be available or ready to use until almost early afternoon. Staff is very polite - but not really helpful. Everything takes too long to explain and for staff to deliver. Breakfast is very nice but I have a feeling that what customer pays is more fantastic view on Vienna centre then the breakfast quality and variety...
Bottom line - visited, was OK, but will book another hotel in Vienna for my next stay there.

  • Stayed January 2014, travelled with family
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Ondina_2011
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Alexander M, Geschäftsführer at Sofitel Vienna Stephansdom, responded to this review, 23 January 2014
Dear guest,
First of all, I would like to thank you for your feedback.
I am very sorry to read that your stay wasn’t satisfactory and that we could not convince you neither with the service nor with the room’s design.
Your review has been forwarded to all Managers in charge.
I do hope to welcome you back soon in order to show you the actual high standard of quality and service.
Kind regards from Vienna,
Alexander Moj
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Vienna hotels
Inner City
Palais Hansen Kempinski Vienna
Inner City
The Guesthouse Vienna
The Guesthouse Vienna
#2 of 367 in Vienna
5.0 of 5 bubbles 728 reviews
Inner City
Steigenberger Hotel Herrenhof Wien
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Inner City
Park Hyatt Vienna
Park Hyatt Vienna
#5 of 367 in Vienna
5.0 of 5 bubbles 888 reviews
Inner City
The Ritz-Carlton, Vienna
Neubau
Hotel Sans Souci Wien
Hotel Sans Souci Wien
#1 of 367 in Vienna
5.0 of 5 bubbles 1,271 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Sofitel Vienna Stephansdom? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sofitel Vienna Stephansdom

Property: Sofitel Vienna Stephansdom
Address: Praterstrasse 1 | Sofitel Vienna Stephansdom, Vienna 1020, Austria
Phone Number:
Region: Austria > Vienna Region > Vienna > Leopoldstadt
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#11 Business Hotel in Vienna
#11 Spa Hotel in Vienna
#17 Family Hotel in Vienna
#26 Luxury Hotel in Vienna
#28 Romantic Hotel in Vienna
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £££
Hotel Class:5 star — Sofitel Vienna Stephansdom 5*
Number of rooms: 182
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Within splendid view of its gothic namesake, St. Stephens Cathedral, the 5 star superior Sofitel Vienna Stephansdom is an emphatically 21st century structure. Echoing the hotel's sleek exteriors, the 182 monochromatic guest rooms, including 26 suites, are decorated in either immaculate white, cool grey or velvety black. On the mezzanine level the hotel offers a business center and a library. For distinctive business or celebratory events you can choose from 8 sun lit meeting rooms for up to 150 people. On the 5th floor guests can enjoy a relaxing massage in our So SPA or work out in our So FIT. Join the local crowd at Das LOFT, the Sofitel Vienna´s superbly stylish rooftop dining & bar retreat; a fete extraordinaire with fantastical interiors by Jean Nouvel and culinary arts from the imagination of Fabian Gunzel, our Chef de Cuisine. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Agoda, Prestigia, ACCOR, Odigeo, TravelUp and Southall Travel so you can book your Sofitel Vienna Stephansdom reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Sofitel Vienna Stephansdom Hotel Vienna

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing