We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Wonderful gem with old fashioned service”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Hotel Konig Von Ungarn
Ranked #18 of 360 Hotels in Vienna
Certificate of Excellence
Prague, Czech
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Wonderful gem with old fashioned service”
Reviewed 21 February 2009

Had a wonderful time here. We chose the hotel because it was one of the very few which had family rooms that cater for more than 3 persons (We are a family of four). The family room was wonderful, there were two bedrooms, both quite large, and a separate bathroom and toilet. The breakfast, which was included, was excellent, and consisted of a cold buffet, with hot dishes available on request (at no extra charge) i.e. they were cooked fresh. There was also a small complimentary cake waiting in the room when we returned from our hard day sightseeing. The service was some of the best we have come across, from advising on tourist trips, arranging car parking & taxis, attending to any requirements for our room, to weighing a parcel for us, calculating the cost (we were able to put the cost on our hotel bill) and taking it to a post office for us the following day when the post office opened. Nothing was too much trouble for them. I have been to several so called 5 star hotels and resorts who would not provide anywhere near that sort of service. The hotel is also right in the middle of Vienna's old town right next door to Stephensplatz, so the location is wonderful too, we were able to walk to all the tourist attractions. If we return to Vienna we would definitely stay here again and will be recommending it to all our friends and family.

  • Stayed February 2009, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank ozfamilyprague
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

554 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    399
    134
    12
    5
    4
See reviews for
148
213
24
56
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (68)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Marco Island, Florida
Level Contributor
68 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 70 helpful votes
Reviewed 13 January 2009

We always tell everyone that the Konig von Ungarn is our favorite hotel anywhere. Since Vienna is our favorite city and the Konig is the best located hotel in the city, perhaps it's a foregone conclusion. However, we just returned from another stay - a week long from Christmas Day to New Year's Day - and it only reinforced our opinion.

We traveled with our son, daughter-in-law, her sister from Moscow, and our almost six year old grandson. Everyone loved the hotel, as did our friends and our son's friends, natives of Vienna who hadn't discovered its wonderful lobby, where meeting for a drink or coffee was like being able to entertain in our own living room.

The only drawback to our trip was a nasty toothache, but even that was handled beautifully by the hotel's very sympathetic concierges.
Two trips to the emergency hours of a dentist and even a doctor who came to the hotel to consult were far beyond expectations.

Our room was as beautiful as ever with its fabulous marble bathroom. Our kids were in a two bedroom suite - utterly charming. Both rooms had small Christmas trees, cookies every night before bed, and wonderful service. Breakfast in the vaulted restaurant, was perfect. The waitresses even scared up stale bread for our grandson to take to the Stadtpark to feed the ducks.

Of course, this comes at a price. I'm not sure where the $181 on Trip Advisors website comes from, but our double was over $300 at December's exchange rates. We were happy to spend it though - we loved every minute!

  • Liked — Abundance of charm and old world luxury
  • Disliked — Europe is expensive for American travelers
  • Stayed December 2008, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
7 Thank Manatee609
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
CH
Level Contributor
28 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
Reviewed 27 December 2008

Vienna is a beautiful town and the Konig Von Ungarn is an incredible lovely hotel on a very central but quite location.
We had a double room on 2 stories, very nice and charming furnished. The room, the bathroom and actually the entire hotel were very clean and cozy. The entire staff was extremely kind and helpful...The breakfast buffet was great! We loved this hotel and the staff!

During our stay at this hotel we had only a little problem: we were there at Xmas time. Outside it was very cold but our room was so warm that we had to sleep every night with a wide open window (and the heating wasn't even switched on!).

But everything else was simply perfect and we will absolutely stay at this hotel again next time!

  • Liked — location & friendly staff
  • Disliked — very hot room even in December
  • Stayed December 2008, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
5 Thank CicciCh
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Canada
Level Contributor
14 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
Reviewed 26 October 2008

I had a wonderful time at this hotel. I stayed for a few days in October 2008. The location can't be beat. It is steps from Stephansdom and about 10 minutes walking to most of the major sites to see in Vienna. The room and bathroom were very large by European standards. The bathroom had 2 sinks and a large tub. The bed was large (2 put together) - mattress was a bit hard. Only complaint about the room was the location close to the street which was a bit noisy and bright. Also for the price the bathroom supplies could have been better quality (soap, shampoo. towels).
A large positive was the wonderful concierge service of Mr. Michael Eisenstein. He was extremely pleasant and knowledgeable about places to go and to eat. He spoke many languages and was very helpful and made our stay wonderful. On the other hand watch out for the other fellow (Mr. Fallman) at the front desk who was extremely aggressive in trying to sell us overpriced concert tickets (with hefty commission) and kept us at the desk for very long periods of time while rambling on about things that were unimportant when we were in a hurry to head out or get to our room.

Overall a good selection for a stay in Vienna.

  • Liked — Location
  • Disliked — noise near the street
  • Stayed October 2008, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
7 Thank mroctoberCanada
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Florida
Level Contributor
50 reviews
37 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 44 helpful votes
Reviewed 18 October 2008

This is our favorite hotel in Vienna out of some 6 or 7 that we’ve stayed in over the years. It’s location, down the street from Stephensdom, but on a fairly quiet street, can’t be beat. The overall impression is of a well-preserved, old place kept abreast of the times only enough as to keep guests comfortable but firmly rooted in the past, like Vienna itself.

The best part is the 3 or 4 story atrium permitting live trees in the public sitting area adjoining a pleasant bar. Dropping into one of the sofas there for a drink after a long day of sightseeing is perfection.

All rooms are different both in size, shape and décor. Ours was big, junior-suite size with a couch, small table and sideboard which held the mini-bar. We had a nice walk in closet and the bathroom was well lighted and sparklingly clean but with old towels with the hotel’s name and crest woven into them—the crest is the crown of the “king of Hungary”—hence the hotel name, and looks like the headgear Julie Andrews wore in her numbers in Victor Victoria. Our friends’ room was smaller but had two chairs and large closet space and they were happy with it. Nightly turn down service is provided and a foot towel (does anyone know a proper name for those things?) is laid next to the bed to keep your tootsies warm and clean when alighting during the night or morning. It’s that kind of a place.

Breakfasts (included in the room price as are breakfasts at all but the largest chain hotels in Austria and Germany) were lovely, served in the hotel dining room, buffet style with 3 or 4 kinds of cold meats and similar variety of sliced cheeses, fruit salad, cereals, etc, etc. and eggs and sausages cooked to order on request without extra charge.

While we have eaten at the hotel dining room on past visits we did not this time—only because we had a list of other places to try, not because it doesn’t have not good. In fact, it’s quite good, serving an excellent tafelspitz (the sort of Austrian national dish, which is your basic boiled dinner) with the usual accompaniments including a good creamed spinach.

The only thing I’d not call close to perfect at the hotel is their service. It’s not very warm and friendly and we sometimes had trouble finding anyone to take our drink order when returning to sit in the lovely atrium. I also received erroneous info from the concierge concerning my U bahn and bus trip to Kirche am Steinhof. Oh, and they charge for use of their internet terminal, kind of small for a hotel of the caliber of the KVU. We’ll not let either of these matters deter us from booking again on future trips, but when you love a hotel, you really want it to be the very best it can be.

Our double junior suite was 205 euros per night.

  • Liked — Location, preservation of an "old Vienna" feel
  • Disliked — charges for internet service
  • Stayed September 2008, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
5 Thank FloridaTravelmum
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Australia
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed 15 October 2008

We are not easily persuaded to praise establishments, however our beautifully appointed 2 + 2 apartment was impeccable. In the context of it being a very old building, Mozart et al, our family stay was immensely comfortable including a very fine breakfast in the delightfully civilised dining room.
The hotel is only metres from the Cathedral which also makes it incredibly convenient.
We were also very well advised by reception on a typically Austrian "Gloomy Sunday" restaurant within walking distance

By the way if your next stop is the Airport, get a Cab-Cat, a Euro 24 (Up to 4 persons) taxi - high speed train combination which is seamless, ultra clean and extremely convenient.

  • Liked — The level of cleanliness and tasteful decor
  • Disliked — Clients smoking in the public areas (But isn't that Austria?)
  • Stayed September 2008, travelled with family
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
2 Thank FamilyAustralia
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Coimbra, Portugal
Level Contributor
221 reviews
177 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 609 helpful votes
Reviewed 22 September 2008

Our second time in Vienna and again in Koning Von Ungarn!
I have already written a review about this fantastic little hotel on tripadvisor,but I must confirm that for the second time that we stayed there we had the same excellente service!
Thanks to Mr Eisenstein and all the great staff at KVU for made our stay unforgettable once more!
Best location in Vienna,beautiful rooms,very good breakfast!!
This time we went to Bratislava and Melk/Durnstein.Both trips were beautiful...the weather was lovely too!
We can`t wait to go back to this beautiful hotel and city...both are always in our trip plans...

  • Liked — everything was perfect...
  • Stayed September 2008, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
2 Thank margarida
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Vienna hotels
Inner City
Hotel Am Stephansplatz
Hotel Am Stephansplatz
#11 of 360 in Vienna
2,032 reviews
Inner City
The Guesthouse Vienna
The Guesthouse Vienna
#2 of 360 in Vienna
809 reviews
Old University Quarter
Hollmann Beletage
Hollmann Beletage
#6 of 360 in Vienna
1,049 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Neubau
Hotel Sans Souci Wien
Hotel Sans Souci Wien
#1 of 360 in Vienna
1,368 reviews
Inner City
Hotel Sacher Wien
Hotel Sacher Wien
#5 of 360 in Vienna
1,632 reviews
Wieden
Best Western Premier Kaiserhof Wien
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Konig Von Ungarn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Konig Von Ungarn

Property: Hotel Konig Von Ungarn
Address: Schulerstrasse 10 | 1010 Vienna, Vienna 1010, Austria
Region: Austria > Vienna Region > Vienna > Inner City
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#10 Romantic Hotel in Vienna
#11 Family Hotel in Vienna
#16 Luxury Hotel in Vienna
#57 Business Hotel in Vienna
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel Konig Von Ungarn 4*
Number of rooms: 44
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Hotel König von Ungarn is a first class hotel that has welcomed crowned heads of state, artists and other prominent figures since 1746.Our hotel is in the heart of Vienna just behind St. Stephan's Cathedral and close to the Vienna State Opera and many other sights.Apart from the comfort of the generously appointed rooms, the glass-covered inner courtyard is an ideal place to relax and enjoy in a traditional atmosphere. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Odigeo, Priceline, Agoda, TripOnline SA and Hotel.de so you can book your Hotel Konig Von Ungarn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Konig Von Ungarn Vienna
Konig Von Ungarn Hotel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing