We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Charming and well located”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Hotel Konig Von Ungarn
Ranked #15 of 361 Hotels in Vienna
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 13 May 2014

The hotel is centrally located, very close to St Stephen's Cathedral. The rooms are huge for European standards, very well appointed, and freshly remodeled. The service was very good. The hotel is not cheap, but worth the expense. Has a nice restaurant that serves as breakfast room, breakfast was included in the room rate and it was outstanding both in quality as well as variety. Would definitely stay there again if i go to Vienna.

Room Tip: All rooms are different, my room was in the main building, second floor. Other friends traveling wit...
  • Stayed: March 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Mrhmesa
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (577)
There are newer reviews for Hotel Konig Von Ungarn
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

162 - 168 of 577 reviews

Reviewed 13 May 2014

Our 3rd. stay at this gem, this time for 8 days over Easter. If you want old world charm & friendliness in an ideal location near the Stephansdom, at reasonable prices, look no further. Breakfast is very good but very Austrian - no Belgian waffles, tofu, mango, etc. Very good restaurant & within walking distance of many others that are very good.

  • Stayed: April 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank BuntzB
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 May 2014

Great location, and really nice because it has so few rooms. The staff all know you, recognise you, smile at you (!) and that makes it a really nice experience.

The location - just by Stephansplatz is amazing, and made it so easy to enjoy Vienna - everywhere was a short walk away.

Breakfast was very nice, with the occasional patch of inattentive waitering, but it didn't spoil our enjoyment of the place.

Rooms are well appointed, with old fashioned radios, and all the usual amenities... Although no iron or ironing board in my room, and no kettle/tea making stuff, which - as a tea addict - was slightly disappointing.

The concierge gave us some great tips for where to eat, and we had great meals with each of his suggestions.

Housekeeping was great - everything very clean.

We both slept very well, and would certainly come back again.

Stayed: May 2014, travelled with friends
1  Thank Jamie A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 May 2014

We stayed at the Konig for 6 days in April 2014 and have stayed there in the past. In every respect but one, this hotel is excellent. The location is ideal. The rooms are spotlessly clean and well furnished. The concierge staff is excellent. The lobby/lounge is a comfortable place to have a drink with friends. All in all the hotel has a local character and is charming.

Alas, the dining room which was excellent in the past is now second rate. It is acceptable for breakfast but should be avoided for any other meal. Fortunately there are many good restaurants within easy walking distance. If it were not for that, I would rate the Konig as one of our favorite hotels in the world.

  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank JCM
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 May 2014

We selected this hotel based on TripAdvisor reviews. Our room was comfortable and modestly elegant with crystal chandelier. Hotel staff was very helpful and always pleasant and willing to help. Included breakfast was one of the best I have had in Europe, including hot eggs (or even sausage and beer if you'd like). Location couldn't have been better, on a lane behind the church. Easy walking access to sites, or to a taxi if needed. Hotel pickup at airport was extra but worth the expense if you've had a long flight. We will return.

  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank londonvisitor81
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 April 2014

The hotel has a cozy old-town feel to it which suits a vacation in Vienna, and its location right beside the main central square is perfect for touring the 1st District. We found the 'maisonette' room perfect for our family of 4, with its second bedroom/bathroom on an upper floor inside the room. Overall everything was great in the room- comfortable beds, no issue with noise (room was in front), clean & nicely appointed bathroom and plenty of closet space. Between being able to sleep the family in one room and the fact that a great breakfast is included in the room rate, this is an affordable option in its price class. The staff is very warm and helpful. The front desk accommodated many requests of ours, and the concierge, Michael Fallmann, found us sold out concert tickets to the Vienna Symphony (note- inquire when you book). He is very knowledgeable in music if you are looking for suggestions. We stayed for 6 nights and really enjoyed our vacation.

Room Tip: Maisonette rooms are perfect for families (assuming the kids can deal with stairs). Make sure to ask...
  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank MLV_Greece
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 March 2014

The room was very immaculate and well appointed with a spotless, large, all white tiled bathroom with separate, also spotless, toilet. With the windows closed, it was very quiet, the bed very comfortable. As I have found customary in Europe the mattress was split in two down the middle. The location, only steps away from St Stephen's Cathedral. Actually the whole hotel was spotless. Restaurant staff was very accommodating of our late supper and late breakfast. Food was excellent and the included breakfast was superb with a huge range of choice at the cold buffet. Maybe a little pricey per night, but well worth every penny in our opinion. There was a large closet to hang clothes and store baggage and all the little necessities such as soaps, lotions, nail files, combs, thread and needle, shoe horn and shoe shine cloths, etc. Would gladly stay there again without hesitation.

Room Tip: Our third floor room was actually a suite, with an upstairs loft with another large bed. Up there it...
  • Stayed: March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank gtxmk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Vienna hotels
Inner City
Hotel Am Stephansplatz
Hotel Am Stephansplatz
#11 of 361 in Vienna
2,130 reviews
Old University Quarter
Hollmann Beletage
Hollmann Beletage
#5 of 361 in Vienna
1,091 reviews
Inner City
The Guesthouse Vienna
The Guesthouse Vienna
#8 of 361 in Vienna
904 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Neubau
Hotel Sans Souci Wien
Hotel Sans Souci Wien
#1 of 361 in Vienna
1,478 reviews
Inner City
Hotel Sacher Wien
Hotel Sacher Wien
#4 of 361 in Vienna
1,717 reviews
Inner City
Kaiserin Elisabeth
Kaiserin Elisabeth
#34 of 361 in Vienna
890 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Konig Von Ungarn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Konig Von Ungarn

Address: Schulerstrasse 10 | 1010 Vienna, Vienna 1010, Austria
Region: Austria > Vienna Region > Vienna > Inner City
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#10 Romantic Hotel in Vienna
#11 Family Hotel in Vienna
#14 Luxury Hotel in Vienna
#57 Business Hotel in Vienna
Price Range: £168 - £301 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel Konig Von Ungarn 4*
Number of rooms: 44
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Hotel König von Ungarn is a first class hotel that has welcomed crowned heads of state, artists and other prominent figures since 1746.Our hotel is in the heart of Vienna just behind St. Stephan's Cathedral and close to the Vienna State Opera and many other sights.Apart from the comfort of the generously appointed rooms, the glass-covered inner courtyard is an ideal place to relax and enjoy in a traditional atmosphere. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Travel Republic (UK), Agoda and TripOnline SA so you can book your Hotel Konig Von Ungarn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Konig Von Ungarn Vienna
Konig Von Ungarn Hotel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing