We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Hotel is closing at the end of 2013”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Radisson Blu Palais Hotel, Vienna
Ranked #247 of 360 Hotels in Vienna
Arlington, Texas
Level Contributor
32 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
“Hotel is closing at the end of 2013”
Reviewed 29 October 2013

This hotel is the epitome of shabby chic. Great location, friendly staff, great breakfast spread. But you can tell little things here and there that need attention or wasn't fixed properly in the first place. But it's closing at the end of the year for renovations, but even the staff wasn't sure if it's going to remain a Radisson or not. Guess we'll all find out in a year or so....

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank vmurrow
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
PalaisManagement, General Manager at Radisson Blu Palais Hotel, Vienna, responded to this review, 6 November 2013
Dear vmurrow,

Thank you for sharing your comments about your stay at our hotel. I was happy to read that you were satisfied with the service of our staff, the location of the hotel and the breakfast. As you already know the Radisson Blu Palais Hotel Vienna will be closing for renovations at the end of this year. We hope to welcome you back in the future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

606 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    143
    214
    149
    60
    40
See reviews for
94
209
57
152
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (70)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Island of Malta, Malta
Level Contributor
6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 25 October 2013 via mobile

Beautiful hotel in an excellent location with great staff and service. Been allocated a lovely and huge room, which made our stay in vienna memorable. I work in another radisson in malta so I know the hospitality industry and this hotel exceeds all levels of 5 star service.

  • Stayed September 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank jennifermuscat1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
PalaisManagement, General Manager at Radisson Blu Palais Hotel, Vienna, responded to this review, 27 October 2013
Dear jennifermuscat1,

Thank you for your feedback and for taking the time to write about your experience. We are delighted to read that you enjoyed your stay at the Radisson Blu Palais Hotel Vienna. We look forward to welcoming you back in the near future.
Please friend us on Facebook to stay informed of our upcoming specials!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hartlepool, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
16 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed 23 October 2013 via mobile

Visited this beautiful city with my husband and family. The hotel is in a good location within walking distance of many of the sights. The building is lovely but unfortunately the inside let's it down. The rooms we received were small and needed refurbishing. The bed was small and made up with single sheets and duvets on a small double bed. My husband is a club Carlson member and we usually get some benefits from this but not at this hotel. The staff seemed disinterested with looking after regular Carlson club members. My daughter rang down for a double quilt which never arrived and we had to request again the next morning after an uncomfortable night. Toiletries and tea coffee making facilities were not topped up and we had to constantly ring down for supplies. Both rooms had no bath mats and when we requested one were given hand towels. Will definitely visit this lovely city again but would not stay at this hotel.

  • Stayed October 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank doughtyanne
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
PalaisManagement, General Manager at Radisson Blu Palais Hotel, Vienna, responded to this review, 27 October 2013
Dear 5starHartlepool,

Thank you for taking the time to share your experience about your stay at our hotel. We apologize for the disappointing service you received from the staff. We want to make sure our guests are comfortable and receive the best service at any time. Please note that your valued comments have been discussed with the department heads involved and that actions have been taken in order to avoid situations like this in the future. We appreciate any constructive comment made by our guests in order to constantly improve our service and product.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Vienna hotels

Vladivostok, Russia
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 22 October 2013

I made a reservation at Radisson Blu Vienna via Booking.com. According to rate conditions, there was no pre-payment or deposit. However, my card was charged for 140 euro. I suggested it as deposit and would be balanced at checking out. I was wrong. At checking out, my card was charged for full costs. So, I was actually double charged! I have already sent 3 requets to the hotel to clarify, but still have no answer or even confirmation that my inquiry received. What a poor service of a such respectful hotel brand!

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Alexey2013873
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
PalaisManagement, General Manager at Radisson Blu Palais Hotel, Vienna, responded to this review, 27 October 2013
Dear Alexey2013873,

Thank you for reaching out and sharing your experience about your stay at our hotel. I was sad to read that you were not satisfied with the service at the hotel. Please be informed that it can take 48 hours up to 14 days for the deposit to be unblocked on your card. I am very sorry that your email has not been acknowledged until now and I would kindly ask you to forward it to guest.vienna@radissonblu.com in order for our reception team to follow up.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Berlin, Germany
2 reviews
Reviewed 18 October 2013

Being very central in Vienna (directly at the Parkring) the Radisson Blu Palais was a good choice for a recent trip. I was surprised that they offer several drinks in the minibar for free (instead of the usual free bottle of water). Also the complimentary breakfast was nice and offered some healthy choices & fruits. The local staff helped out when I had some network issues and even offered to change my room in case they wouldn't be successful.

Overall a really good experience.

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank timmesserschmidt
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
PalaisManagement, General Manager at Radisson Blu Palais Hotel, Vienna, responded to this review, 29 October 2013
Dear timmesserschmidt,

Thank you for your feedback and for taking the time to write about your experience. We are delighted to read that you enjoyed your stay at the Radisson Blu Palais Hotel Vienna. We look forward to your next stay.

Please friend us on Facebook to stay informed of our upcoming specials!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Grand Cayman
Level Contributor
40 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
Reviewed 17 October 2013

We stayed there for 3nights and have to say we couldn't complain, we didn't really use much in the hotel accept the breakfast (what was really good) but after reading some of the posts here, I have to say we didn't found it dirty at all. Okay it needs probably a view updates, but what i understood is this hotel closing anyway.

I can only say we enjoyed our stay there in this historical building,and the service was friendly and helpfull too, specially Marie behind the reception was amazing and helped us a lot to find what we've been looking for.

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank me_me44w
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
PalaisManagement, General Manager at Radisson Blu Palais Hotel, Vienna, responded to this review, 29 October 2013
Dear me_me44w,

Thank you for your feedback and for taking the time to write about your experience. We are delighted to read that you enjoyed your stay at our hotel. We look forward to your next stay.

Please friend us on Facebook to stay informed of our upcoming specials!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Moscow, Russia
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 15 October 2013

This was a business trip and everything went wrong from the very beginning. At first I was waiting for at least 1 hour before they got confirmation from Xpedia about the booking (I travel a lot and this happened first time in my life).

Then I got a good room but after checkout I found out I miss the wallet in my briefcase. Either I dropped it in the room in the morning and housekeeping lady took it or somebody has stolen it during the breakfast.
The rection in the reception to this was only smiling. No help, no actions. I had to leave urgently to catch the plane so they promised to do whatever possible and call me back. I then called at least 5 times to remind them, but got no any feedback. Would never recommend staying there and in any radisson blu.

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Alexander F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Vienna hotels
Inner City
Radisson Blu Style Hotel, Vienna
Inner City
Vienna Marriott Hotel
Vienna Marriott Hotel
#77 of 360 in Vienna
1,730 reviews
Inner City
Palais Coburg Hotel Residenz
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Inner City
The Ring Hotel
The Ring Hotel
#26 of 360 in Vienna
986 reviews
Landstraße
InterContinental Wien
InterContinental Wien
#75 of 360 in Vienna
1,921 reviews
Inner City
Hotel Am Parkring
Hotel Am Parkring
#24 of 360 in Vienna
681 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Radisson Blu Palais Hotel, Vienna? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Radisson Blu Palais Hotel, Vienna

Property: Radisson Blu Palais Hotel, Vienna
Address: Parkring 16, Vienna 1010, Austria
Region: Austria > Vienna Region > Vienna > Inner City
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#151 Luxury Hotel in Vienna
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:5 star — Radisson Blu Palais Hotel, Vienna 5*
Number of rooms: 247
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Elegant Hotel housed in former palace dating from 1872, located near St. Stephen's Cathedral, Opera & shopping. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with TripOnline SA, Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly and Cancelon so you can book your Radisson Blu Palais Hotel, Vienna reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Radisson Blu Palais Hotel, Vienna Hotel Vienna
Radisson Vienna
Vienna Radisson

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing