We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A fantastic hotel!”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Sofitel Vienna Stephansdom
Ranked #31 of 362 Hotels in Vienna
Certificate of Excellence
Nicosia, Cyprus
Level Contributor
18 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“A fantastic hotel!”
Reviewed 30 June 2014

Perfectly located, excellent service, outstanding design! The view from the 18th floor bar (and bf area) is breathtaking. Would definitely recommend to anyone visiting Vienna. I would say the SPA is pretty average, but then again I haven't been to many city center hotels with great SPAs.

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Constantinos C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Alexander M, Geschäftsführer at Sofitel Vienna Stephansdom, responded to this review, 15 July 2014
Dear guest,
Thank you very much for your positive feedback.
I am glad to read that you enjoyed your stay with us.
It is my pleasure to forward your kind words about our Ambassadors as this is the best motivation.
I have forwarded your comment also to the SPA as we always strive to improve our quality of service.
I hope to welcome you back soon.
Kind regards from Vienna,
Alexander Moj
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,958 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    1,337
    450
    125
    33
    13
See reviews for
269
965
114
352
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (261)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Hebrew first
  • Hungarian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Serbian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Southlake, Texas
Level Contributor
227 reviews
43 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 285 helpful votes
Reviewed 29 June 2014

THE PROPERTY:

A striking building, facade and interior in a property immediately adjacent to and overlooking the Danube Canal (this is a branch of the river running thru Vienna). Very modern decor throughout - and, largely a palette of black, grey and white.

In the Lobby, elevator bays and restaurant black predominates. The top floor restaurant, The Loft, is gorgeous - with stunning view over Vienna (including First District / Innere Stadt, Stephnasdom, City hall, etc. in the near distance) making it ideal for sunset into evening.


THE ROOM:

As noted, very modern decor, style. The Black Suite had nice view of canal, Stephansdom. The predominate color in this room was black - walls, sliding panels that cover windows (no curtains) - with white solid surface floor and headboard. The small windows, color palette and the lighting (sparse), do make the room a bit gloomy though the design is beautiful. The lights are dim-able at the switch - which is nice for ambiance.

Bed and bedding were outstanding - very plush, very comfortable, and ample. Hermes sundries were quite nice. Bath well appointed with shower and separate tub. The WC sits across the room in separate closet with its own wash basin - a nice touch. The bath is separated from the bed by "Shoji" style screens - again, nice modern touch, and when opened added to general spaciousness of the room.

The room was extremely quiet with respect to hall and adjacent rooms - though hard floors made some steps of children in room above audible - minor though , as overall the hotel is extremely quiet, peaceful. WiFi was pricey (24EU day for hi-speed) and signal varied.

Entertainment options over TV was very limited with respect to English Language choices - with only CNN, CNBC Eu, BBC. Other options are pay only - including limited selection of HD TV (e.g., single episodes of, e.g., Top Gear, with only 20 or so available), movies (again, limited, with sleciton comparable to business class choices on KLM or Delta), some news and sports feeds. An "all inclusive" Entertainment package for movies, HD TV, etc. was 50EU / 24 hour period. So, "meh." The room was well sized, appointed, and the decor is beautiful - but just on edge of form over function in some aspects. Could be a matter of taste - and if you are less inclined towards modern aesthetic, you could find a bit gloomy, spare or precious. That said, again, a lovely and well appointed room.


THE FOOD:

Le Loft - This top-floor restaurant, in the Sofitel Stephansdom in Vienna Austria, is simply outstanding - I think destination dining in Vienna. The decor is stunning - and the view, through huge windows across the city, is not to be missed. Beautiful abstract lighted ceiling fixture (see pic). Low ambient / chill / smooth jazz style music. Very nice ambiance. So... even if you are not staying at the Sofitel, I would strongly recommend this restaurant for nice dinner, especially for a special and/or romantic dinner. See my separate review for Le Loft also for more & pics. Restaurant is very recommended - arguably best aspect of property and well worth dinner even if staying elsewhere.

Room Service - Tried the Goulash starter and Wiener Schnitzel (Viennese schnitzel). The schnitzel was very good, though Plachutta easily beat. The goulash was quite good - very well seasoned, nice taste of wine reduction in sauce - excellent, and found myself craving for late meals after work ;) Service on all occasions for in-room dining was extremely fast and very friendly irrespective of hour or request. Excellent.


THE STAFF:

Uniformly excellent. From bell, to front desk (check in), to in room dining, to laundry, to the excellent Le Loft - the team here was polished, professional, friendly, accommodating.


THE AREA:

Nearby on canal are Motto am Fluss (very nice restaurant overlooking canal) and City Beach - relaxed place to sit in sand along canal and have drinks, beer. The Innere Stadt / First District and Museumsquartier is a bit further afield versus some other well known properties - but definitely walkable distance of, say, 10 to 15 minutes depending on your pace. And the views and proximity to canal and hipper 2nd make it great location. There is a taxi queue immediately in front of hotel as well and tram just across canal - so transport anywhere very accessible. Car service to airport in morning was no more than 30 minutes.


THE PRACTICALITIES:

Room was approx US$450 / night.


THE VERDICT:

Very good, modern hotel in Vienna. Recommended.

Room Tip: Request high floor room with view of Stephansdom.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Dave_from_MN
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Alexander M, Geschäftsführer at Sofitel Vienna Stephansdom, responded to this review, 15 July 2014
Dear guest,
Thank you very much for your very positive and detailed comment.
I am glad to read that you enjoyed your stay with us.
It is my pleasure to forward your kind words about our Ambassadors as this is the best motivation.
I hope to welcome you back soon.
Kind regards from Vienna,
Alexander Moj
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Great Missenden, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed 28 June 2014

Great hotel with good location close to city centre. Staff were particularly accommodating in making your stay as pleasant as possible. Fantastic view from the bar/restaurant and the cuisine is very good indeed. The room is very clever in its lay out and use of space. Would definitely be happy to stay at this hotel again. On check-out they brought the car to the front with my luggage loaded. In the front cubby hole in the dash of the car they had left a bag of candy, two bottles of mineral water for the trip and a hand-written note thanking me for choosing to stay with them for the week. Sums up their attention to detail and level of service, enough said.

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Alex L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Alexander M, Geschäftsführer at Sofitel Vienna Stephansdom, responded to this review, 15 July 2014
Dear guest,
Thank you very much for your positive comment.
I am glad to read that you enjoyed your stay with us.
It is my pleasure to forward your kind words about our Ambassadors as this is the best motivation.
I am delighted that you enjoyed the attention for your departure by our bellboys.
I hope to welcome you back soon.
Kind regards from Vienna,
Alexander Moj
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Scottsdale, Arizona
Level Contributor
42 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
Reviewed 28 June 2014

A very clean room with an extremely comfortable bed and helpful service made this a come back to hotel. The location could not be better for wandering Vienna. The staff is attentive, helpful and unobtrusive. We were delighted with our stay.

Room Tip: Just ask. Vie had a lovely view of Vienna
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Barryejohnson100
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Alexander M, Geschäftsführer at Sofitel Vienna Stephansdom, responded to this review, 15 July 2014
Dear guest,
Thank you very much for your positive feedback.
I am glad to read that you enjoyed your stay with us.
It is my pleasure to forward your kind words about our Ambassadors as this is the best motivation.
I hope to welcome you back soon.
Kind regards from Vienna,
Alexander Moj
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
St. Petersburg, Russia
Level Contributor
152 reviews
52 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 86 helpful votes
Reviewed 24 June 2014

We stayed at this hotel in June,we stayed at 9th floor in grey room.The room was only grey colors ,and not other colors, it is a very strange but very modern,not separate bathroom,this is not comfortable if you traveling with children 14-15years old. Price to quality ratio is optimal.Very nice a restaurant on the 18th floor,great views of the old city,wonderful breakfast !!!!!Hotelstaff was very helpful and very friendly,always smiling,greeting ,amazing service,thank a lot for Wolfgang Wagner !we really lowed this hotel!!Spa was very high quality,very nice!!!

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Natalia M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Alexander M, Geschäftsführer at Sofitel Vienna Stephansdom, responded to this review, 15 July 2014
Dear guest,
Thank you very much for your positive comment.
I am glad to read that you enjoyed your stay with us.
It is my pleasure to forward your kind words, especially to Wolfgang our concierge as this is the best motivation.
I hope to welcome you back soon.
Kind regards from Vienna,
Alexander Moj
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Wassenaar
Level Contributor
21 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
Reviewed 23 June 2014

The Doors to the rooms open and close gently. No sound can panitrate in to the room from the other neighbouring rooms. Chamber Maids are almost stelth. You can not see them working or pushing their trolies . You can not hear them chatting with each other in the corridors. Carpetted corridors dampen any kind of foot steps. This hotel is extreemly clean,crisp and top shape. The design of the hotel is ultra modern. The staff are very kind and helpfull. The breakfast ls served on the 18th floor over looking all 4 directions of Vienna behind the panoromic glass windows.
The breakfast is very genourous and full of variety.
I stay in Hotels approximately 24-30 times a year all over the world. And I rarely felt so happy like I did in Sofitel in Vienna. My husband agrees with me as well as our friends who stayed at the same time as we did. Well done Sofitel Vienna. We adore you. Mrs. N Boogaerdt

Room Tip: I am sure all the rooms are as good as mine. Quiete, Light and cooled to the perfection.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank johnboog
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Alexander M, Geschäftsführer at Sofitel Vienna Stephansdom, responded to this review, 15 July 2014
Dear Mrs. Boogaerdt,
Thank you very much for your positive comment.
I am glad to read that you enjoyed your stay with us.
Thank you for your very detailed explanations and observations which describes our hotel perfectly.
I hope to welcome you back soon.
Kind regards from Vienna,
Alexander Moj
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Laguna Niguel, California
Level Contributor
15 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed 22 June 2014

We stayed here 2 nights in June and it is a beautiful hotel. The staff was wonderful. Their gym and spa area were top notch. The reason for 4 stars is for two reasons. First the all white and glass room was a little much. We should have changed to the black room. The other is because of the price of the breakfast buffet. It was a bit pricey for what was offered. I would go back but skip the breakfast and request a different room.

  • Stayed July 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Christine042058
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Alexander M, Geschäftsführer at Sofitel Vienna Stephansdom, responded to this review, 15 July 2014
Dear guest,
Thank you very much for your positive feedback.
I am glad to read that you enjoyed your stay with us.
It would be our pleasure to show you our grey rooms with the view to the St. Stephen cathedral upon a future stay.
I hope to welcome you back soon.
Kind regards from Vienna,
Alexander Moj
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Vienna hotels
Inner City
Steigenberger Hotel Herrenhof Wien
Inner City
Palais Hansen Kempinski Vienna
Inner City
The Guesthouse Vienna
The Guesthouse Vienna
#2 of 362 in Vienna
752 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Inner City
The Ring
The Ring
#28 of 362 in Vienna
950 reviews
Inner City
The Ritz-Carlton, Vienna
Neubau
Hotel Sans Souci Wien
Hotel Sans Souci Wien
#1 of 362 in Vienna
1,301 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Sofitel Vienna Stephansdom? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sofitel Vienna Stephansdom

Property: Sofitel Vienna Stephansdom
Address: Praterstrasse 1 | Sofitel Vienna Stephansdom, Vienna 1020, Austria
Phone Number:
Region: Austria > Vienna Region > Vienna > Leopoldstadt
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#11 Spa Hotel in Vienna
#11 Business Hotel in Vienna
#17 Family Hotel in Vienna
#26 Luxury Hotel in Vienna
#28 Romantic Hotel in Vienna
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £££
Hotel Class:5 star — Sofitel Vienna Stephansdom 5*
Number of rooms: 182
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Within splendid view of its gothic namesake, St. Stephens Cathedral, the 5 star superior Sofitel Vienna Stephansdom is an emphatically 21st century structure. Echoing the hotel's sleek exteriors, the 182 monochromatic guest rooms, including 26 suites, are decorated in either immaculate white, cool grey or velvety black. On the mezzanine level the hotel offers a business center and a library. For distinctive business or celebratory events you can choose from 8 sun lit meeting rooms for up to 150 people. On the 5th floor guests can enjoy a relaxing massage in our So SPA or work out in our So FIT. Join the local crowd at Das LOFT, the Sofitel Vienna´s superbly stylish rooftop dining & bar retreat; a fete extraordinaire with fantastical interiors by Jean Nouvel and culinary arts from the imagination of Fabian Gunzel, our Chef de Cuisine. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Southall Travel, Ebookers, Agoda, Hotels.com, ACCOR, Traveltool, S.L.U., Odigeo, TravelUp, TripOnline SA, Evoline ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your Sofitel Vienna Stephansdom reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Sofitel Vienna Stephansdom Hotel Vienna

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing