We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Overall good experience.”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Mercure Grand Hotel Biedermeier Wien
Ranked #101 of 359 Hotels in Vienna
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 28 March 2013

V stayed thr for 5 nights as my hubby was in vienna for a conference. Though it wasnt close to the convention center it was very convenient for me n my 3yrs old daughtr to roam around. Train station on a walkin distance around 10 to 15 mins walk. Good comfortable safe area around to spend time as well as one halal food eatout very close to the hotel. Vienna is a very friendly n safe city good weather in these days n plus a good hotel made it an enjoyable stay. The room v took was a suite a large one very spacious n all but reachin thr was a tough job. Lift is till 3rd floor n thn v had to walk lots of corridors n stairs to reach our destinaton which was tiring but eventually worth it. Wish it was nt that long way! Room service was fine sumtimes quick sumtimes needed things recv aftr many reminders. Staff was overall helpful. Anothr point whch was improtant was that no brkfast buffet included so v did nt avail breakfast or any meal at the hotel. Internet was free but no wireless in rooms which was anothr point of concern. Hope this gets solved soon. Overall a good experience. Mercure is always a good credible name!

  • Stayed: March 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank ffaz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Mercure_Biedermeier, Leiter Gästebetreuung at Mercure Grand Hotel Biedermeier Wien, responded to this reviewResponded 29 March 2013

Dear Guest,

Thank you very much for sharing your impressions about our Mercure Grand Hotel Biedermeier with the Tripadvisor community. Feedback as yours is always important to us.

I am more than happy to hear that you felt comfortable in our Hotel and that you could enjoy the friendliness and helpfulness of our staff. I am sorry to hear that you had trouble with our internet connection and want to apologize for any inconvenience. Anyway I am very happy to tell you and the whole tripadvisor community, that we are working very hard to find a solution for this problem and we are confident to solve this issue in the near future.

If you come back to Vienna we would love to host you again and provide you an even better service in the future.

Best Regards

Johannes Rudrof
Guest Relation Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (1,207)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

506 - 512 of 1,207 reviews

Reviewed 19 March 2013

I am happy to recommend this hotel for a visit to Vienna and I also recommend Vienna as a wonderful city.
The building has been cleverly adapted to make the most of old property and is well maintained and clean. Liked the conservatory formed between 2 buildings and the 3 floors of reception area formed over the alley way. This compensates for the building being formed on 2 sides of an alley, not always connecting.
The staff were excellent without exception.
Our room was quite small but not bad for a major city.
Breakfast was very good and very well servised by staff. Particularly liked having omlettes freshly cooked to order. Also ate there for 1 dinner and was so much better than the meal in the pub at the end of the alleyway which ripped us off.
Nice touches such as umbrella in wardrobe. Internet access was free.Lots of good toiletries but large container in shower finished and was not refilled. Also missed creams for coffees 1 morning, requested at reception and was only delivered after we left for the day. These are my only negative comments.
Vienna itself was wonderful but very cold in mid March.
Would recommend visit to oldest restaurant in Vienna on the Fleisch Market and do not miss the signatures on the wall in 1 room - Bethoven, Straus, Pavarotti, Mozart, Johnny Cash, etc.

  • Stayed: March 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank flyingscott
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Mercure_Biedermeier, Leiter Gästebetreuung at Mercure Grand Hotel Biedermeier Wien, responded to this reviewResponded 21 March 2013

Dear Guest,

Thank you very much for your recent stay at Mercure Grandhotel Biedermeier. It was a pleasure for us, having you as our guest. We truly appreciate you are taking the time to share your comments regarding your stay.

Your feedback is extremely important, as it helps us to continually improve our services and provide a memorable experience for our guests.
It is fantastic to hear that you enjoyed our perfect location; thank you for complimenting our friendly staff as well.

It makes us very proud that you had a nice stay with us and I hope we will be able to welcome you again another time.

Best regards

Johannes Rudrof
Guest Relation Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 March 2013

Despite the hotel looking dated, it ticked lots of boxes. So many design hotels would do well to stop compromising decor for comfort. Brilliant bathroom with infra red switch for keeping warm when drying off after a bath/shower. Fantastic lighting in the bathroom, a real plus and surprisingly rare these days. An umbrella in case of rain and all the usual extras as well as friendly helpful service.
Excellent breakfast buffet. Location just off centre but close enough to walk in. Tube line nearby with connections to all parts of Vienna.
We experienced some noise disruption a couple of nights from people in the lane outside our room. Apart from that we enjoyed our stay.

  • Stayed: March 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Josephine60
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Mercure_Biedermeier, Leiter Gästebetreuung at Mercure Grand Hotel Biedermeier Wien, responded to this reviewResponded 21 March 2013

Dear Guest,

Thank you for the nice review, we appreciate you taking the time and giving us some input on your recent stay at our Mercure Grand Hotel Biedermeier.

We strive to provide our guests with unforgettable experiences and it seems that you were able to take full advantages of our facilities and amenities and enjoyed them.
Again, we are delighted to know you had a great time and we look forward to your return.

Best regards

Johannes Rudrof
Guest Relation Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 March 2013

Great location, 5mins walk from the wien mitte, easy to reach from airport and to hotel. I like the hotel sticking in a narrow alley, which gives a private feel. Booked a privilege room, spaced around 35sqm with a sitting area and free mini bar. Would recommend this hotel.

  • Stayed: March 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Accorhotels.com
Thank Asterer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Mercure_Biedermeier, Leiter Gästebetreuung at Mercure Grand Hotel Biedermeier Wien, responded to this reviewResponded 21 March 2013

Dear Guest,

thank you very much for taking the time to post a review about your recent stay in our Mercure Grand Hotel Biedermeier.

It was particularly pleasing to see that your impression of our location and service was good and that you felt well taken care of during your stay. Feedback is always important, as it is a vital way of reviewing the level of service.

We are all looking forward to welcome you back to Mercure Grand Hotel Biedermeier soon.

Johannes Rudrof
Guest Relation Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 March 2013

I have stayed here often in business trips. The service is very good. Rooms are comfortable, although no luxury. Breakfast is very very rich buffet of fresh products. They have a small and quiet gym which i like very much. About 20 minutes walk to Stephen Dom. Recommended.

  • Stayed: April 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Marin81
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Mercure_Biedermeier, Leiter Gästebetreuung at Mercure Grand Hotel Biedermeier Wien, responded to this reviewResponded 21 March 2013

Dear Guest,

What a pleasure to read your comment.

Thank you very much for staying at Mercure Grand Hotel Biedermeier Wien and for your positive remarks.

We are delighted to hear that you enjoyed and appreciated your stay.
To satisfy our guests with a personal and decent service is our daily goal.
Therefore it was my pleasure to forward your positive review to our team members.

We truly hope to welcome you back at Mercure Grand Hotel Biedermeier soon.

Best regards

Johannes Rudrof
Guest Relation Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 March 2013

Lovely, old hotel with good amenities. My room was spacious, although the first one they assigned to me was rather small and had no view.They gave me a much nicer room on request. My only problem with the hotel was that they do not have wireless except in the lobby. Even there i had difficult connecting but they do have a couple of free computers in the lobby. Location was ok but the neighbourhood was rather quiet at night. The restaurant at the entrance to the hotel was very cozy but the food was uninspired and quite pricey. Probably a better place to go just for a drink rather than a meal.

Room Tip: Room sizes seem to vary.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: February 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Hanna H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Mercure_Biedermeier, Leiter Gästebetreuung at Mercure Grand Hotel Biedermeier Wien, responded to this reviewResponded 21 March 2013

Dear Guest,

Thank you very much for sharing your impressions about our Mercure Grand Hotel Biedermeier with the Tripadvisor community. Feedback as yours is always important to us.

I am more than happy to hear that you felt comfortable in our Hotel and that you could enjoy the friendliness and helpfulness of our staff. I am sorry to hear that you had trouble with our internet connection and want to apologize for any inconvenience. Anyway I am very happy to tell you and the whole tripadvisor community, that we are working very hard to find a solution for this problem and we are confident to solve this issue in the near future.

If you come back to Vienna we would love to host you again and provide you an even better service in the future.

Best Regards

Johannes Rudrof
Guest Relation Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 February 2013

This is the kind of hotel you must stay in when you are in a city like Vienna that has a lot of attractions on offer. Located just a short walk away from Wien Mitte (where you arrive from the the train that brings you in from the airport) you can slip in and slip out like it is your own home. The staff are eager, keen to make a connection. Dante, who put our luggage in our rooms, enquired about how life is in India! The reception service is prompt! I'm so thankful they were able to quickly arrange a taxi to drop us at Volksoper. We were running very late and we could have lost the opportunity to see THE MAGIC FLUTE for which we had spent a fortune on tickets. But the fabulous people here saved the day. Their efficiency in arranging tickets for the city tour is also commendable.
Simply put, this is not just a very good hotel, but also a place that will help you get the best out of Vienna!

Room Tip: Great place if you plan to get in and get out often during the day.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: February 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank thomasxbangalore
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Mercure_Biedermeier, Leiter Gästebetreuung at Mercure Grand Hotel Biedermeier Wien, responded to this reviewResponded 28 February 2013

Dear Guest,
Thank you very much for taking the time to write a review about your recent stay at Mercure Grand Hotel Biedermeier on TripAdvisor.

We are delighted to hear that we were able to fulfill nearly all of your expectations and thank you very much for mentioning especially our good location and our professional staff.

If you ever have the possiblitly to return to Vienna, we would look forward to welcoming you again.

Best regards

Johannes Rudrof
Guest Relation Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Vienna hotels
Josefstadt
Mercure Josefshof Wien am Rathaus
Landstraße
Ruby Sofie Hotel Vienna
Ruby Sofie Hotel Vienna
#42 of 359 in Vienna
716 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Inner City
Mercure Wien Zentrum
Mercure Wien Zentrum
#117 of 359 in Vienna
1,516 reviews
Leopoldstadt
Mercure Wien City
Mercure Wien City
#135 of 359 in Vienna
1,021 reviews
Inner City
Mercure Vienna First
Mercure Vienna First
#35 of 359 in Vienna
462 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Mercure Grand Hotel Biedermeier Wien? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Mercure Grand Hotel Biedermeier Wien

Address: Landstrasser Hauptstrasse 28, Vienna 1030, Austria
Phone Number:
Region: Austria > Vienna Region > Vienna
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#18 Spa Hotel in Vienna
#58 Family Hotel in Vienna
#67 Romantic Hotel in Vienna
#74 Luxury Hotel in Vienna
#74 Business Hotel in Vienna
Price Range: £58 - £158 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Mercure Grand Hotel Biedermeier Wien 4*
Number of rooms: 198
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Mercure Grand Hotel Biedermeier Wien is a superior 4 star hotel in typical Biedermeier style, offering 198 rooms and suites. 1500 M from the city centre and St Stephens cathedral, the hotel is located in a quiet, heritage style Biedermeier arcade. 300 M away, you will find the subway and train stations as well as bus and tram stops. 16 Km from the airport. The hotel offers a cafe restaurant, hotel bar and the rustic Weissgerberstube pub. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Travel Republic (UK), TripOnline SA, Ctrip TA, Hotels.com, Agoda, ACCOR, Southall Travel, Ebookers, HotelsClick, Evoline ltd, 5viajes2012 S.L. and Cancelon so you can book your Mercure Grand Hotel Biedermeier Wien reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Accor Grand Hotel Biedermeier Wien

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing