We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Comfort in a great location” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Mercure Grand Hotel Biedermeier Wien

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Mercure Grand Hotel Biedermeier Wien
Ranked #93 of 367 Hotels in Vienna
Certificate of Excellence
Ottawa, Canada
Level Contributor
127 reviews
35 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 47 helpful votes
“Comfort in a great location”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 30 September 2013

This hotel is located very close to a subway station as well as streetcar stations. It is only a couple of minutes away from the Ringstrasse which is close to most attractions. Our room was large with two bathrooms and a living room. The beds were comfortable, however, the duvets were a bit short for a tall person. The hotel was very quiet. We didn't visit the bars because they did not cater to non-smoking guests - there doesn't appear to be a non-smoking law in Austria - every restaurant owner decides if s/he wants a non-smoking environment or not. However, there was a non-smoking restaurant serving Austrian dishes as you entered into the lovely hotel courtyard.

Room Tip: I don't recommend the loft rooms as the windows are too high and some of the bathrooms have a sl...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Bea_613
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Mercure_Biedermeier, Leiter Front Office at Mercure Grand Hotel Biedermeier Wien, responded to this review, 5 October 2013
Dear Guest,

Dear Guest,

We very much appreciate your comments regarding your stay at the Mercure Wien Grandhotel Biedermeier. It is always a pleasure to receive positive feedback.

I will share your comments with our team. I am sure that this feedback will serve as an encouragement to all of our staff as we strive to continuously improve the quality of our services.

Thank you again for sharing your experience, and we hope your next visit will be as pleasant as the previous one.

Sincerely,
Benjamin Kuhn
Front Office Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,059 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    398
    488
    142
    23
    8
See reviews for
139
445
68
246
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (113)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Riyadh, Saudi Arabia
Level Contributor
19 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 28 September 2013

It was a great hotel, great service, great restaurants, great location - nearly perfect, in a perfect city. There was no wifi in the rooms only wired connections.
The rooms were very small but you expect that in Europe, I guess. Very clean although carpet could be better. The rest was very clean.
Fantastic service by staff!!!!

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled solo
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Sebastian L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Mercure_Biedermeier, Leiter Front Office at Mercure Grand Hotel Biedermeier Wien, responded to this review, 5 October 2013
Dear Guest,

We very much appreciate your comments regarding your stay at the Mercure Wien Grandhotel Biedermeier. It is always a pleasure to receive positive feedback.

I will share your comments with our team. I am sure that this feedback will serve as an encouragement to all of our staff as we strive to continuously improve the quality of our services. We currently work hard to find a WiFi solution for all guestrooms.

Thank you again for sharing your experience, and we hope your next visit will be as pleasant as the previous one.

Sincerely,
Benjamin Kuhn
Front Office Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cardiff, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
18 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 26 September 2013

I stayed here for four nights at the end of August in one of the privilege rooms. This was a little more - £60 extra for the whole stay (excluding breakfast) but it was worth it. The room was in a recess from the corridor so it was quiet. It was also a really good size room, lots of space, with a sofa in front of the bed. The toilet and shower/sink room were separate. An advantage of booking a privilege room was that the mini bar was included in the price, so ach day it was topped up with two bottles of an Austrian beer, orange juice, cola, and some bottles of still and fizzy water (the water was good for taking out with us for the day). There were also a couple of snacks, which were a packet of peanuts and a wafer biscuit. Tea and coffee making facilities were also in the room.Our room was kept very clean during our stay, which was good.

This hotel is about a 15-20 minutes walk from the centre of Vienna, and we did walk in a few times. It's a few minutes away from Wien Mitte station which was really convenient for our stay as we caught the U BahnCard from there, as we found this the quickest and easiest way to explore the city. For the journey to and from the airport the CAT train goes from that station too, so the location has its advantages. I liked that the hotel was located at the end of a quiet cobbled alleyway, it made it feel more secluded as we didn't face out onto the main road. The hotel has a bar which we went to in te evening and for our evening meal we went to the restaurant at the entrance to the alleyway the Weissgerber Stube a few times which we enjoyed (it had a few vegetarian dishes) and the Italian place across the main street from the hotel. Breakfast was quite pricy so instead of having it at the hotel we popped to the Aldi a few doors down and got some pastries there which was a lot cheaper.

All in all, I'd recommend this hotel. Although it's not the most central place to stay this didn't matter since we could catch the U Bahn close by and it's probably quieter than these hotels too.

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Tigerlily18
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Mercure_Biedermeier, Leiter Front Office at Mercure Grand Hotel Biedermeier Wien, responded to this review, 5 October 2013
Dear guest,

Thank you very much for staying at Mercure Grand Hotel Biedermeier Wien and for your positive remarks.

We are delighted to hear that you enjoyed and appreciated your stay.
To satisfy our guests with a personal and decent service is our daily goal.
Therefore it was my pleasure to forward your positive review to our team members.

We truly hope to welcome you back at Mercure Grand Hotel Biedermeier soon.

Best regards

Benjamin Kuhn
Front Office Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Port Washington, New York
Level Contributor
27 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 26 September 2013 via mobile

I have stayed in Accor Hotels over 100 nights this year and this is the only one I encountered to have no Wifi in the guest rooms. To me this is unacceptable. The rooms were clean and comfortable. The hotel is quaint and you can walk to St Stephen's Cathedral in 15 minutes. The staff were nice and helpful.

Stayed September 2013, travelled with friends
Helpful?
Thank MichaelPer_61
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Mercure_Biedermeier, Leiter Front Office at Mercure Grand Hotel Biedermeier Wien, responded to this review, 5 October 2013
Dear Guest,

We very much appreciate your comments regarding your stay at the Mercure Wien Grandhotel Biedermeier. It is always a pleasure to receive positive feedback.

I will share your comments with our team. I am sure that this feedback will serve as an encouragement to all of our staff as we strive to continuously improve the quality of our services. We currently work on a WiFi solution for all bedrooms which I hope will solve the Internet problem.

Thank you again for sharing your experience, and we hope your next visit will be as pleasant as the previous one.

Sincerely,
Benjamin Kuhn
Front Office Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Perth, Australia
Level Contributor
19 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 26 September 2013

Situated in a central location, a short walk from two different u-bahn stations. A 5-10 min walk to the airport cat stop. A nice hotel with helpful and friendly staff. Our room was spacious and comfortable. The wifi was fast without any connection issues. The only negative was our shower head which didn’t work too well. Regardless of this, we would still stay here again.

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Nel79
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Mercure_Biedermeier, Leiter Front Office at Mercure Grand Hotel Biedermeier Wien, responded to this review, 12 October 2013
Dear guest,

Thank you very much for sharing your experience with the tripadvisor community. We are delighted to see that you enjoyed your stay with us as well as the good location of our hotel.

We are looking forward to welcoming you again and we hope your next visit will be as pleasant as the previous one.

With all our best wishes and have a great time!

Benjamin Kuhn
Front Office Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London
Level Contributor
150 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 51 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 18 September 2013

This is situated in a traditional long Viennese alleyway and the rooms are on both sides of the alley with the reception somewhere in the middle. If you have any mobility issues ask for a room near the lifts as you could end up with a long walk otherwise. Also be prepared to carry your luggage down a long alleyway as the entrance is some distance from the street. Even if you use the carpark you will need to be able to carry your luggage. Having said that this is a delightful hotel in a very central location just a short walk from Wien Mitte and Rochusgasse metro stops. We passed on breakfast at the hotel but there are any number of places to eat a very short walk away. We went to Zuckergoscherl every morning near Rochusgasse and had a big breakfast with eggs for under 8 euros each. The staff at the hotel were very helpful but I think a hotel such as this should offer wifi in the room. My only other criticism was that the housekeeping let an otherwise excellent stay down - lights didn't work, our liquid soap bottle was not refilled and when we requested for it to be done the lady who came was unable to change it. I would stay here again as its central location made it so convenient.

Room Tip: Close to the central elevator.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, travelled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Scrapmate
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Mercure_Biedermeier, Leiter Front Office at Mercure Grand Hotel Biedermeier Wien, responded to this review, 12 October 2013
Dear guest,

Thank you very much for sharing your experience with the tripadvisor community. We are delighted to see that you enjoyed your stay with us as well as the good location of our hotel.

We are looking forward to welcoming you again and we hope your next visit will be as pleasant as the previous one.

With all our best wishes and have a great time!

Benjamin Kuhn
Front Office Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Vienna hotels
Landstraße
Ruby Sofie Hotel Vienna
Ruby Sofie Hotel Vienna
#48 of 367 in Vienna
4.5 of 5 bubbles 451 reviews
Leopoldstadt
Mercure Wien City
Mercure Wien City
#142 of 367 in Vienna
4.0 of 5 bubbles 930 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Josefstadt
Mercure Josefshof Wien am Rathaus
Inner City
Mercure Wien Zentrum
Mercure Wien Zentrum
#118 of 367 in Vienna
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,430 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Mercure Grand Hotel Biedermeier Wien? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Mercure Grand Hotel Biedermeier Wien

Property: Mercure Grand Hotel Biedermeier Wien
Address: Landstrasser Hauptstrasse 28, Vienna 1030, Austria
Phone Number:
Region: Austria > Vienna Region > Vienna
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#17 Spa Hotel in Vienna
#58 Family Hotel in Vienna
#67 Romantic Hotel in Vienna
#68 Luxury Hotel in Vienna
#74 Business Hotel in Vienna
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:4 star — Mercure Grand Hotel Biedermeier Wien 4*
Number of rooms: 198
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Mercure Grand Hotel Biedermeier Wien is a superior 4 star hotel in typical Biedermeier style, offering 198 rooms and suites. 1500 M from the city centre and St Stephens cathedral, the hotel is located in a quiet, heritage style Biedermeier arcade. 300 M away, you will find the subway and train stations as well as bus and tram stops. 16 Km from the airport. The hotel offers a cafe restaurant, hotel bar and the rustic Weissgerberstube pub. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Southall Travel, Agoda, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Hotel.de and ACCOR so you can book your Mercure Grand Hotel Biedermeier Wien reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Accor Grand Hotel Biedermeier Wien

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing