We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Excellent choice but eat elsewhere”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Hotel Konig Von Ungarn
Ranked #17 of 361 Hotels in Vienna
Certificate of Excellence
Berkeley, California
Level Contributor
57 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 84 helpful votes
“Excellent choice but eat elsewhere”
Reviewed 7 May 2014

We stayed at the Konig for 6 days in April 2014 and have stayed there in the past. In every respect but one, this hotel is excellent. The location is ideal. The rooms are spotlessly clean and well furnished. The concierge staff is excellent. The lobby/lounge is a comfortable place to have a drink with friends. All in all the hotel has a local character and is charming.

Alas, the dining room which was excellent in the past is now second rate. It is acceptable for breakfast but should be avoided for any other meal. Fortunately there are many good restaurants within easy walking distance. If it were not for that, I would rate the Konig as one of our favorite hotels in the world.

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank JCM
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

547 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    394
    133
    11
    5
    4
See reviews for
145
211
24
55
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (68)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Toronto, Canada
Level Contributor
64 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
Reviewed 1 May 2014

We selected this hotel based on TripAdvisor reviews. Our room was comfortable and modestly elegant with crystal chandelier. Hotel staff was very helpful and always pleasant and willing to help. Included breakfast was one of the best I have had in Europe, including hot eggs (or even sausage and beer if you'd like). Location couldn't have been better, on a lane behind the church. Easy walking access to sites, or to a taxi if needed. Hotel pickup at airport was extra but worth the expense if you've had a long flight. We will return.

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank londonvisitor81
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Athens, Greece
Level Contributor
26 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
Reviewed 24 April 2014

The hotel has a cozy old-town feel to it which suits a vacation in Vienna, and its location right beside the main central square is perfect for touring the 1st District. We found the 'maisonette' room perfect for our family of 4, with its second bedroom/bathroom on an upper floor inside the room. Overall everything was great in the room- comfortable beds, no issue with noise (room was in front), clean & nicely appointed bathroom and plenty of closet space. Between being able to sleep the family in one room and the fact that a great breakfast is included in the room rate, this is an affordable option in its price class. The staff is very warm and helpful. The front desk accommodated many requests of ours, and the concierge, Michael Fallmann, found us sold out concert tickets to the Vienna Symphony (note- inquire when you book). He is very knowledgeable in music if you are looking for suggestions. We stayed for 6 nights and really enjoyed our vacation.

Room Tip: Maisonette rooms are perfect for families (assuming the kids can deal with stairs). Make sure to ask...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank MLV_Greece
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Brampton, Canada
Level Contributor
6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 17 March 2014

The room was very immaculate and well appointed with a spotless, large, all white tiled bathroom with separate, also spotless, toilet. With the windows closed, it was very quiet, the bed very comfortable. As I have found customary in Europe the mattress was split in two down the middle. The location, only steps away from St Stephen's Cathedral. Actually the whole hotel was spotless. Restaurant staff was very accommodating of our late supper and late breakfast. Food was excellent and the included breakfast was superb with a huge range of choice at the cold buffet. Maybe a little pricey per night, but well worth every penny in our opinion. There was a large closet to hang clothes and store baggage and all the little necessities such as soaps, lotions, nail files, combs, thread and needle, shoe horn and shoe shine cloths, etc. Would gladly stay there again without hesitation.

Room Tip: Our third floor room was actually a suite, with an upstairs loft with another large bed. Up there it...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank gtxmk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
103 reviews
34 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
Reviewed 22 February 2014 via mobile

Nice hotel rooms are ok with everything you need, i was impressed by the location and the fact that the house next door was that of mozart.
The lobby bar employees should be brought to discipline they are always chatting among themselves and you as a guest feel they dont care.
Breackfast is at the border but one lady there is very attentive. We asked for a late check out and early check in and we were satisfied.
Over all i recommend it

Stayed February 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank Adige47
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Waltraud R, Leiter Gästebetreuung at Hotel Konig Von Ungarn, responded to this review, 25 February 2014
Thank you very much for your positive review conderning your stay at our Hotel. We also thank you for mentioning some critical points, which gives us the chance to improve. We will immediatly talk about those things in our teams. Thany you & kind regards from Vienna
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
birmingham
Level Contributor
50 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
Reviewed 21 February 2014 via mobile

We stayed here for three nights. The first being valentines night. I can't fault this hotel. The room was spotless, had a separate loo to bathroom. With two sinks. Huge comfy bed. Very Austrian decor. Excellent location to explore all Vienna had to offer. Night caps in the Atrium bar are a must. Very helpful reception staff. Good breakfast too hot and cold selection. Baggage taken care of by porter. And turn down service with choccie on pillow is such a lovely touch.

Stayed February 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank pclash
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Vienna
Level Contributor
9 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 17 February 2014

PLUS: Room design and atmosphere - very cool and romantic!; Service - really good and professional. I asked for the room to be arranged romantically and they offered me some red rose petals in shape of a heart on the bed and a bottle of sparkling wine in ice in the room. Really nice
MINUS: Unfortunately, there wasn't only a big bed, there where 2 beds united - which I hate the most when I go to a Hotel [ especially a 4-5 stars Hotel that costs something ]... It's very uncomfortable! The beds and the doors where making noises... - on almost every movement and :|
Also we ate their restaurant where we served a Goose Menu : goose soup and a main course - also goose. It was really good, despite what I read about the food in the reviews here. But what i didn't really liked, it was that I asked them to arrange the table specially for Valentine's day, and they said that they will put a candle on the table and some flowers. Well, we had only a really tall rose [looked kinda' ugly actually] and a candle... But the light were too bright and there was no special atmosphere...

Room Tip: Ask before which room they have available, and if you take a double room, if you are like me and don...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank DanaFischer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Vienna hotels
Inner City
Hotel Am Stephansplatz
Hotel Am Stephansplatz
#11 of 361 in Vienna
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,005 reviews
Inner City
The Guesthouse Vienna
The Guesthouse Vienna
#2 of 361 in Vienna
5.0 of 5 bubbles 782 reviews
Old University Quarter
Hollmann Beletage
Hollmann Beletage
#7 of 361 in Vienna
5.0 of 5 bubbles 1,034 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Neubau
Hotel Sans Souci Wien
Hotel Sans Souci Wien
#1 of 361 in Vienna
5.0 of 5 bubbles 1,340 reviews
Wieden
Best Western Premier Kaiserhof Wien
Inner City
Hotel Sacher Wien
Hotel Sacher Wien
#3 of 361 in Vienna
5.0 of 5 bubbles 1,610 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Konig Von Ungarn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Konig Von Ungarn

Property: Hotel Konig Von Ungarn
Address: Schulerstrasse 10 | 1010 Vienna, Vienna 1010, Austria
Region: Austria > Vienna Region > Vienna > Inner City
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#10 Romantic Hotel in Vienna
#11 Family Hotel in Vienna
#16 Luxury Hotel in Vienna
#57 Business Hotel in Vienna
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel Konig Von Ungarn 4*
Number of rooms: 44
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Hotel König von Ungarn is a first class hotel that has welcomed crowned heads of state, artists and other prominent figures since 1746.Our hotel is in the heart of Vienna just behind St. Stephan's Cathedral and close to the Vienna State Opera and many other sights.Apart from the comfort of the generously appointed rooms, the glass-covered inner courtyard is an ideal place to relax and enjoy in a traditional atmosphere. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline, Agoda, Odigeo, TripOnline SA and Hotel.de so you can book your Hotel Konig Von Ungarn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Konig Von Ungarn Vienna
Konig Von Ungarn Hotel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing