We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Delightful Hotel with wonderful staff.”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 13 more sites!
Sofitel Vienna Stephansdom
Ranked #30 of 360 Hotels in Vienna
Certificate of Excellence
Perth, Australia
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Delightful Hotel with wonderful staff.”
Reviewed 22 June 2014

We stayed at this hotel in May and after travelling around Europe and thus staying in many hotels the Sofitel Vienna Stephansdom was definitely the absolute best.

My husband and I stayed in a grey room and we loved the decor - the room was scrupulously clean and very well configured.
The staff were excellent very helpful at all times and a special congratulations to the Concierge who was helpful "beyond the call of duty."
Being close to Restaurants, shopping and transport was also a big bonus.

We will be visiting Vienna again next year and will definitely be reserving a room at this Hotel.

Room Tip: We had friends staying in various rooms - so no particular preference.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank louise M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Alexander M, Geschäftsführer at Sofitel Vienna Stephansdom, responded to this review, 15 July 2014
Dear guest,
Thank you very much for your positive comment.
I am glad to read that you enjoyed your stay with us.
I hope to welcome you back soon.
Kind regards from Vienna,
Alexander Moj
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

2,045 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    1,393
    473
    132
    33
    14
See reviews for
281
998
119
371
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (265)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Hebrew first
  • Hungarian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Serbian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Brussels, Région De Bruxelles-Capitale, Belgium
Level 3 Contributor
22 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
Reviewed 20 June 2014

Just returned from Vienna where my team and I stayed at the Sofitel on the banks of the river Danube. Superb location and great weather helped make this an excellent week for us all.
We were particularly impressed with the hotel from the point of view of style and architecture - the rooms are excellently designed in a modular type format/mindset which makes them both spacious, very quiet and also very practical and fun.
The staff were very helpful and accomodating and apart from one mishap in the 18th Floor Bar where one of the staff was clearly not in the right job and was actually quite rude to quite a few customers (which the manager handled pretty well), it was a great success as a venue for a highly productive business meeting.
Easy access to restaurants every night, including the excellent Fabios.
All rooms were great, I stayed in 1515 and had amazing views of the city.
Only other less impressive point was the size of the gym which was quite small but well equipped.
Even better views from the 18th floor bar and breakfast/dining area.

Room Tip: 1515 was a great king size bed room with wonderful views of the city. Very quiet too.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Sandra M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Alexander M, Geschäftsführer at Sofitel Vienna Stephansdom, responded to this review, 23 June 2014
Dear guest,
Thank you very much for your positive comment.
I am glad to read that you and your team enjoyed your stay as well as a fantastic week in Vienna.
Your feedback will be forwarded to all Ambassadors, as this is the best motivation.
Thank you very much for your detailed impressions.
I hope to welcome you back soon.
Kind regards from Vienna,
Alexander Moj
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Melbourne, Australia
Level 5 Contributor
74 reviews
36 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 43 helpful votes
Reviewed 19 June 2014 via mobile

Stayed here for 3 nights in May in a standard room, it is a very strange hotel as it is all grey tones and no other colours which tends to make it a bit drab the room was enourmous and very clean with a seperate toilet. There is no curtains instead you pull across partitions which does make it very dark at night and very quiet. The Hotel is on the other side of the river to the old town but in easy walking distance to everything including a metro. This metro line will get you straight to the Summer palace and zoo without changing trains. Breakfast was okay but pricey. Nothing bad to say about this hotel but we probably wouldnt stay again because of the drab colour it did get a little boring after a couple of days.

Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank Kerriejh50
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Alexander M, Geschäftsführer at Sofitel Vienna Stephansdom, responded to this review, 23 June 2014
Dear guest,

Thank you very much for your positive comment.

Your feedback will be forwarded to all Ambassadors, as this is the best motivation.
I am sorry to read that you did not enjoy the room’s design.

Indeed, the hotel’s style is very minimalistic without colored components as the building’s architect, renowned French architect Jean Nouvel, wants that our guests can focus on the stunning views of Vienna without distraction.

Maybe a white room would be more of your taste. It would be our pleasure to show you the different room categories upon a future stay or visit.

I hope to welcome you back soon.
Kind regards from Vienna,
Alexander Moj
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Moscow, Russia
Level 4 Contributor
40 reviews
31 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 43 helpful votes
Reviewed 15 June 2014

Very modern, price to quality ratio is optimal. Very nice restaurant on the 18th floor, great views of the city, hotel staff was very helpful. Gym is small but they have everything you need. Overall very very good stay.

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank aleevskidm
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Alexander M, Geschäftsführer at Sofitel Vienna Stephansdom, responded to this review, 23 June 2014
Dear guest,
Thank you very much for your positive comment.
I am glad to read that you enjoyed your stay with us.
Your feedback will be forwarded to all Ambassadors, as this is the best motivation.
I hope to welcome you back soon.
Kind regards from Vienna,
Alexander Moj
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Zurich, Switzerland
Level 6 Contributor
454 reviews
126 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 295 helpful votes
Reviewed 12 June 2014

The Hotel is located a bit outside of the centre, 10 minutes walk to Stephansdom - but unfortunately the area is not really nice (if you walk towards the centre, you Need to cross the so called Bermuda Dreieck, an area with not so well groomed Folks...)

Very modern Hotel with cool design, nice Lobby and nice Restaurant at top floor.

Rooms also modern, good design and good size. What I liked less is the fact that the toilet is far from the open plan bathroom. Great views of the City from the room (ensure to get a room with City view).

Staff at breakfast very friendly and also at front desk all are friendly and helpful.

Breakfast buffet: good choice, good Quality. It can get sometimes crowded if you arrive around 9.00 am, then the buffet is a bit a battlefield, but still ok as they look after quite well.

All in all a good choice if you like modern design and don't mind Walking to the centre. Usually they have quite good rates, so for me the relation Quality - Price is very good.

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank TandTSwitzerland
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Alexander M, Geschäftsführer at Sofitel Vienna Stephansdom, responded to this review, 23 June 2014
Dear guest,
Thank you very much for your positive comment.
I am glad to read that you enjoyed your stay with us.
Your feedback will be forwarded to all Ambassadors, as this is the best motivation.
I regret that you walked through the “Bermuda Dreieck” at night times which can be very crowded as many bars are located there. It would be our pleasure to show you different ways to get to the city center via our concierge upon a future stay.
I hope to welcome you back soon.
Kind regards from Vienna,
Alexander Moj
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Gold Coast Australia
Level 5 Contributor
88 reviews
29 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 82 helpful votes
Reviewed 11 June 2014

SOFITEL VIENNA

Exceptional, 5 Star excellence. It would be difficult to find any dissatisfaction during our week-long stay with the hotel. Beautiful suite, top amenities, and of course the luxurious Sofitel “my bed”. Good staff are vital to success, and during our stay we found all personnel outstanding. I hope my restaurant criticism is read as an individual opinion, but we did dine at Le Loft and were disappointed. Yes, the view is spectacular, but I don’t think you can successfully trade on that alone. Food flavours were fine, but our plates were very, very disappointing, and the wine service not up to standard! Breakfast at Le Loft was different. A delightful start to the day; a very wide of choices, no sign of a “bain marie” which was rather nice, and the breakfast staff were delightful. Our stay in Vienna was most enjoyable, and Sofitel must take a lot of the credit.

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank HillaryR
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Alexander M, Geschäftsführer at Sofitel Vienna Stephansdom, responded to this review, 23 June 2014
Dear guest,
Thank you very much for your positive comment.
I am glad to read that you enjoyed your stay with us.
Your feedback will be forwarded to all Ambassadors, as this is the best motivation.
I regret your disappointment concerning the Le LOFT restaurant. I have forwarded your remark to our Head Chef as well as to the restaurant manager in order to review the issue, as feedback is very important to us.
I hope to welcome you back soon.
Kind regards from Vienna,
Alexander Moj
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Roswell, Georgia
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed 9 June 2014

The front desk staff went above and beyond helping us locate and retrieve our lost luggage from KLM airlines. They worked tirelessly for 48 hours and the bag has finally arrived. Besides that excellent service, the hotel is beautiful, the location great, the rooms are so comfortable, the rest of the staff pleasant and caring, and an added bonus is that I have not suffered from any of my normal allergies here. WONDERFUL HOTEL!!!

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank susan a
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Alexander M, Geschäftsführer at Sofitel Vienna Stephansdom, responded to this review, 23 June 2014
Dear guest,
Thank you very much for your very positive comment.
I am glad to read that you enjoyed your stay with us and that we could help you finding your lost luggage.
Your feedback will be forwarded to all Ambassadors, as this is the best motivation.
I hope to welcome you back soon.
Kind regards from Vienna,
Alexander Moj
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Vienna hotels
Inner City
Palais Hansen Kempinski Vienna
Inner City
The Guesthouse Vienna
The Guesthouse Vienna
#5 of 360 in Vienna
863 reviews
Neubau
Hotel Sans Souci Wien
Hotel Sans Souci Wien
#1 of 360 in Vienna
1,440 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Serviten Quarter
Hilton Vienna Plaza
Hilton Vienna Plaza
#36 of 360 in Vienna
1,248 reviews
Inner City
The Ring, Relais & Chateaux
Inner City
Steigenberger Hotel Herrenhof Wien
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Sofitel Vienna Stephansdom? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sofitel Vienna Stephansdom

Property: Sofitel Vienna Stephansdom
Address: Praterstrasse 1 | Sofitel Vienna Stephansdom, Vienna 1020, Austria
Phone Number:
Region: Austria > Vienna Region > Vienna > Leopoldstadt
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#11 Business Hotel in Vienna
#11 Spa Hotel in Vienna
#17 Family Hotel in Vienna
#25 Luxury Hotel in Vienna
#28 Romantic Hotel in Vienna
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £££
Hotel Class:5 star — Sofitel Vienna Stephansdom 5*
Number of rooms: 182
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Within splendid view of its gothic namesake, St. Stephens Cathedral, the 5 star superior Sofitel Vienna Stephansdom is an emphatically 21st century structure. Echoing the hotel's sleek exteriors, the 182 monochromatic guest rooms, including 26 suites, are decorated in either immaculate white, cool grey or velvety black. On the mezzanine level the hotel offers a business center and a library. For distinctive business or celebratory events you can choose from 8 sun lit meeting rooms for up to 150 people. On the 5th floor guests can enjoy a relaxing massage in our So SPA or work out in our So FIT. Join the local crowd at Das LOFT, the Sofitel Vienna´s superbly stylish rooftop dining & bar retreat; a fete extraordinaire with fantastical interiors by Jean Nouvel and culinary arts from the imagination of Fabian Gunzel, our Chef de Cuisine. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Southall Travel, Hotels.com, Agoda, Odigeo, ACCOR, Ebookers, Cancelon, HotelQuickly, getaroom.com and Evoline ltd so you can book your Sofitel Vienna Stephansdom reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Sofitel Vienna Stephansdom Hotel Vienna

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing