We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Conveniently located in quaint location”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Mercure Grand Hotel Biedermeier Wien
Ranked #94 of 362 Hotels in Vienna
Certificate of Excellence
Leeds, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
54 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
“Conveniently located in quaint location”
Reviewed 18 January 2013

Stayed in this hotel for 3 nights just before Christmas as part of a Great Rail Journeys tour to Vienna and Salzburg. Excellent location with underground station nearby. Loved the entrance passage which was beautifully decorated for Christmas. We had a super room - large with separate bathroom and toilet, all very clean. Breakfast was excellent. Had dinner once which was OK and then in the pub at the entrance which is a traditional Bierstube. Found travelling around Vienna from this location very easy. Would definitely return.

Room Tip: It's an old building so room sizes vary quite a lot. We had 142 which was large, but a bit dark...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank ccb24
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Mercure_Biedermeier, Leiter Gästebetreuung at Mercure Grand Hotel Biedermeier Wien, responded to this review, 20 January 2013
Dear Guest,
we very much appreciate your comments regarding your stay at the Mercure Wien Grandhotel Biedermeier. It is always a pleasure to receive positive feedback.

I will share your comments with our team. I am sure that this feedback will serve as an encouragement to all of our staff as we strive to continuously improve the quality of our services.

Thank you again for sharing your experience, and we hope your next visit will be as pleasant as the previous one.

Sincerely,

Johannes Rudrof
Guest Relation Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,083 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    408
    500
    142
    24
    9
See reviews for
143
457
71
249
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (114)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Dijon, France
Level Contributor
20 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed 13 January 2013

I've booked two rooms for 3 nights. Overall a hassle free and good stay.Motel suited all our needs and was clean, quiet and welcoming.i liked the early check in and the quaint location of this lovely old building. The staff were very helpful.

  • Stayed January 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Ameldajo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Mercure_Biedermeier, Leiter Gästebetreuung at Mercure Grand Hotel Biedermeier Wien, responded to this review, 20 January 2013
Dear guest,

Thank you very much for taking the time to post your comments about your latest stay in Mercure Grand Hotel Biedermeier Wien on tripadvisor.

We are happy to see that you could enjoy our good location and that you felt comfortable with the design of the Hotel.

Thank you again for staying with us it would be a pleasure to welcoming you again in Mercure Grand Hotel Biedermeier Wien!

Best regards

Johannes Rudrof
Guest Relation Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
COLOMBIA
Level Contributor
28 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed 8 January 2013

Spend new years eve in Vienna with my family, and was fortunate to find a reservation at this very nice, well located and well furnished hotel. Rooms very spacious and comfortable. Julia at the reception was extremely helpful and kind. Everything worked out perfectly. Location is very good, close by you can find a lot of good restaurants, public transportation and attractions are reachable walking. When booking include breakfast, you will have a very good buffet to choose from. Definetely I will recommend the hotel.

Room Tip: Fourth floor, room 413
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank EDLONDONColombia
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Mercure_Biedermeier, Leiter Gästebetreuung at Mercure Grand Hotel Biedermeier Wien, responded to this review, 20 January 2013
Dear Guest,

thank you very much for your great review about our Mercure Grand Hotel Biedermeier on Tripadvisor.

We are very happy to see that we could fulfill your expectations. I already shared your comments with all our staff and especially with Julia and your warm words encourage us to continue in our ambition to provide an extraordinary holiday experience for all our guests.

We look forward to welcoming you again in our Hotel on one of your next Vienna trips.

Best regards

Johannes Rudrof
Guest Relation Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Birmingham, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
57 reviews
53 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 90 helpful votes
Reviewed 7 January 2013

Location: Good, centrally located. It is off the street, in a small alley, within walking distance from the CAT train station to the airport.

Decor and room: The hotel is in need of renovation to freshen it up. Carpet in the hallway and in the room need a good cleaning!

Wireless Internet: Free wireless Internet access from an area near the reception only.

Food: If you arrive late in the evening, there aren't many options near the hotel for food.

  • Stayed July 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Kenneth T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Mercure_Biedermeier, Leiter Gästebetreuung at Mercure Grand Hotel Biedermeier Wien, responded to this review, 10 January 2013
Dear guest,

Thank you for taking the time to write us a review about your stay in our Mercure Grand Hotel Biedermeier.

We are delighted to hear that our central location was convenient for you. Regarding the rooms I want you and all the readers of this review to know that we refurbished all our rooms and public areas in the winter 2011/2012. I apologize if you had the feeling your room was not well renovated.

I also want to let you know that our front office staff is always happy to assist with restaurant recommendations or delivery service numbers even late in the night.

It would be a pleasure for us to welcome you back to our Hotel soon again.

Best Regards
Johannes Rudrof
Guest Relation Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bengaluru, India
Level Contributor
152 reviews
104 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 81 helpful votes
Reviewed 7 January 2013

I was booked into this hotel as the city was bursting to host the ESMO meeting.
It is a comfortable hotel close to the metro to make trips across the city.
The staff is courteous.The rooms are small ,atleast for me ,the bathroom seemed very tiny as well ( I am little over 6 feet).The was only a shower .
The amenities are very basic.A little too expensive .
Breakfast spread was very basic only,no varieties ! was the same all 4 days I stayed.

  • Stayed August 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank govindbabu
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Mercure_Biedermeier, Leiter Gästebetreuung at Mercure Grand Hotel Biedermeier Wien, responded to this review, 10 January 2013
Dear Guest,

Thank you very much for sharing your impressions about our Mercure Grand Hotel Biedermeier with the Tripadvisor community. Feedback as yours is always important to us.

I am more than happy to hear that you felt comfortable in our Hotel and that you could enjoy the friendliness and helpfulness of our staff. I am sorry to hear that the room was too small for you and want to apologize for any inconvenience.

If you come back to Vienna we would love to host you again and provide you an even better service in the future.

Best Regards
Johannes Rudrof
Guest Relation Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kiato, Greece
Level Contributor
98 reviews
42 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 43 helpful votes
Reviewed 7 January 2013

This hotel built in 1816 is in a good place near U3-U4 underground, Landstraße station, and in walking distance from CAT main station WIEN MITTE (city airport train). Overall is ok, the furniture on the room is average, the bed in our room in fourth floor was narrow and the mattress is for fakir's...!!!! but ok for someone to sleep for 3 nights. The cleanliness is ok (some dust somewhere but is ok for an old building like this). Breakfast is rich with a variety of all kinds of breads-cheese-hams and the highlight is the real time omelette order (TOO MUCH SMOKE smell of burning food-oil !!!), I think this is better for an open place with a good ventilation. We had dinner in both restaurant(s), the WINTERGARTEN is a classy place, but the other one, the WEISSGERBERSTUBE, IS THE DISCLOSURE !!! Fantastic food and service. Finally we had good time in this hotel and it is suggested for short staying.

  • Stayed December 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Giannis_Anna96
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Mercure_Biedermeier, Leiter Gästebetreuung at Mercure Grand Hotel Biedermeier Wien, responded to this review, 10 January 2013
Dear Guest,
First of all I would like to thank you for your recent visit to Mercure Grand Hotel Biedermeier and for having taken the time to write feedback about your stay on TripAdvisor.

Your feedback with regards to our rooms is extremely important to us and allows us to continually monitor and improve our services. I am sorry to hear about the difficulties you experienced with the mattress and I apologize most sincerely for the uncomfortable situation.
Please be assured that we will review all your points to assess what improvements we can make in the future.

I hope we will have the opportunity to welcome you once again, to demonstrate you our high quality of service. Please do not hesitate to contact us if we can be of any further assistance to you.

Best regards
Johannes Rudrof
Guest Relation Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Knislinge, Sweden
Level Contributor
66 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
Reviewed 5 January 2013

Would like to recommend this hotel for anyone planning to visit Vienna old city. Short walk to main attractions and cultural events. Hotel is fresh and the young staff professional. Rooms are nice and clean. You may want to ask for a room near the elevators if you want to avoid walking long corridores in a historical building.

  • Stayed December 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Thomas T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Mercure_Biedermeier, Leiter Gästebetreuung at Mercure Grand Hotel Biedermeier Wien, responded to this review, 6 January 2013
Dear Guest,

thank you very much for taking the time to post a review about your recent stay in our Mercure Grand Hotel Biedermeier.

It was particularly pleasing to see that your impression of our location and service was good and that you felt well taken care of during your stay. Feedback is always important, as it is a vital way of reviewing the level of service.

We are all looking forward to welcome you back to Mercure Grand Hotel Biedermeier soon again and wish you a Happy New Year.

Johannes Rudrof
Guest Relation Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Vienna hotels
Landstraße
Ruby Sofie Hotel Vienna
Ruby Sofie Hotel Vienna
#48 of 362 in Vienna
458 reviews
Josefstadt
Mercure Josefshof Wien am Rathaus
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Leopoldstadt
Mercure Wien City
Mercure Wien City
#135 of 362 in Vienna
948 reviews
Inner City
Hotel Am Parkring
Hotel Am Parkring
#22 of 362 in Vienna
626 reviews
Inner City
Mercure Wien Zentrum
Mercure Wien Zentrum
#122 of 362 in Vienna
1,445 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Mercure Grand Hotel Biedermeier Wien? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Mercure Grand Hotel Biedermeier Wien

Property: Mercure Grand Hotel Biedermeier Wien
Address: Landstrasser Hauptstrasse 28, Vienna 1030, Austria
Phone Number:
Region: Austria > Vienna Region > Vienna
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#17 Spa Hotel in Vienna
#58 Family Hotel in Vienna
#67 Romantic Hotel in Vienna
#68 Luxury Hotel in Vienna
#74 Business Hotel in Vienna
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:4 star — Mercure Grand Hotel Biedermeier Wien 4*
Number of rooms: 198
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Mercure Grand Hotel Biedermeier Wien is a superior 4 star hotel in typical Biedermeier style, offering 198 rooms and suites. 1500 M from the city centre and St Stephens cathedral, the hotel is located in a quiet, heritage style Biedermeier arcade. 300 M away, you will find the subway and train stations as well as bus and tram stops. 16 Km from the airport. The hotel offers a cafe restaurant, hotel bar and the rustic Weissgerberstube pub. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Southall Travel, ACCOR, Traveltool, S.L.U., TripOnline SA, Evoline ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your Mercure Grand Hotel Biedermeier Wien reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Accor Grand Hotel Biedermeier Wien

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing