We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Cosy location in Vienna's Old Town”
Review of Kaerntnerhof

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Kaerntnerhof
Ranked #91 of 359 Hotels in Vienna
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 24 March 2013

This is an excellent place to stay in Vienna. It's a family driven hotel in a period building bang in the middle of the Old Town. The rooms are very quite with windows facing a virtually unused road. The breakfast buffet was included in the price but had a limited choice. Still, a wonderful place to stay in Vienna.

  • Stayed: March 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank HelicopterMgmt H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (272)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

142 - 148 of 272 reviews

Reviewed 7 March 2013

My husband and I have stayed in this Pension 2 different times. The first time was for 10 days and second we brought friends for about 3. We love it. If you want 5 star accomodations and amenities don't stay in a 3 star hotel. Yes, it is old and a little worn but it makes up for that in location, great breakfast and charm. The people have been very friendly but not in your face. They are very helpful what asked. The rooms are old and small but comfortable and really you don't need air most of the time. We have been on the front of the building both times above the resturant below and yes it can be a little loud at times but that is the nature of the hotel. I really makes me angry when people give bad reviews to places for being what they claim to be. Once again if you want 5 star amenities, bathroom give-a-ways, and new furinture pay for it in a 5 star hotel. For my husband and I we will go back again if we every get the chance to go to Vienna again.

Room Tip: If noise really bothers you ask for a room at the back of the hotel. The front is above a resturant...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank kirbyty
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 March 2013

The hotel's central location was excellent for all the city centre sights including the opera, the main purpose of our visit, while being situated away from traffic routes ensured a good night's sleep. Rooms were simple (2 singles) but comfortable and spotlessly clean. Breakfast offered plenty of choice, even for my friend with a gluten allergy. The staff were always charming and helpful. What more could you ask ? I would definitely use it again if visiting Vienna.

  • Stayed: February 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Joan H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 March 2013

i really enjoyed my stay at the kaerntnerhof. The location was very good. It was centrally located,and near restaurants.The room was small,but comfortable. The breakfast was good,with eggs,sausages,and the normal european breakfast. Had cucumbers and tomatoes,also. I took the bus from the airport,and walked to the hotel,which was not that far. Alot cheaper than the taxi would have been. I just asked the bus driver which street to walk up,and the map from the hotel was easy to follow. The area was easy access to everything,and at the dom,you can catch the S-bahn.I bought a ticket for a concert for that night ,from some guys near the dom. The concert was great,but the place was a little run down. It was within walking distance.

Room Tip: If you need more space,the double rooms might be bigger.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: February 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Inga S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 March 2013

Just basic amenities here, but the staff was very helpful with maps, directions, and a power converter for my US electronics (the best 5 Euro I'll ever spend). The central location is really a plus: I walked to dozens of attractions my first two days in the city.

Breakfast was fine, and while the room was pretty average, that's all I required. With a city like Vienna and a location like this, you'd be crazy to spend any more time in your room than necessary!

  • Stayed: February 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Arun K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 week ago
Google Translation

  • Stayed: February 2018, travelled as a couple
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank ChrisR0208
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 weeks ago
Google Translation

Room Tip: Das Hotel hat eine Dachterrasse
See more room tips
  • Stayed: January 2018, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Claude H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Vienna hotels
Old University Quarter
Hollmann Beletage Design & Boutique Hotel
Old University Quarter
Hotel Austria
Hotel Austria
#24 of 359 in Vienna
1,416 reviews
Inner City
Hotel Amadeus
Hotel Amadeus
#131 of 359 in Vienna
207 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Inner City
Hotel Royal
Hotel Royal
#100 of 359 in Vienna
874 reviews
Inner City
Schlosshotel Roemischer Kaiser
Inner City
Hotel Topazz
Hotel Topazz
#72 of 359 in Vienna
488 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Kaerntnerhof? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Kaerntnerhof

Address: Grashofgasse 4, Vienna 1010, Austria
Region: Austria > Vienna Region > Vienna > Old University Quarter
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Suites
Hotel Style:
#44 Romantic Hotel in Vienna
#59 Family Hotel in Vienna
Price Range: £87 - £236 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 43
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Hotel Kärntnerhof where French flair and Italian elegance meet the world. Relax after shopping and culture on the roof terrace with its splendid, close-up view of the city’s famous baroque towers.Our charming, privately run Hotel in the First District, is just a three-minute walk from St. Stephen’s Cathedral and surrounded by many historical sites.44 rooms and suites and one grand salon – with hospitality that comes from the heart. All our rooms and suites feature an en-suite bathroom with shower and toilet, hair-dryer, TV, telephone, safe and free WLAN. Parking is available (fee-based). Access from 6 a.m. until 9 p.m. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, TripOnline SA, Ebookers, Travel Republic (UK), Agoda and Evoline ltd so you can book your Kaerntnerhof reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Kartnerhof Hotel Vienna

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing