We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Long weekend stay” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Sofitel Vienna Stephansdom

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Sofitel Vienna Stephansdom
Ranked #31 of 367 Hotels in Vienna
Certificate of Excellence
Formby, England, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
46 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
“Long weekend stay”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 14 May 2014

Staff could not do enough for you, whether at reception or in the restaurant, very polite, answered all questions and were happy to give advice. The rooms are different to many of the hotels we have stayed at around the world but are very comfortable and relaxing.

The hotel location is a real plus, easy 10 min walk to the cathedral, 20 min walk to the Opera House. Plenty of restaurants within a 15 min walk, great pavement seating when the sun is shining which it did for three of our four days.

Access to the underground system is a few minutes from the hotel over the bridge, so easy access to the sites of Vienna that are a train ride away.

Make sure that you take advantage of the breakfast buffet served on the 18th floor - best views of Vienna around.

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Andrew G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Alexander M, Geschäftsführer at Sofitel Vienna Stephansdom, responded to this review, 22 May 2014
Dear guest,
Thank you very much for your positive feedback. I will be more than happy to inform all our Ambassadors about your kind words.
I am delighted to read that you had a great time in Vienna and were able to fully explore the city during your stay with us!
We look forward to welcoming you back soon.
Kind regards from Vienna,
Alexander Moj
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,923 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    1,312
    444
    123
    32
    12
See reviews for
258
952
111
349
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (259)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Hebrew first
  • Hungarian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Serbian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Varazdin, Croatia
Level Contributor
90 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 14 May 2014

We had an international scientific conference with the hotel and everithing was just fine and smooth. Delegates were satisfied with conference rooms and equipment as well as with catering. Very friendly and skilfull staff, best position and great atmosphere.

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled on business
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Marijan C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Alexander M, Geschäftsführer at Sofitel Vienna Stephansdom, responded to this review, 22 May 2014
Dear guest,
Thank you very much for your positive feedback. I will be more than happy to inform all our Ambassadors about your kind words.
I am delighted to read that you had a great conference in our hotel and that all your participants were satisfied!
We look forward to welcoming you back soon.
Kind regards from Vienna,
Alexander Moj
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Coral Springs, Florida
Level Contributor
40 reviews
29 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 9 May 2014

This is my first experience with the Sofitel Vienna Stephansdom and it will not be my last.

The location is first-rate. The staff are first-rate. The rooms are very spacious and the design is unusual but very efficient. Bedding and bathroom amenities were excellent.

The spa and fitness areas were beautifully appointed and contain the facilities to keep your mind and body fully rejuvenated after a busy day.

This is a beautiful, well-managed property and I will stay here whenever I'm in Vienna

Room Tip: Stay Here!
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, travelled on business
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank RobertStewartJA
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Alexander M, Geschäftsführer at Sofitel Vienna Stephansdom, responded to this review, 15 May 2014
Dear guest,

Thank you very much for your positive feedback.

It is my pleasure to forward your nice words to all ambassadors as this is the best motivation.

I am glad to read that you had a wonderful stay with us and enjoyed the SPA.

We look forward to welcoming you back.

Kind regards from Vienna,

Alexander Moj
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Paris, France
Level Contributor
32 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 47 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 3 May 2014

Very friendly and always welcoming staff. "Grey" rooms have the best view in town. Breakfast has very nice selection, restaurant food could have a bit bigger portions for the price (little above average quality of food).
The location is very good, close to everything in the city.

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled on business
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank wonder5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Alexander M, Geschäftsführer at Sofitel Vienna Stephansdom, responded to this review, 15 May 2014
Dear guest,

Thank you very much for your positive feedback.

It is my pleasure to forward your kind words to all Ambassadors, as this is the best motivation.

I am glad to read that you enjoyed your stay in one of our luxury rooms.

We look forward to welcoming you back.

Kind regards from Vienna,

Alexander Moj
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London
Level Contributor
72 reviews
33 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 50 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 1 May 2014 via mobile

It might just be the conservative Austrian way, the staff were first rate. Friendly without being familiar, polite without being stuffy. I genuinely can't even ask for something to be done better (except maybe the room service arriving 10 minutes early!)

  • Stayed April 2014
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Uuug
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Alexander M, Geschäftsführer at Sofitel Vienna Stephansdom, responded to this review, 15 May 2014
Dear guest,

Thank you very much for your positive feedback.

It is my pleasure to forward your kind words to all Ambassadors, as this is the best motivation.

I am glad to read that you enjoyed your stay with us.

We look forward to welcoming you back.

Kind regards from Vienna,

Alexander Moj
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
beirut
Level Contributor
55 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 29 April 2014

The location is perfect. At least for those who doesn't want to be in the middle of the center but just 10 minutes walk. We stayed in the suite I have chosen the black one. I like it, it is impressive, but it was too black. Only the nice books helped to add a luxury setting in the sitting area, but not very comfortable. but still I felt that there is something missing...
It is nice, spacious, but... Not as I expected.

Room Tip: Better to have your room at higher level to enjoy the best view of Vienna If you're travelling...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank nada00
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Alexander M, Geschäftsführer at Sofitel Vienna Stephansdom, responded to this review, 15 May 2014
Dear guest,

Thank you very much for your positive feedback.

It is my pleasure to forward your kind words to all Ambassadors, as this is the best motivation.

Thank you for your comment about the black suite. It is interesting to receive feedback concerning this room type.

Maybe a grey room with the view towards the city center would have fit better? It is our pleasure to show you the different types upon your next stay.

We look forward to welcoming you back.

Kind regards from Vienna,

Alexander Moj
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Vienna hotels
Inner City
Palais Hansen Kempinski Vienna
Inner City
The Guesthouse Vienna
The Guesthouse Vienna
#2 of 367 in Vienna
5.0 of 5 bubbles 728 reviews
Inner City
Steigenberger Hotel Herrenhof Wien
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Inner City
Park Hyatt Vienna
Park Hyatt Vienna
#4 of 367 in Vienna
5.0 of 5 bubbles 888 reviews
Inner City
The Ritz-Carlton, Vienna
Neubau
Hotel Sans Souci Wien
Hotel Sans Souci Wien
#1 of 367 in Vienna
5.0 of 5 bubbles 1,271 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Sofitel Vienna Stephansdom? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sofitel Vienna Stephansdom

Property: Sofitel Vienna Stephansdom
Address: Praterstrasse 1 | Sofitel Vienna Stephansdom, Vienna 1020, Austria
Phone Number:
Region: Austria > Vienna Region > Vienna > Leopoldstadt
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#11 Spa Hotel in Vienna
#11 Business Hotel in Vienna
#17 Family Hotel in Vienna
#26 Luxury Hotel in Vienna
#28 Romantic Hotel in Vienna
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £££
Hotel Class:5 star — Sofitel Vienna Stephansdom 5*
Number of rooms: 182
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Within splendid view of its gothic namesake, St. Stephens Cathedral, the 5 star superior Sofitel Vienna Stephansdom is an emphatically 21st century structure. Echoing the hotel's sleek exteriors, the 182 monochromatic guest rooms, including 26 suites, are decorated in either immaculate white, cool grey or velvety black. On the mezzanine level the hotel offers a business center and a library. For distinctive business or celebratory events you can choose from 8 sun lit meeting rooms for up to 150 people. On the 5th floor guests can enjoy a relaxing massage in our So SPA or work out in our So FIT. Join the local crowd at Das LOFT, the Sofitel Vienna´s superbly stylish rooftop dining & bar retreat; a fete extraordinaire with fantastical interiors by Jean Nouvel and culinary arts from the imagination of Fabian Gunzel, our Chef de Cuisine. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Prestigia, Agoda, Hotels.com, TravelUp, Odigeo, ACCOR and Southall Travel so you can book your Sofitel Vienna Stephansdom reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Sofitel Vienna Stephansdom Hotel Vienna

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing