We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Exceptional service”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Sofitel Vienna Stephansdom
Ranked #29 of 362 Hotels in Vienna
Certificate of Excellence
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Exceptional service”
Reviewed 29 August 2014 via mobile

Currently staying at the Sofitel Vienna, got to say that everything is exceptional. The service we received is the same as at the Ritz. Breakfast was amazing, friendly staff and amazing food and exotic fruits.

  • Stayed August 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Anh68
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Alexander M, Geschäftsführer at Sofitel Vienna Stephansdom, responded to this review, 22 September 2014
Dear guest,
Thank you for your positive comment about the Hotel.
I am glad to read that you enjoyed your stay with us mostly because of our service.
It is my pleasure to forward your feedback to all Ambassadors, as this is the best motivation.
I hope to welcome you back soon.
Kind regards from Vienna,
Alexander Moj
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,982 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    1,353
    457
    126
    33
    13
See reviews for
270
972
115
363
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (262)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Hebrew first
  • Hungarian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Serbian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Aventura, Florida
Level Contributor
267 reviews
44 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 61 helpful votes
Reviewed 28 August 2014

We appreciated all of the modern design elements that make up this stunning property during our five nights stay. I will say, however, that I think it may have been too modern for me as I did not get the warm and cozy feeling that I get in hotels with carpet, drapes and upholstered chairs, etc. This is just my taste - I don't want to take anything way from the hotel. I knew before I booked the hotel what it was and wanted to try something new. If you are in to modern design, I am sure you will love the experience.

The staff was absolutely amazing. We were warmly greeted by name every time we came down to the lobby or returned from an outing. They would ask where we had been and how we enjoyed the experience and offer suggestions about other places we might like to visit or have dinner. They really made us feel like they valued our business and wanted us to get the most out of our visit to Vienna.

We had breakfast every morning in the restaurant on the top floor - don't know which was better - the views, the food or the service. Nice buffet selection and appreciate the fact that you can order from the menu if you want an omelette, pancakes, waffles or something else to order.

Room Tip: We had Room 1202 which had a nice city view that included the ferris wheel. I don't think there...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Smarkow314
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Alexander M, Geschäftsführer at Sofitel Vienna Stephansdom, responded to this review, 22 September 2014
Dear guest,
Thank you for your positive comment about the hotel.
I am glad to read that you enjoyed your stay with us mostly because of our service even though you are not used to a modern design.
It is my pleasure to forward your feedback to all Ambassadors, as this is the best motivation.
I hope to welcome you back soon.
Kind regards from Vienna,
Alexander Moj
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Granite Bay, California
Level Contributor
15 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 27 August 2014

I wasn't sure what to expect when I booked this hotel. I was not on vacation and had limited time so I wanted something fairly close to the airport as well as the city center so I could walk around and see the sights.

From the time I arrived at the hotel I knew this was going to be special. Two doormen were there to open our car doors. I explained I was planning to return the car to Hertz that night so I would have to worry about it the next day. He offered to call Hertz and have them come pick up the car for me. What a relief! The service I received from the staff was similar throughout my stay. They acknowledged me by name, wished me well, offered their services; it was incredible.

Our room was all white - a bit of a shock but very pleasant. We had amazing views of Vienna and the bed provided the best night's sleep I had had in over two weeks. It was very comfortable.

The restaurant upstairs is not to be missed! The view. The food. The service. All were incredible. Special kudos to our server, Martin and to our sommelier Matthias. They made our evening absolutely incredible!

I would rank this hotel (with its service) as one of the best I have stayed in and would highly recommend it. I will definitely be back!

Room Tip: Rooms are either all white, all black, or all gray. Decide in advance which color you want to live...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Wayne K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Alexander M, Geschäftsführer at Sofitel Vienna Stephansdom, responded to this review, 22 September 2014
Dear guest,
Thank you for your positive comment about the hotel.
I am glad to read that you enjoyed your stay with us.
It is my pleasure to forward your feedback to all Ambassadors and especially to Martin and Matthias from the Le LOFT restaurant.
Thank you very much for your recommendation and I hope to welcome you back soon.
Kind regards from Vienna,
Alexander Moj
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Park City, Utah
Level Contributor
14 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
Reviewed 23 August 2014

The Sofitel in Vienna is a beautiful, modern property with breathtaking views of the city. This property boasts excellent service throughout the entire property, and a delicious breakfast buffet which includes an omelet each morning. The bell staff is great and very knowledgeable of the area. Alex assisted us with getting our luggage to and from our room, and also recommended a delicious restaurant right around the corner from the hotel. The spa is fantastic too, and the sauna overlooks Vienna and the river below. After staying at this hotel I am definitely looking forward to my next Sofitel visit.

Stayed April 2014, travelled with family
Helpful?
Thank Brett G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Alexander M, Geschäftsführer at Sofitel Vienna Stephansdom, responded to this review, 22 September 2014
Dear guest,
Thank you for your positive comment about the Hotel.
I am glad to read that you enjoyed your stay with us.
It is my pleasure to forward your feedback to all Ambassadors and especially to Alexander our bellboy.
I wish you a “magnifique” stay for one of your next Sofitel visits and we hope to welcome you back soon.
Kind regards from Vienna,
Alexander Moj
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
18 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed 20 August 2014

The people make all the difference. From the door man to housekeeping to concierge, everyone was so hospitable and smiling. Instead of throwing alcohol in a mini bar, they stocked it up with Complimentary water and juices. We stayed in the gray room, there are only three themes, grey, black or white. It may seem like it takes a day or so so to get accustomed to this modern architectural style but then you start loving it. Rooftop restaurent is a must even if you go there for just a desert. Very close to innerstard.

  • Stayed August 2014, travelled with family
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Altaf B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Alexander M, Geschäftsführer at Sofitel Vienna Stephansdom, responded to this review, 26 August 2014
Dear guest,

Thank you for your positive comment about the Hotel.
I am glad to read that you enjoyed your stay with us and loved the modern style of the building created by Jean Nouvel.
It is my pleasure to forward your kind feedback to all Ambassadors, as this is the best motivation.
We hope to welcome you back soon.

Kind regards from Vienna,

Alexander Moj
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Vienna hotels
Inner City
Steigenberger Hotel Herrenhof Wien
Inner City
Palais Hansen Kempinski Vienna
Inner City
The Guesthouse Vienna
The Guesthouse Vienna
#2 of 362 in Vienna
5.0 of 5 bubbles 781 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Inner City
The Ring Hotel
The Ring Hotel
#27 of 362 in Vienna
4.5 of 5 bubbles 970 reviews
Inner City
The Ritz-Carlton, Vienna
Neubau
Hotel Sans Souci Wien
Hotel Sans Souci Wien
#1 of 362 in Vienna
5.0 of 5 bubbles 1,340 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Sofitel Vienna Stephansdom? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sofitel Vienna Stephansdom

Property: Sofitel Vienna Stephansdom
Address: Praterstrasse 1 | Sofitel Vienna Stephansdom, Vienna 1020, Austria
Phone Number:
Region: Austria > Vienna Region > Vienna > Leopoldstadt
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#10 Spa Hotel in Vienna
#11 Business Hotel in Vienna
#17 Family Hotel in Vienna
#24 Luxury Hotel in Vienna
#28 Romantic Hotel in Vienna
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £££
Hotel Class:5 star — Sofitel Vienna Stephansdom 5*
Number of rooms: 182
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Within splendid view of its gothic namesake, St. Stephens Cathedral, the 5 star superior Sofitel Vienna Stephansdom is an emphatically 21st century structure. Echoing the hotel's sleek exteriors, the 182 monochromatic guest rooms, including 26 suites, are decorated in either immaculate white, cool grey or velvety black. On the mezzanine level the hotel offers a business center and a library. For distinctive business or celebratory events you can choose from 8 sun lit meeting rooms for up to 150 people. On the 5th floor guests can enjoy a relaxing massage in our So SPA or work out in our So FIT. Join the local crowd at Das LOFT, the Sofitel Vienna´s superbly stylish rooftop dining & bar retreat; a fete extraordinaire with fantastical interiors by Jean Nouvel and culinary arts from the imagination of Fabian Gunzel, our Chef de Cuisine. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Agoda, Odigeo, Southall Travel, Priceline, Traveltool, S.L.U., ACCOR, TravelUp, TripOnline SA, Cancelon, Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly and Hotel.de so you can book your Sofitel Vienna Stephansdom reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Sofitel Vienna Stephansdom Hotel Vienna

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing