We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“nice weekend in Vienna”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Sofitel Vienna Stephansdom
Ranked #31 of 362 Hotels in Vienna
Certificate of Excellence
Write a Review

1,957 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    1,336
    450
    125
    33
    13
See reviews for
269
965
114
352
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (261)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Hebrew first
  • Hungarian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Serbian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Paris
Level Contributor
61 reviews
60 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 88 helpful votes
Reviewed 19 April 2014

The view that you get from this hotel is just fabulous. We were on the fourteenth floor with a magnificent view on Vienna and the cathedral. The restaurant has even a better overview and the experience there is unique especially in the evening when you see Vienna moving from day to night.

However, the design of the rooms is unpleasant. The colors and the furniture bring a cold, grey, sad atmosphere. You just do not feel comfortable without the traditional expected attributes of luxurious rooms. It takes time to find what you need and how it works. The bathroom is in the room with moving walls. No way to find how to completely close the toilet door. The seating (except in the bed) is not comfortable.

I recommend this hotel only as a unique experience.

Room Tip: Choose the view on the cathedral and of course a high floor
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Jean030
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Alexander M, Geschäftsführer at Sofitel Vienna Stephansdom, responded to this review, 15 May 2014
Dear guest,

Thank you very much for your feedback.

I am glad to read that you enjoyed the views from your room and the 18th floor.

However, I regret to read that the modern design did not reflect your taste of a luxury accommodation.

Indeed, it is a very minimalistic style without colored components as Jean Nouvel wishes that our guests can focus on the stunning views of Vienna without distraction.

We look forward to welcoming you back, maybe just for a visit to the top floor.

Kind regards from Vienna,

Alexander Moj
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Australia
Level Contributor
84 reviews
65 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 101 helpful votes
Reviewed 12 April 2014

Stayed for a night in a luxury room. The location was decent, a 10-15 min walk across the bridge to the centre of town. The hotel exterior was a modern mid rise skyscraper, unlike the historical buildings of its peers.

The interior was very modern and check in was efficiently handled. Im not a fan of the Accor group, they seem to be the only chain that segments their loyalty program into different regions, and my Asia-Pac AAP Plat card was totally ignored and awkwardly left on the table during check-in (i wasnt expecting anything but they normally record it for credit on F&B spend etc). Glad I didnt have to buy into that joke of a program as it was comped through Amex. SPG are far more generous to lower tiered members.

The room itself was large and painted almost entirely in grey, the furniture was rather austere and didn't give out the feeling of warmth or luxury. The floor was some sort of industrial plastic, which hadnt been cleaned very well (the recess above the bed was likely a little dirty) - the slippers sorted that out but it was a little disappointing. The furniture likewise was very Ikea - perfectly functional and decent but not exactly what you'd expect in a luxury hotel. The fabric of the lounge for example seemed to resemble rubber. The bathroom was large, grey and made of the same material as everything else in the room. The Hermes toiletries were very nice and a contrast to a sea of grey.

The bed was extremely comfortable, and the views of the Cathedral and the city were stunning, arguably the best of any hotel in Vienna. There was also a fridge with complimentary bottles of still/sparking water, soft drinks and juice. Wifi was free but the connection was bizarre, the signal would drop out completely as soon as you left the room. There was no turn down service, which is no big deal of course but at this price point somewhat unexpected.

There was a small gym with a few cardio machines but very few weight machines/free weights. They also had a jacuzzi and hammam (along with lounge chairs around the area) which was unique and pretty cool.

I inquired about a late checkout and was told that the hotel was quite full; after a minute or two of tapping away at the keyboard I was asked about the time of my flight, before finally being told that my checkout could not be extended even for an hour. I realise complimentary extensions are at the sole discretion of the hotel and subject to capacity constraints, but I cannot remember the last time a luxury hotel (or any other hotel to be honest) refused to grant an extra hour or two for checkout. The clerk then informed me in a rather patronising way that the hotel could do me a favor by holding my bags for me, and said this in such a manner as to be perfectly clear that they were doing me a huge favor. I found this extremely odd, but given he also asked about my flight when they had no rooms available it wasnt surprising.

I honestly dont see what the fuss is with this property, maybe my expectations were a little high having read other reviews, but if people honestly think this is the epitome of luxury hotels, they really should get out more. There's nothing wrong with hotel, but its just average at best when you compare it to its peers.

The views from the room and the bed were great (and some would happily stay here for these two points alone), as were the toiletries, but compared to where I stayed last time, the Le Meridien, the price premium wasnt justified. Save your money and stay somewhere else - unless you really want a view - which it does have. Or spend more and stay at a real luxury hotel.

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
6 Thank FatcatJunketeer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Alexander M, Geschäftsführer at Sofitel Vienna Stephansdom, responded to this review, 15 May 2014
Dear guest,

Thank you very much for your feedback.

I am very sorry to read that you did not enjoy the modern and minimalistic design of the hotel.

Furthermore, I would like to apologize for the inconveniences concerning your loyalty card.

I have forwarded your comment to our assistant front office manager in order to double check all regulations with his team.

I hope to be able to welcome you back in order to show you our actual high standard of service and quality and maybe meet for a drink in our Le LOFT bar where you can tell me about your impressions.

We look forward to welcoming you back soon.

Kind regards from Vienna,

Alexander Moj
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jerusalem, Israel
Level Contributor
71 reviews
38 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
Reviewed 10 April 2014

I came very early in the morning for a check in
as my room was not ready I received a complimentary drink took a massage by finishing it
the suitcase was brought to my room the receptionist brought me the key to the SPA
the room was big very clean and modern there is a bar at the 18th floor with spectacular bar good service and excellent drinks
breakfast is served there as well
run into this hotel you will love it!

Room Tip: higher floor
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank amirrachmaninov
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Alexander M, Geschäftsführer at Sofitel Vienna Stephansdom, responded to this review, 15 May 2014
Dear guest,

Thank you very much for your positive feedback.

It is my pleasure to forward your kind words, as this is the best motivation.

I am glad to read that you enjoyed our stay.

We look forward to welcoming you back soon.

Kind regards from Vienna,

Alexander Moj
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Zurich, Switzerland
Level Contributor
46 reviews
38 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
Reviewed 8 April 2014

I stayed here for a 2 day business meeting followed by a weekend to sightsee. What really stands out about this hotel from check in, all the way to checking back out, is the willingness and friendliness of the staff. They were helpful with all of my requests, did it with a smile, and even made some jokes along the way.
The rooms are really interesting and memorable, especially if you go from business to business hotel. Mine was all white with lots of mirrors which just made it a fun room. The tub was extra spacious. Bed was amazingly comfortable and I appreciated the extra little amenities like the free bottled water in the room and free access to the spa and fitness (both also fantastic).
Breakfast is a must at this hotel as it is on the top floor with magnificent views, not to mention very friendly and caring staff up there who do a great job at remember your order/ coffee preference day to day. By night, the bar on the top floor is great for some cocktails and nibbles.

Outside of the hotel- you are near to great shopping and attractions. No complaints here and I hope to return soon! This hotel makes most others look and feel like a dump.

  • Stayed February 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Passionfruit23
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Alexander M, Geschäftsführer at Sofitel Vienna Stephansdom, responded to this review, 15 May 2014
Dear guest,

Thank you very much for your positive feedback.

I will be more than happy to inform all our Ambassadors about your kind words.

I am glad to read that you enjoyed the hotel and our services.

We look forward to welcoming you back soon.

Kind regards from Vienna,

Alexander Moj
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Foster City, California
Level Contributor
9 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 8 April 2014

The Sofitel Vienna hotel is located in the heart of Vienna and still away from the crowded center. The service at the hotel is very welcoming and the room service is great. The breakfast restaurant at the top floor starts your day as an appreciated tourist with great views of the city.
My room was all white and I mean all white and that was scary at the beginning and lovely a minute later. Fabulous after 24 hours. Great hotel with great helpful staff at the concierge desk and front desk.

Room Tip: I asked for their best suggested room and I received a great room.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Yoram T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Alexander M, Geschäftsführer at Sofitel Vienna Stephansdom, responded to this review, 15 May 2014
Dear guest,

Thank you very much for your positive feedback.

I will be more than happy to inform all our Ambassadors about your kind words.

I am glad to read that the white room suited your taste.

We look forward to welcoming you back soon.

Kind regards from Vienna,

Alexander Moj
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Vienna hotels
Inner City
Steigenberger Hotel Herrenhof Wien
Inner City
Palais Hansen Kempinski Vienna
Inner City
The Guesthouse Vienna
The Guesthouse Vienna
#2 of 362 in Vienna
752 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Inner City
The Ring
The Ring
#28 of 362 in Vienna
950 reviews
Neubau
Hotel Sans Souci Wien
Hotel Sans Souci Wien
#1 of 362 in Vienna
1,300 reviews
Inner City
The Ritz-Carlton, Vienna
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Sofitel Vienna Stephansdom? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sofitel Vienna Stephansdom

Property: Sofitel Vienna Stephansdom
Address: Praterstrasse 1 | Sofitel Vienna Stephansdom, Vienna 1020, Austria
Phone Number:
Region: Austria > Vienna Region > Vienna > Leopoldstadt
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#11 Business Hotel in Vienna
#11 Spa Hotel in Vienna
#17 Family Hotel in Vienna
#26 Luxury Hotel in Vienna
#28 Romantic Hotel in Vienna
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £££
Hotel Class:5 star — Sofitel Vienna Stephansdom 5*
Number of rooms: 182
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Within splendid view of its gothic namesake, St. Stephens Cathedral, the 5 star superior Sofitel Vienna Stephansdom is an emphatically 21st century structure. Echoing the hotel's sleek exteriors, the 182 monochromatic guest rooms, including 26 suites, are decorated in either immaculate white, cool grey or velvety black. On the mezzanine level the hotel offers a business center and a library. For distinctive business or celebratory events you can choose from 8 sun lit meeting rooms for up to 150 people. On the 5th floor guests can enjoy a relaxing massage in our So SPA or work out in our So FIT. Join the local crowd at Das LOFT, the Sofitel Vienna´s superbly stylish rooftop dining & bar retreat; a fete extraordinaire with fantastical interiors by Jean Nouvel and culinary arts from the imagination of Fabian Gunzel, our Chef de Cuisine. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Ebookers, ACCOR, Hotels.com, Traveltool, S.L.U., TravelUp, Odigeo, Southall Travel, Agoda, TripOnline SA, Evoline ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your Sofitel Vienna Stephansdom reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Sofitel Vienna Stephansdom Hotel Vienna

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing