We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice Hotel, but no WiFi in hotel rooms”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Mercure Grand Hotel Biedermeier Wien
Ranked #98 of 360 Hotels in Vienna
Certificate of Excellence
Port Washington, New York
Level 4 Contributor
30 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“Nice Hotel, but no WiFi in hotel rooms”
Reviewed 26 September 2013 via mobile

I have stayed in Accor Hotels over 100 nights this year and this is the only one I encountered to have no Wifi in the guest rooms. To me this is unacceptable. The rooms were clean and comfortable. The hotel is quaint and you can walk to St Stephen's Cathedral in 15 minutes. The staff were nice and helpful.

Stayed September 2013, travelled with friends
Helpful?
Thank MichaelPer_61
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Mercure_Biedermeier, Leiter Front Office at Mercure Grand Hotel Biedermeier Wien, responded to this review, 5 October 2013
Dear Guest,

We very much appreciate your comments regarding your stay at the Mercure Wien Grandhotel Biedermeier. It is always a pleasure to receive positive feedback.

I will share your comments with our team. I am sure that this feedback will serve as an encouragement to all of our staff as we strive to continuously improve the quality of our services. We currently work on a WiFi solution for all bedrooms which I hope will solve the Internet problem.

Thank you again for sharing your experience, and we hope your next visit will be as pleasant as the previous one.

Sincerely,
Benjamin Kuhn
Front Office Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,153 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    428
    533
    155
    27
    10
See reviews for
150
497
73
263
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (119)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Perth, Australia
Level 4 Contributor
19 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed 26 September 2013

Situated in a central location, a short walk from two different u-bahn stations. A 5-10 min walk to the airport cat stop. A nice hotel with helpful and friendly staff. Our room was spacious and comfortable. The wifi was fast without any connection issues. The only negative was our shower head which didn’t work too well. Regardless of this, we would still stay here again.

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Nel79
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Mercure_Biedermeier, Leiter Front Office at Mercure Grand Hotel Biedermeier Wien, responded to this review, 12 October 2013
Dear guest,

Thank you very much for sharing your experience with the tripadvisor community. We are delighted to see that you enjoyed your stay with us as well as the good location of our hotel.

We are looking forward to welcoming you again and we hope your next visit will be as pleasant as the previous one.

With all our best wishes and have a great time!

Benjamin Kuhn
Front Office Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London
Level 6 Contributor
171 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 54 helpful votes
Reviewed 18 September 2013

This is situated in a traditional long Viennese alleyway and the rooms are on both sides of the alley with the reception somewhere in the middle. If you have any mobility issues ask for a room near the lifts as you could end up with a long walk otherwise. Also be prepared to carry your luggage down a long alleyway as the entrance is some distance from the street. Even if you use the carpark you will need to be able to carry your luggage. Having said that this is a delightful hotel in a very central location just a short walk from Wien Mitte and Rochusgasse metro stops. We passed on breakfast at the hotel but there are any number of places to eat a very short walk away. We went to Zuckergoscherl every morning near Rochusgasse and had a big breakfast with eggs for under 8 euros each. The staff at the hotel were very helpful but I think a hotel such as this should offer wifi in the room. My only other criticism was that the housekeeping let an otherwise excellent stay down - lights didn't work, our liquid soap bottle was not refilled and when we requested for it to be done the lady who came was unable to change it. I would stay here again as its central location made it so convenient.

Room Tip: Close to the central elevator.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Scrapmate
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Mercure_Biedermeier, Leiter Front Office at Mercure Grand Hotel Biedermeier Wien, responded to this review, 12 October 2013
Dear guest,

Thank you very much for sharing your experience with the tripadvisor community. We are delighted to see that you enjoyed your stay with us as well as the good location of our hotel.

We are looking forward to welcoming you again and we hope your next visit will be as pleasant as the previous one.

With all our best wishes and have a great time!

Benjamin Kuhn
Front Office Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Calgary, Canada
Level 6 Contributor
286 reviews
49 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 163 helpful votes
Reviewed 15 September 2013

I had trouble landing on a rating for this hotel. It is and odd set up as reception is halfway down an alley that you must walk through, dragging your bags on cobblestone. The alley would be lovely in good weather with plenty of tables for enjoying a drink and treat. The hotel is former apartments I believe with incredibly long hall ways.

Our room on floor 1 was very large with a sitting area and two good sized beds. Toilet was separate from shower room which was nice. Some better towels would have been nice. Bed was very comfortable as were the pillows. Linens were very good as well.

Wifi was available only in the lobby. There were also two computers in the lounge for patrons use. Connection was good on the computers, a little sketchy on the wifi side.

Dining room was elegant and the food was delicious, service was wonderful and price was excellent value. Wine selection and menu was very nice. The rooms and the entire hotel was very clean, all the time. It was very quiet, we slept with the windows open.

All the staff were very helpful and courteous, offering directions and travel information with a smile. Its about 30 to 40 minutes from the airport, and about 30 to 40 euros for the ride. The hotel is about 15 to 20 minutes walk to the old town and the cathedral area. There is loads to see in Vienna, and much of it is within a 30 minute walk including the museum quarter. There was a great pizza place just across the street, and grocery store just a few doors down. Lots of cafes in the area.

It may not be quite four stars, but is is a full three and a half. I would highly recommend this Mercure hotel.

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Malone2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Mercure_Biedermeier, Leiter Front Office at Mercure Grand Hotel Biedermeier Wien, responded to this review, 12 October 2013
Dear Guest,

Thank you very much for your recent stay at Mercure Grandhotel Biedermeier. It was a pleasure for us, having you as our guest. We truly appreciate you are taking the time to share your comments regarding your stay.

It makes us very proud that you had a nice stay with us and I hope we will be able to welcome you again another time.

Best regards

Benjamin Kuhn
Front Office Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Vienna hotels
Leopoldstadt
Mercure Wien City
Mercure Wien City
#134 of 360 in Vienna
980 reviews
Josefstadt
Mercure Josefshof Wien am Rathaus
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Landstraße
Ruby Sofie Hotel Vienna
Ruby Sofie Hotel Vienna
#47 of 360 in Vienna
531 reviews
Inner City
Mercure Wien Zentrum
Mercure Wien Zentrum
#121 of 360 in Vienna
1,475 reviews
Inner City
Mercure Vienna First
Mercure Vienna First
#35 of 360 in Vienna
423 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Mercure Grand Hotel Biedermeier Wien? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Mercure Grand Hotel Biedermeier Wien

Property: Mercure Grand Hotel Biedermeier Wien
Address: Landstrasser Hauptstrasse 28, Vienna 1030, Austria
Phone Number:
Region: Austria > Vienna Region > Vienna
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#17 Spa Hotel in Vienna
#58 Family Hotel in Vienna
#67 Romantic Hotel in Vienna
#71 Luxury Hotel in Vienna
#74 Business Hotel in Vienna
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:4 star — Mercure Grand Hotel Biedermeier Wien 4*
Number of rooms: 198
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Mercure Grand Hotel Biedermeier Wien is a superior 4 star hotel in typical Biedermeier style, offering 198 rooms and suites. 1500 M from the city centre and St Stephens cathedral, the hotel is located in a quiet, heritage style Biedermeier arcade. 300 M away, you will find the subway and train stations as well as bus and tram stops. 16 Km from the airport. The hotel offers a cafe restaurant, hotel bar and the rustic Weissgerberstube pub. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Priceline, Booking.com, Ebookers, Odigeo, Hotels.com, ACCOR, Ctrip TA, Southall Travel, Agoda, TripOnline SA, 5viajes2012 S.L., Evoline ltd and Cancelon so you can book your Mercure Grand Hotel Biedermeier Wien reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Accor Grand Hotel Biedermeier Wien

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing