We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“goodbye to a duchess”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Radisson Blu Palais Hotel, Vienna
Ranked #239 of 362 Hotels in Vienna
Belgrade, Serbia
Level Contributor
83 reviews
31 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 40 helpful votes
“goodbye to a duchess”
Reviewed 27 December 2013

A pleasure to stay here a couple of weeks before it will close for two years for a complete refurbishment.....
Thankyou Sarah on reception for a welcome and constant attention......
The Palais is a dowager duchess that saw her best days some years ago, but is still beautiful and gracious.........
Elegant old building, great position, good breakfast...........
We will have to wait and see what the future brings

  • Stayed December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank julian h
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

607 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    144
    215
    148
    60
    40
See reviews for
94
211
57
151
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (71)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
18 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed 22 December 2013 via mobile

Stayed a week and found a few pros and cons.
Pros: great location on Parkring, close to major sights and between 2 ubahn stations. Clean room including great bathroom showers. Pleasant staff.
Cons: front desk personnel seemed undertrained, sent me to wrong train station for day trip, didn't know about hotel bar happy hour when asked but I later saw it did exist on room card so that solved. Lobby is very crowded with furniture and as said before on this site you must cross through the breakfast buffet area between front door and elevator. Nothing says luxury like passing stacks of empty plates and trays as you leave to enjoy the beautiful city.
Overall, nothing special about this hotel but nothing truly bad either. If you can get an acceptably good rate online book. But buy on price not overall quality .

  • Stayed December 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Gawgatex
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Vienna
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 16 December 2013

I booked the Radisson before reading the reviews on Trip Advisor. I was very nervous about our stay after reading the reviews which on the whole were quite negative. We are nearing the end of our 6 night stay and we have really enjoyed staying here. We are in a Royal Club Room and have been more than happy with the room and the breakfast and drinks and snacks at night have been great. The location is great and would definitely stay again.

  • Stayed December 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Tanya1900
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
37 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed 12 December 2013

Imposing building, and palatial lobby and dining area, but the room was small even by European standards, unimaginatively furnished, not particularly clean, bathroom even less so, with a pubic hair that remained adherent to the ceiling for the whole trip, and housekeeping had apparently run out of coat hangers. The carpet was threadbare in places. Door card kept failing, woman on the front desk thought it was funny, and casually informed me that it happens all the time in hotels all over the world. It doesn't. She suggested that keeping it near my credit cards was causing the problem, betraying an utter ignorance of the laws of physics. Didn't eat in the hotel, but had to walk through the restaurant to get to the lift, which can't have been fun for the diners, although they were maybe being distracted by the clichéd pianist sat at the grand piano, knocking out standards. This hotel could be truly special, but it actually felt like a place trying to maintain an illusion of luxury, whilst in need of some investment. More like three stars once you're above the ground floor.

Stayed October 2013, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank 623JJT
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Vienna hotels

Nicosia, Cyprus
Level Contributor
179 reviews
86 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 85 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 December 2013

I stayed at this hotel for two nights (non-consecutively) and was upgraded both times to a suite.

The rooms are large and have all modern amenities but also have the old Viennese charm.

The location is really good, about 5 minutes walking from Stephenplatz and is a tramride away from Swedenplatz where the bus to the airport arrives.

There is a park across the street where you can jog, although the Hotel has a gym which I didn't use.

Staff are friendly and take time to assist with any questions you may have. Would definitely stay here again!

  • Stayed November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Alkis_H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
PalaisManagement, General Manager at Radisson Blu Palais Hotel, Vienna, responded to this review, 6 December 2013
Dear Alkis_H,

Thank you for your feedback and for taking the time to write about your experience. We are delighted to read that you enjoyed your stay at the Radisson Blu Palais Hotel Vienna. We look forward to your next stay.

Please friend us on Facebook to stay informed of our upcoming specials!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Vienna, Austria
Level Contributor
90 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
Reviewed 27 November 2013

I stayed in is hotel for two nights in a maisonette suite.

its was nice but old.
Breakfast was below standard but overall i was very nice. need a renovation
Location is great

Nice if you have a bargain price

4 stars maximum

  • Stayed November 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank OF665
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
PalaisManagement, General Manager at Radisson Blu Palais Hotel, Vienna, responded to this review, 2 December 2013
Dear OF665,

Thank you for taking the time and sharing your experience at our hotel. I was happy to read that you enjoyed the location of the hotel. I am sorry to read that you were not satisfied with the breakfast. Please rest assured that your valued comments have been passed on and discussed with the management in charge. We appreciate any feedback made by our guests in order to constantly improve our service and product.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Southampton, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
56 reviews
37 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 52 helpful votes
Reviewed 24 November 2013

Where do I start? I need to advise that I am a ClubCarlson/Radisson high level card holder and stayed on a mix of points plus £££ paying business stay. Was given a great upgrade to huge suite which was much appreciated, if it weren't for the fact that the route to the room from lift was very shabby, painting missing from walls, holes in walls, dirty carpets, very badly marked walls etc. The first thing you see is a huge stain on the carpet...and at the true price of Euro 1,300 a night (I believe) is very poor, Mini bar not stocked (and then only minimally) until after we had checked in, limited glasses. Very limited self service milk etc for coffee which wasn't replaced during whole stay by 'room service'. Room view terrible overlooking internal part of hotel. Damaged and dangerous wall sockets for the coffee machine. Had to request room to be cleaned on second day as I had been forgotten. Downstairs....Why is smoking allowed in communual areas such as the bar which is in itself very small? It's like going into a 1950's UK working men's club...and made worse because its virtually impossible to get anyone to take a drinks order so you have to go back to the smoke filled bar to get drinks, where the service from the head barman on evening of Sat 23 Nov was the worst I have ever had. The man needs a SERIOUS 'customer service transplant'. His attitude and the manner he spoke to what appeared to be non German speaking guests was attrocious. I wasn't the only person affected by the way. Such a difference from the other barman 'Ashok from Nepal'. First night we ate in the main restaurant and no complaints at all about the quality of the food but why are guests continually walking THROUGH the restaurant with suitcases all evening completely ruining the ambience of what should be a good dining experience? Final night, eating on my own, finding someone to take an order for the advertised special burger was almost impossible, then it took well over half and hour to arrive when the restaurant itself was virtually empty. We had a 'free breakfast' but if the price is 28Euros as someone else has said then I'd be VERY unhappy. No more than what you'd expect in any hotel. Where is the personal service? Noone cooking 'to order eggs/omelettes, toaster that takes 10mins to simply warm bread. All in all I have to agree with the very high ratio of people who have marked this hotel down as being well below 5stars and certainly doesn't meet the ususal expected Radisson brand level. Would I have paid for this? NOPE.

Room Tip: I'd ask to be shown your room before actaully checking in and unpacking.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank davebedford
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
PalaisManagement, General Manager at Radisson Blu Palais Hotel, Vienna, responded to this review, 29 November 2013
Dear davebedford,

Thank you for taking the time and sharing your comments about your stay at the Radisson Blu Palais Hotel Vienna. We appreciate any constructive feedback by our guests in order to constantly improve our service and product. Please kindly be advised that a reply from the management was sent to your personal email.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Vienna hotels
Inner City
Radisson Blu Style Hotel, Vienna
Inner City
Vienna Marriott Hotel
Vienna Marriott Hotel
#84 of 362 in Vienna
1,669 reviews
Inner City
Palais Coburg Hotel Residenz
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Inner City
Hotel Am Parkring
Hotel Am Parkring
#22 of 362 in Vienna
626 reviews
Inner City
The Ring
The Ring
#28 of 362 in Vienna
949 reviews
Inner City
Hotel Pension Lumes
Hotel Pension Lumes
#296 of 362 in Vienna
50 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Radisson Blu Palais Hotel, Vienna? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Radisson Blu Palais Hotel, Vienna

Property: Radisson Blu Palais Hotel, Vienna
Address: Parkring 16, Vienna 1010, Austria
Region: Austria > Vienna Region > Vienna > Inner City
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#149 Luxury Hotel in Vienna
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:5 star — Radisson Blu Palais Hotel, Vienna 5*
Number of rooms: 247
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Elegant Hotel housed in former palace dating from 1872, located near St. Stephen's Cathedral, Opera & shopping. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your Radisson Blu Palais Hotel, Vienna reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Radisson Blu Palais Hotel, Vienna Hotel Vienna
Radisson Vienna
Vienna Radisson

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing