We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Weekend at the Sofitel”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 13 more sites!
Sofitel Vienna Stephansdom
Ranked #30 of 360 Hotels in Vienna
Certificate of Excellence
Write a Review

2,025 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    1,380
    468
    130
    33
    14
See reviews for
277
991
118
368
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (266)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Hebrew first
  • Hungarian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Serbian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Telford, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
194 reviews
91 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 165 helpful votes
Reviewed 19 March 2014

This surely is a design focused hotel, unfortunately that has taken over from the comfort that a 5 star hotel needs to offer. Public areas are functional but not comfortable, yes the view from the 18th floor bar and restaurant is great but seating doesn't make you want to linger. Our room was meant to be a luxury room overlooking St Stephens cathedral, however, it was a side room where you could see the cathedral by straining your neck. Beds are great but that was let down as not everything in the room was functioning, some lighting not working, broken bathroom sliding door and marks on the only white wall, would it be too much to paint over these! Certainly not 5 star standards.

Room Tip: Be careful and don't accept a side room, avoid 1409
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank shrop
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Alexander M, Geschäftsführer at Sofitel Vienna Stephansdom, responded to this review, 12 May 2014
Dear guest,
Thank you very much for your feedback.
I am very sorry to read that the design by the architect Jean Nouvel was not at your taste and you didn’t feel comfortable.
Our technician and Housekeeping Manager have been informed about your comment and will take care of the issues you mentioned as this does not reflect our high standard of service and quality we want to offer to our guests.
We look forward to welcoming you back soon in order to provide you with a “magnifique” stay and a different room category.
Kind regards from Vienna,
Alexander Moj
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level 3 Contributor
17 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed 18 March 2014

I stay second time in Sofitel Vienna Stephansdom. This is one of the best hotels in the world from my experience. Perfect service, amazing rooms' design and perfect location. I will return back soon ....

  • Stayed March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Accorhotels.com

Helpful?
Thank Theodosis M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Alexander M, General Manager at Sofitel Vienna Stephansdom, responded to this review, 10 April 2014
Dear guest,
Thank you very much for your positive feedback. I will be more than happy to inform all our Ambassadors about your kind words.
We look forward to welcoming you back soon.
Kind regards from Vienna,
Alexander Moj
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Nijmegen, The Netherlands
Level 5 Contributor
45 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed 14 March 2014

The Sofitel Hotel is a perfect hotel, good service. Nice, clean, big rooms. Le Loft is a nice restaurant on top with excellent view, a real experience. When I go back to Vienna, I'll stay here.
THE place to stay in Vienna.

  • Stayed March 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Sofitel.com

Helpful?
Thank Frank K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Alexander M, General Manager at Sofitel Vienna Stephansdom, responded to this review, 10 April 2014
Dear guest,
Thank you very much for your positive feedback that I have forwarded to all our Ambassadors.
I hope to welcome you back soon.
Kind regards from Vienna,
Alexander Moj
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Auckland, New Zealand
Level 4 Contributor
25 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed 5 March 2014

There is nothing bad I can say about this hotel. I have traveled in over 60 countries and thesis my favourite hotel so far! The staff were amazing a friendly and nothing was too much trouble, the bell boys even brought us water and a towel after a run. The room was amazing and really large. The beds were luxurious with fabulous sheets and feather duvets. The nespresso machine in the room was great we had fruit juice and water for free in the room. The roof top bar and restaurant are fabulous, the views over Vienna are the best. Breakfast buffet was extensive and delicious.
The is a very well equipped fitness centre and they provided a running map for the local park.
The rooms had great views and were really quite, we didn't even notice our neighbours at all. We had a white room, apparently there is also black rooms, I did not look inside one of these by the white one was fab.
I did not use the spa but it looked lovely
I could rave forever.

Room Tip: Get as high as possible for the view. We had the twin room overlooking the Ferris wheel, the room mu...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank travelbug2013_74
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Alexander M, General Manager at Sofitel Vienna Stephansdom, responded to this review, 10 April 2014
Dear guest,
Thank you very much for your positive feedback.
It is my pleasure to forward your kind words to our Ambassadors, as this is the best motivation for them.
I am glad to read that you enjoyed your stay with us. We would be more than happy to show you our other room types upon your next stay with us.
I hope to welcome you back soon.
Kind regards from Vienna,
Alexander Moj
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bromley, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
47 reviews
35 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
Reviewed 26 February 2014 via mobile

Great hotel, very contemporary design (black and white game of colours). I would say this would be one of the flagships Sofitels located in cities.

18th floor coffee experience is the one to die for!

Please, say HELLO to Claudia G.

Stayed February 2014, travelled with family
Helpful?
2 Thank adrianandjoanna
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Alexander M, Geschäftsführer at Sofitel Vienna Stephansdom, responded to this review, 5 March 2014
Dear guest,
Thank you very much for your positive feedback.
It is my pleasure to forward your kind words to our Ambassadors and especially to Claudia, as this is the best motivation for them.
I am glad to read that you enjoyed your stay with us and our Le LOFT Bar on the top floor.
I hope to welcome you back soon.
Kind regards from Vienna,
Alexander Moj
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Vienna hotels
Inner City
Palais Hansen Kempinski Vienna
Inner City
The Guesthouse Vienna
The Guesthouse Vienna
#2 of 360 in Vienna
842 reviews
Inner City
Steigenberger Hotel Herrenhof Wien
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Neubau
Hotel Sans Souci Wien
Hotel Sans Souci Wien
#1 of 360 in Vienna
1,406 reviews
Inner City
The Ritz-Carlton, Vienna
Inner City
Park Hyatt Vienna
Park Hyatt Vienna
#8 of 360 in Vienna
1,039 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Sofitel Vienna Stephansdom? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sofitel Vienna Stephansdom

Property: Sofitel Vienna Stephansdom
Address: Praterstrasse 1 | Sofitel Vienna Stephansdom, Vienna 1020, Austria
Phone Number:
Region: Austria > Vienna Region > Vienna > Leopoldstadt
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#11 Business Hotel in Vienna
#11 Spa Hotel in Vienna
#17 Family Hotel in Vienna
#25 Luxury Hotel in Vienna
#28 Romantic Hotel in Vienna
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £££
Hotel Class:5 star — Sofitel Vienna Stephansdom 5*
Number of rooms: 182
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Within splendid view of its gothic namesake, St. Stephens Cathedral, the 5 star superior Sofitel Vienna Stephansdom is an emphatically 21st century structure. Echoing the hotel's sleek exteriors, the 182 monochromatic guest rooms, including 26 suites, are decorated in either immaculate white, cool grey or velvety black. On the mezzanine level the hotel offers a business center and a library. For distinctive business or celebratory events you can choose from 8 sun lit meeting rooms for up to 150 people. On the 5th floor guests can enjoy a relaxing massage in our So SPA or work out in our So FIT. Join the local crowd at Das LOFT, the Sofitel Vienna´s superbly stylish rooftop dining & bar retreat; a fete extraordinaire with fantastical interiors by Jean Nouvel and culinary arts from the imagination of Fabian Gunzel, our Chef de Cuisine. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, ACCOR, Priceline, Ebookers, Ctrip TA, Odigeo, TripOnline SA, Southall Travel, Agoda, 5viajes2012 S.L., getaroom.com, HotelQuickly, Evoline ltd and Cancelon so you can book your Sofitel Vienna Stephansdom reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Sofitel Vienna Stephansdom Hotel Vienna

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing