We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Splendid and pampered”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Sofitel Vienna Stephansdom
Ranked #30 of 362 Hotels in Vienna
Certificate of Excellence
Bielefeld, Germany
Level Contributor
22 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Splendid and pampered”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 14 July 2014

I'm very satisfied and contented with all the services they offered in this luxury hotel in the heart of Vienna. Especially the staffs in the breakfast hall. Quick, informative and very friendly. Very recommended if you visit Vienna someday. choose your best room the view right to Stephansdom.

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Adriaji
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Alexander M, Geschäftsführer at Sofitel Vienna Stephansdom, responded to this review, 22 July 2014
Dear guest,
Thank you very much for your positive comment.
I am glad to read that you enjoyed your stay with us.
It is my pleasure to forward your kind words to all Ambasadors and especially to our breakfast staff.
I hope to welcome you back soon.
Kind regards from Vienna,
Alexander Moj
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,958 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    1,337
    450
    125
    33
    13
See reviews for
269
965
114
352
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (261)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Hebrew first
  • Hungarian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Serbian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Stockholm, Sweden
Level Contributor
13 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 14 July 2014

Sofitel is stylish everywhere, but in Vienna it si so modern and minimalistic! Last time I stayed there it was in an all together white room, this time it was a room in grey - even the view was grey since it was raining :-). The furnishing is modern, smart and trendy, the staff freindly and discreet. I love Sofitel.

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Sofitel.com

Helpful?
1 Thank Ann Sofi A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Alexander M, Geschäftsführer at Sofitel Vienna Stephansdom, responded to this review, 22 July 2014
Dear guest,
Thank you very much for your positive comment concerning the Sofitel Vienna Stephansdom and all other Sofitels you have visited.
I am glad to read that you again enjoyed your stay with us.
Now only a black or black/white room is missing and I hope to welcome you back soon for this experience.
Kind regards from Vienna,
Alexander Moj
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 14 July 2014

Dandy and trendy hotel with great view - you can see all the vienna in the window of the room. Also, being located close to the main signt seeing places, you can walk to many places including Stephandom.

Room Tip: in the room with river view, you can see main points of vienna.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank vonvoyage1982
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Alexander M, Geschäftsführer at Sofitel Vienna Stephansdom, responded to this review, 22 July 2014
Dear guest,
Thank you for your nice comment about the Hotel.
I am glad to read that you enjoyed your stay with us.
It is my pleasure to forward your feedback to all Ambassadors.
I hope to welcome you back soon.
Kind regards from Vienna,
Alexander Moj
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Surrey
Level Contributor
40 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 11 July 2014

Arriving by car it is easy to find, excellent position on the Danube canal and just away from the tourist sightseeing groups. Wonderful white bedrooms with views. Lovely staff. Ask for canal view room.

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Accorhotels.com

Helpful?
1 Thank ScarlettSurrey
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Alexander M, Geschäftsführer at Sofitel Vienna Stephansdom, responded to this review, 15 July 2014
Dear guest,
Thank you very much for your positive feedback.
I am glad to read that you enjoyed your stay with us.
It is my pleasure to forward your kind words to all ambassadors as this is the best motivation.
I hope to welcome you back soon.
Kind regards from Vienna,
Alexander Moj
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Chicago, Illinois
Level Contributor
57 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 69 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 11 July 2014

First the good. This was nice hotel, very clean, centrally located along the canal in Vienna, with a friendly multilingual staff.

Our premier suite was very large, including a separate half bath in the living room. However it would best be described as from a science fiction movie, or perhaps an extremely luxurious prison cell. I suppose it is a matter of taste, but my wife and I lean towards simple/modern design.. this would be better described as spartan or extreme minimalist. Solid grey concrete walls, floors and ceilings. Not a single rug or piece of artwork, making for extremely cold and uncomfortable floors to walk in in bare feet.

But what really let us down was the dining options. For a chain that presents itself as committed to healthy dining options, we were disappointed to find so few fresh vegetables to choose from and we were flat refused to be served vegetables from their late night menu. While I may understand a limited menu, to have ZERO vegetable options at this hour is inexcusable. We even asked if we could just get a plate of RAW vegetables and were told no... which was comically stupid as the salads we ordered instead came with a small scoop of fresh vegetables on top.

This is still a nice hotel. And if you don't mind walking on concrete floors or eating a vegetable rich diet you will likely enjoy it very much.

Room Tip: Definitely face south towards the canal, we had a fantastic view and good natural sunlight throughou...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank 773captain
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Alexander M, Geschäftsführer at Sofitel Vienna Stephansdom, responded to this review, 15 July 2014
Dear guest,
Thank you very much for your comment.
I am glad to read that you overall enjoyed your stay with us.
I regret the inconveniences you experienced with our dining service. We are currently in the process of changing all menus and creating a new concept, therefore your comment is very important to us.
All managers in charge have been informed about your remarks and we hope that you will be able to see the differences upon a future stay.
I hope to welcome you back soon.
Kind regards from Vienna,
Alexander Moj
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bucharest, Romania
Level Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 10 July 2014

The hotel is very well placed, within a short walking distance of Stephan's Church, the Opera and the nice busy streets in the area - plenty of restaurants, cafes and shopping opportunities. The design of the hotel is indeed outstanding but maybe a bit too modern for me. The lobby is very nice but I believe the black carpet makes the life of the service staff miserable, you cannot have a clean black carpet in the lobby of a hotel! The corridors to the rooms were very dark and when I opened the door to my room I was a bit shocked, everything except for the screen of the TV was white!!! Interesting but on second day I noticed that you cannot maintain everything spotless white in a hotel room either.
The setback I encountered was the room cleaning - on 2nd day after my arrival I left the room at 07.30 and returned at 16.30 and the room was not cleaned. The cleaning lady appeared exactly when I was taking a shower and I asked her to return later. She did. On third day, I returned at 15.30, the room was not cleaned. I was taking a nap, with the No Disturb sign on, when at 14:30 hrs the Reception called to ask whether the lady can come to clean the room.... I said yes, but after 17.30 hrs. Nobody came. So the room was not cleaned for 2 of the 3 days I was there and in a complete white room this can be really noticeable... no replenishment of water, juices or coffee pads and no taking out of the garbage either....

Room Tip: Ask for the cleaning lady to come each day, preferably before afternoon.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank 714Cristina
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Alexander M, Geschäftsführer at Sofitel Vienna Stephansdom, responded to this review, 15 July 2014
Dear guest,
Thank you very much for your comment.
I am glad to read that you overall enjoyed your stay with us.
I regret the inconveniences you experienced with housekeeping. Our housekeeping Manager has been informed directly in order to check the happenings, as this does not reflect our high standard of quality and service.
Besides, we are aware of the sensitive materials used and our engineering department is constantly working on finding the best care possible.
I hope to welcome you back soon.
Kind regards from Vienna,
Alexander Moj
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Perth
Level Contributor
7 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 9 July 2014

This is a great hotel with very helpful staff. The view out my hotel room overlooked the St Stephansdom. The top floor bar / restaurant is a must see & experience. Close to the Danube canal to run/walk along in the morning or evening. Great casual bars along the canal as well in summer.

Room Tip: Choose a room overlooking the St Stephansdom
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Ian M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Alexander M, Geschäftsführer at Sofitel Vienna Stephansdom, responded to this review, 15 July 2014
Dear guest,
Thank you very much for your positive feedback.
I am glad to read that you enjoyed your stay in one of our Junior Suites.
It is my pleasure to forward your kind words to all ambassadors as this is the best motivation.
I hope to welcome you back soon.
Kind regards from Vienna,
Alexander Moj
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Vienna hotels
Inner City
Steigenberger Hotel Herrenhof Wien
Inner City
Palais Hansen Kempinski Vienna
Inner City
The Guesthouse Vienna
The Guesthouse Vienna
#2 of 362 in Vienna
5.0 of 5 bubbles 754 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Inner City
The Ring Hotel
The Ring Hotel
#28 of 362 in Vienna
4.5 of 5 bubbles 950 reviews
Inner City
The Ritz-Carlton, Vienna
Neubau
Hotel Sans Souci Wien
Hotel Sans Souci Wien
#1 of 362 in Vienna
5.0 of 5 bubbles 1,303 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Sofitel Vienna Stephansdom? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sofitel Vienna Stephansdom

Property: Sofitel Vienna Stephansdom
Address: Praterstrasse 1 | Sofitel Vienna Stephansdom, Vienna 1020, Austria
Phone Number:
Region: Austria > Vienna Region > Vienna > Leopoldstadt
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#10 Spa Hotel in Vienna
#11 Business Hotel in Vienna
#17 Family Hotel in Vienna
#25 Luxury Hotel in Vienna
#28 Romantic Hotel in Vienna
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £££
Hotel Class:5 star — Sofitel Vienna Stephansdom 5*
Number of rooms: 182
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Within splendid view of its gothic namesake, St. Stephens Cathedral, the 5 star superior Sofitel Vienna Stephansdom is an emphatically 21st century structure. Echoing the hotel's sleek exteriors, the 182 monochromatic guest rooms, including 26 suites, are decorated in either immaculate white, cool grey or velvety black. On the mezzanine level the hotel offers a business center and a library. For distinctive business or celebratory events you can choose from 8 sun lit meeting rooms for up to 150 people. On the 5th floor guests can enjoy a relaxing massage in our So SPA or work out in our So FIT. Join the local crowd at Das LOFT, the Sofitel Vienna´s superbly stylish rooftop dining & bar retreat; a fete extraordinaire with fantastical interiors by Jean Nouvel and culinary arts from the imagination of Fabian Gunzel, our Chef de Cuisine. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Ebookers, Hotel.de, Booking.com, ACCOR, Hotels.com, Traveltool, S.L.U., Odigeo, Agoda, TravelUp, Southall Travel, Evoline ltd, TripOnline SA and HotelQuickly so you can book your Sofitel Vienna Stephansdom reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Sofitel Vienna Stephansdom Hotel Vienna

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing