We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Out of a Russian fairy-tale”

Russian Orthodox Cathedral of St. Nicholas
Ranked #126 of 585 things to do in Vienna
Certificate of Excellence
Moscow, Russia
Level 4 Contributor
33 reviews
5 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
“Out of a Russian fairy-tale”
Reviewed 19 May 2014

Should not be allowed to review this as I am Russian and therefore biased))
It's a lovely church. Looks like something out of a children's book.
Recently renovated, so a bit too "artificial" for my personal taste (just because I have been to many others back home).
Keep in mind that women should cover their heads when entering an Orthodox church so take a headscarf with you if you want to go inside.
Worth a visit if you're staying in one of the many nearby hotels.

Visited May 2014
Helpful?
3 Thank nyaredzi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

80 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    45
    28
    6
    1
    0
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Tel Aviv, Israel
Level 6 Contributor
2,851 reviews
2,415 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 2,227 helpful votes
“Disappointing.”
Reviewed 9 September 2013

While this church looks almost magical from the outside, with a VERY Russian look, its interiors are VERY disappointing and small.
Not really worth the visit.

Visited May 2013
Helpful?
Thank TheShis
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Buxton, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
78 reviews
17 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 60 helpful votes
“A Little Gem”
Reviewed 11 July 2013

This Russian Orthodox church is a beautiful building but go inside for the wow factor.
Wall paintings and icons vie for your attention. A feast of colour and light.

Visited July 2013
Helpful?
2 Thank sdenttasker
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Haifa, Israel
Level 5 Contributor
74 reviews
50 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 80 helpful votes
“VERY NICE OUTSIDE & INSIDE!”
Reviewed 1 July 2013

I'm not suggesting to make a detour, but if you're in the neighbourhood (not far from the Belvedere)- don't miss it.
All the Russian Cathedrals I've seen so far were very richly decorated outside, but very plain on the inside. Not this one!
It's a magnificent building with tipical "onion like" golden doms, glittering in the sunshine.
When you enter- the abundance of decorations is overwhelming.
Visit their website to see pictures.
Important information for women- be sure to bring with you some kind of shawl or hat, because bareheaded women aren't allowed inside Orthodox Churches.
They have a stock of headscarves by the entrance, but I find it more hygienic to use your own one.

Visited June 2013
Helpful?
Thank Miriam P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Oklahoma City, Oklahoma
Level 6 Contributor
142 reviews
51 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 74 helpful votes
“lovely”
Reviewed 21 June 2013

We didn't go inside, because I was sure if we could. But this was the view from our hotel room. It is breathtaking!

Visited June 2013
Helpful?
Thank vedettefille
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Russian Orthodox Cathedral of St. Nicholas also viewed

Vienna, Vienna Region
Vienna, Vienna Region
 

Been to Russian Orthodox Cathedral of St. Nicholas? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing