We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“My favourite hotel in Vienna”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 13 more sites!
Sofitel Vienna Stephansdom
Ranked #30 of 361 Hotels in Vienna
Certificate of Excellence
Goettingen, Germany
Level 5 Contributor
89 reviews
67 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 54 helpful votes
“My favourite hotel in Vienna”
Reviewed 4 April 2014

I know that perhaps my review comes a bit late, but even after a couple of weeks I'm still under big impression of that hotel. Beautifully designed, located almost in the city's heart - with very welcoming staff, comfortable rooms and great bathrooms - this shall be my Stammhotel in Vienna.

I'm not going to rate hotel's design - I personally like "cold" elegant interrios (my all-in-white room was great) - so if you are looking for an old Vienna charme, better book another place, but even if the place look like a business location, the staff is very friendly and very helpful (don't hesitate to ask the to find you and book a place where you can have crème brûlée just before midgnigt).

OK, perhaps if everything in the room is white, one can see all the spots and scratches, but with the great Prater's view, it's not a big deal. And talking about the view... One just have to go the top floor (I would advice to have a breakfast there - it's really magnifique)... Stunning panoramic view of the city! Oh, and if you feel like having coctails - the prices are just halfs of the prices you have at Sofitel Europe in Brüssels... and they are as good as in Belgium!).

I like the fitness area too. Honestly, book a room here. I surely will!

  • Stayed January 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank me_not_likey
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Alexander M, Geschäftsführer at Sofitel Vienna Stephansdom, responded to this review, 12 May 2014
Dear guest,
Thank you very much for your positive feedback. I will be more than happy to inform all our Ambassadors about your kind words.
Indeed, the material used is quite prone to traces of wear, especially in the white rooms. The Housekeeping team uses already special products for the crowns.
Our Chief Engineer is currently working on a plan to improve the state of the hotel rooms.
I am glad to read that you enjoyed your stay with us as well as the modern design.
We look forward to welcoming you back soon.
Kind regards from Vienna,
Alexander Moj
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

2,047 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    1,395
    473
    132
    33
    14
See reviews for
282
998
119
371
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (265)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Hebrew first
  • Hungarian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Serbian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Telford, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
202 reviews
94 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 167 helpful votes
Reviewed 19 March 2014

This surely is a design focused hotel, unfortunately that has taken over from the comfort that a 5 star hotel needs to offer. Public areas are functional but not comfortable, yes the view from the 18th floor bar and restaurant is great but seating doesn't make you want to linger. Our room was meant to be a luxury room overlooking St Stephens cathedral, however, it was a side room where you could see the cathedral by straining your neck. Beds are great but that was let down as not everything in the room was functioning, some lighting not working, broken bathroom sliding door and marks on the only white wall, would it be too much to paint over these! Certainly not 5 star standards.

Room Tip: Be careful and don't accept a side room, avoid 1409
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank shrop
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Alexander M, Geschäftsführer at Sofitel Vienna Stephansdom, responded to this review, 12 May 2014
Dear guest,
Thank you very much for your feedback.
I am very sorry to read that the design by the architect Jean Nouvel was not at your taste and you didn’t feel comfortable.
Our technician and Housekeeping Manager have been informed about your comment and will take care of the issues you mentioned as this does not reflect our high standard of service and quality we want to offer to our guests.
We look forward to welcoming you back soon in order to provide you with a “magnifique” stay and a different room category.
Kind regards from Vienna,
Alexander Moj
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level 3 Contributor
17 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed 18 March 2014

I stay second time in Sofitel Vienna Stephansdom. This is one of the best hotels in the world from my experience. Perfect service, amazing rooms' design and perfect location. I will return back soon ....

  • Stayed March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Accorhotels.com

Helpful?
Thank Theodosis M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Alexander M, General Manager at Sofitel Vienna Stephansdom, responded to this review, 10 April 2014
Dear guest,
Thank you very much for your positive feedback. I will be more than happy to inform all our Ambassadors about your kind words.
We look forward to welcoming you back soon.
Kind regards from Vienna,
Alexander Moj
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Nijmegen, The Netherlands
Level 5 Contributor
45 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed 14 March 2014

The Sofitel Hotel is a perfect hotel, good service. Nice, clean, big rooms. Le Loft is a nice restaurant on top with excellent view, a real experience. When I go back to Vienna, I'll stay here.
THE place to stay in Vienna.

  • Stayed March 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Sofitel.com

Helpful?
Thank Frank K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Alexander M, General Manager at Sofitel Vienna Stephansdom, responded to this review, 10 April 2014
Dear guest,
Thank you very much for your positive feedback that I have forwarded to all our Ambassadors.
I hope to welcome you back soon.
Kind regards from Vienna,
Alexander Moj
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Vienna hotels
Inner City
Palais Hansen Kempinski Vienna
Inner City
The Guesthouse Vienna
The Guesthouse Vienna
#8 of 361 in Vienna
865 reviews
Neubau
Hotel Sans Souci Wien
Hotel Sans Souci Wien
#1 of 361 in Vienna
1,444 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Serviten Quarter
Hilton Vienna Plaza
Hilton Vienna Plaza
#34 of 361 in Vienna
1,256 reviews
Inner City
The Ring, Relais & Chateaux
Inner City
Steigenberger Hotel Herrenhof Wien
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Sofitel Vienna Stephansdom? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sofitel Vienna Stephansdom

Property: Sofitel Vienna Stephansdom
Address: Praterstrasse 1 | Sofitel Vienna Stephansdom, Vienna 1020, Austria
Phone Number:
Region: Austria > Vienna Region > Vienna > Leopoldstadt
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#11 Business Hotel in Vienna
#11 Spa Hotel in Vienna
#17 Family Hotel in Vienna
#25 Luxury Hotel in Vienna
#28 Romantic Hotel in Vienna
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £££
Hotel Class:5 star — Sofitel Vienna Stephansdom 5*
Number of rooms: 182
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Within splendid view of its gothic namesake, St. Stephens Cathedral, the 5 star superior Sofitel Vienna Stephansdom is an emphatically 21st century structure. Echoing the hotel's sleek exteriors, the 182 monochromatic guest rooms, including 26 suites, are decorated in either immaculate white, cool grey or velvety black. On the mezzanine level the hotel offers a business center and a library. For distinctive business or celebratory events you can choose from 8 sun lit meeting rooms for up to 150 people. On the 5th floor guests can enjoy a relaxing massage in our So SPA or work out in our So FIT. Join the local crowd at Das LOFT, the Sofitel Vienna´s superbly stylish rooftop dining & bar retreat; a fete extraordinaire with fantastical interiors by Jean Nouvel and culinary arts from the imagination of Fabian Gunzel, our Chef de Cuisine. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Southall Travel, ACCOR, Hotels.com, Ebookers, HotelQuickly, Cancelon, getaroom.com and Evoline ltd so you can book your Sofitel Vienna Stephansdom reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Sofitel Vienna Stephansdom Hotel Vienna

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing