We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Nice architecture by Hundertwasser but I wish there are more things to see”

Kunst Haus Wien - Museum Hundertwasser
Book In Advance
More Info
US$11.42*
and up
Museum Hundertwasser Entrance Ticket at the Kunst House Wien
Ranked #29 of 570 things to do in Vienna
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Fee: Yes
Recommended length of visit: 2-3 hours
Owner description: EXPERIENCE HUNDERTWASSER UP CLOSE: Art - Achitecture - Nature - Vision Two intriguing museums experiences await the visitors at the KUNST HAUS WIEN. The Museum Hundertwasser presents the world's biggest collection of Austrian exceptional artist Friedensreich Hundertwasser (1928 -2000): his world famous paintings, fine art prints, tapestries and architectural designs. Here you can immerse yourself in his imaginative world of art inside and out - colorful walls and uneven floors in the interior, the artistic façade with tiles and color fields on the outside. "Tree tenants" grow from the windows, plants and flowers inhabit the rooftop and inner courtyard. In Vienna's first "green museum" one can sense Hundertwasser's visionary mind and experience his ecological engagement on site. Beyond that the KUNST HAUS WIEN is Vienna's premier house for photography exhibitions: changing exhibitions introduce the biggest names of photography to a wide audience.
Useful Information: Food available for purchase, Stairs / lift, Wheelchair access, Lockers / storage, Bathroom facilities
Level Contributor
26 reviews
9 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Nice architecture by Hundertwasser but I wish there are more things to see”
Reviewed 27 July 2014

I really like the design for the building. It reminds me of Gaudi's Casa Batllo. The floor is wavy and is not flat. The tiles are colourful. There are some exhibitions about art and the arts are Hundertwasser-style which is different and unique. But the museum is small and I finished the museum in 30 minutes (because I didn't sit there to appreciate the paintings). If you are expecting a lot of history about the buildings and Hundertwasser, then this museum can be disappointing.

Visited July 2014
Helpful?
2 Thank Yl T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

856 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    518
    260
    60
    14
    4
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Czech first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Hebrew first
  • Hungarian first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Thai first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
25 reviews
12 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
“Art before his time”
Reviewed 22 July 2014

Hundertwasser was an underrated artist and architect in the Gaudi mold and for me one of the most interesting attractions that Vienna has to offer. Tucked away from the mainstream of art houses and museums, the "Haus" and the village where his museum is located should be first on any art lovers list. Quirky but brilliant.

Visited July 2014
Helpful?
1 Thank Stormy12821
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Singapore
Level Contributor
197 reviews
89 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 118 helpful votes
“Quaint but wish there's more information on site”
Reviewed 11 July 2014

The Museum is easily located, the map from the Tourist Information office at Stephansplatz says to take Tram 1 and stop at Radetzkyplatz. When you get off at this stop, the brown signs direct you to the place and if in doubt ask the residents or shopkeepers on the way. It's tucked into a residential area, and you recognise the eclectic composition of colours and forms from the outside. Designed like a child's imaginative play with primary colours ad forms, it's part Emerson, part Gaudi with its back- to- nature concept and esoteric symbolism. There are only two forms, so it's manageable, but how I wish the rental of the audioguide did not require a deposit of id like passport or driver's licence ( every tourist is told to leave these in the hotel safe), so I had to do without interpretations from an authoritative source. still have to find out what those minarets mean!
The gift shop is ridiculously expensive while the Tian Bistro on site is wonderful to look out ( similar undulating floors, bright maze of colours and lots of greenery after Hunderwasser's concepts) but from my lunch there, I guess the main branch would have better food so best to seek out the central Tian vegetarian restaurant. however the Bistro is great to relax in, have coffee and tea and imbibe of their delicious cakes and snacks.

Visited July 2014
Helpful?
2 Thank Bluesphynx
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kuala Lumpur, Malaysia
Level Contributor
34 reviews
10 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
“Cool and different”
Reviewed 3 July 2014

I first went to Hundertwasserhaus and Hundertwasser Village before coming here. Especially for art and architecture lovers, these three places are a must go! Even then, I'm sure most people will be fascinated by the Hundertwasserhaus' style. There's a cafe outside the Kunsthaus.

Visited June 2014
Helpful?
1 Thank IsuannL
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Budapest, Hungary
Level Contributor
12 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Hundertwasser - Vienna's 1st sustainability campaigner”
Reviewed 30 June 2014

...he spoke out for it, painted it, built houses embodying it, and lived it.
all that way back in the previous century when it wasn't so mainstream yet.

Visited June 2014
Helpful?
Thank mcell
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Kunst Haus Wien - Museum Hundertwasser also viewed

Vienna, Vienna Region
Vienna, Vienna Region
 

Been to Kunst Haus Wien - Museum Hundertwasser? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing