We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Fantastic room”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Mercure Grand Hotel Biedermeier Wien
Ranked #96 of 360 Hotels in Vienna
Certificate of Excellence
Write a Review

1,153 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    428
    533
    155
    27
    10
See reviews for
150
497
73
263
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (119)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Meridian, Idaho
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 19 March 2014

I recently stayed 8 nights at this hotel while in Wien to perform at Stephansdom. I felt the hotel was conveniently located, only a couple of blocks from the downtown Wien U and had some wonderful restaurants and amenities close by. The room was very clean and pleasant however for most people from the U.S. who don't travel overseas a lot, you will find it very small. The breakfast offered every morning was exceptional and the staff was very willing to help when they could.

  • Stayed December 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank jmckay0901
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Mercure_Biedermeier, Manager at Mercure Grand Hotel Biedermeier Wien, responded to this review, 31 March 2014
Dear Mr. McKay,

We very much appreciate your comments regarding your stay at the Mercure Wien Grandhotel Biedermeier. It is always a pleasure to receive positive feedback.

I will share your comments with our team. I am sure that this feedback will serve as an encouragement to all of our staff as we strive to continuously improve the quality of our services.

Thank you again for sharing your experience, and we hope your next visit will be as pleasant as the previous one.

Sincerely,

Benjamin Kuhn
Rooms Division Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed 11 March 2014

This is an OK hotel in a very nice location, inside a quiet pedestrian passage on a main commercial street, close to a shopping mall and few minutes walking distance from the subway.

The hotel itself is nothing exceptional, rooms are clean and brekfast is ok... nothing remarkably good or bad about this hotel, but, as most hotels in Vienna: overpriced.

We stayed for 4 nights in a "Privileg" room, which was quite big, but quite tastelessly designed with a minusculous bathroom and a separate WC where the door could not be closed if a person inside... both very clean though...

There were only 4 hangers in the closet and the reception claimed they could not deliver an iron to the room, which for me is a key service in a business hotel. An iron and an ironnig board are standard hotel room equipment in the US and Asia, and they are delivered upon request in most Hotels in Europe. I consider it a pain to have to ask for it when I arrive tired to my room, and have no understading for hotels not offering this service at all, especially 4 star ones.

It seems there is a terrace with a small garden, which might be nice in the summer time.

There are much better hotels in Vienna for a similar price, but the location itlself is pretty nice.

  • Stayed March 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank Bogabonga
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Mercure_Biedermeier, Manager at Mercure Grand Hotel Biedermeier Wien, responded to this review, 31 March 2014
Dear Guest,

Thank you for taking the time to tell us about your experience at the Mercure Wien Grand Hotel Biedermeier. I am sorry that your experience did not meet your expectations; please allow me to express my sincerest apologies.

At Mercure, we strive to provide a superior service experience for every customer; therefore your feedback is very important to us. As the Hotel is a listed building we have very strictive fire regulations from the local fire police, the iron is therefore not permitted in the room. We do provide an Ironing service with a member of staff ironing your cloth or you can use the ironing station provided in the public areas.

I am sorry that you did not appreciate the furnishings in the room. They are selected in keeping with the Biedermeier style which reflects the time when this builing was first constructed in 1837.

We appreciate your sharing your concerns, and it is our hope that you will give us the opportunity to better serve you in the near future.

Best regards,
Benjamin Kuhn
Rooms Division Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Vienna, Austria
1 review
Reviewed 8 March 2014 via mobile

I have stayed here for two weeks , and one to go, nice relaxing one , staff are friendly , also they provide a free site seeing tour , in which you will see Vienna as you never see it before , the tour guide is a very lovely lady , knows a lot of languages , with a lot of wide knowledge , I really enjoyed it , would be recommended for others

Stayed March 2014, travelled on business
Helpful?
Thank Sherif E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Mercure_Biedermeier, Manager at Mercure Grand Hotel Biedermeier Wien, responded to this review, 9 March 2014
Dear Sherif E,

We very much appreciate your comments regarding your stay at the Mercure Wien Grandhotel Biedermeier. It is always a pleasure to receive positive feedback.

I will share your comments with our team. I am sure that this feedback will serve as an encouragement to all of our staff as we strive to continuously improve the quality of our services. I am happy that you took the opportunity to take part in our free city walk which is offered every saturday in german and english.

Thank you again for sharing your experience, and we hope your next visit will be as pleasant as the previous one.

Sincerely,

Benjamin Kuhn
Rooms Division Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Seattle, Washington
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 27 February 2014

The hotel is nice and charming, we enjoyed our room after an upgrade to a mini suite. Restaurants are great and staff is friendly and helpful. Exercise room doesn't have any weights or strength machines. In-room wi-fi only worked for one night out of 4. We were also offered a free tour on Saturday and not informed on the proper starting point, so make sure you ask. There are only two TV channels in English, no North American. Nevertheless, it was a pleasant stay. Hopefully some of these small things can be fixed in the future.

Room Tip: Pick a bigger one that you normally would, rooms are on a smaller side.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank seagull324
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Mercure_Biedermeier, Manager at Mercure Grand Hotel Biedermeier Wien, responded to this review, 9 March 2014
Dear Seagull32,

We very much appreciate your comments regarding your stay at the Mercure Wien Grandhotel Biedermeier. It is always a pleasure to receive positive feedback.

I will share your comments with our team. I am sure that this feedback will serve as an encouragement to all of our staff as we strive to continuously improve the quality of our services.

I do appologize about the WIFI problem during your stay, the service has since been restored and works well, I have also passed on your feedback about the lack of communication about the starting point of your complimentary city walk on saturdays, I hope you were still able to take advantage of this offer.

Thank you again for sharing your experience, and we hope your next visit will be as pleasant as the previous one.

Sincerely,

Benjamin Kuhn
Rooms Division Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Canonsburg, Pennsylvania
Level 4 Contributor
29 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed 23 February 2014

Mercure Grand Hotel Biedermeier Wien was a real gem near the heart of Vienna! A quick taxi cab ride from the train station to an unassuming entrance down a cobblestone alley. I have to say that the staff at the hotel desk were absolutely amazing! The assisted us with everything from directions to help with airline confirmation at the business center to getting us a taxi to the airport on our departure. I really can't say enough about how friendly and professional everyone was. They truly made our stay special, even with the large tourist groups coming and going we did not get lost in the shuffle!

Our room was modest in size but big in comfort and style. The bathroom was well appointed and quite large with a nice hot shower. The whole hotel was clean and well managed!

Everything was just a short walk away including the Airport Train ( a cab was much easier and only a Euro or two more!), metro system, and the Vienna Ring Tram! We did not eat at the hotel, but there are many restaurants very close by.

Great place to stay and relax!

  • Stayed July 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Stushman
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Mercure_Biedermeier, Manager at Mercure Grand Hotel Biedermeier Wien, responded to this review, 9 March 2014
Dear Stushman,

We very much appreciate your comments regarding your stay at the Mercure Wien Grandhotel Biedermeier. It is always a pleasure to receive positive feedback.

I will share your comments with our team. I am sure that this feedback will serve as an encouragement to all of our staff as we strive to continuously improve the quality of our services.

Thank you again for sharing your experience, and we hope your next visit will be as pleasant as the previous one.

Sincerely,

Benjamin Kuhn
Rooms Division Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Vienna hotels
Leopoldstadt
Mercure Wien City
Mercure Wien City
#135 of 360 in Vienna
979 reviews
Josefstadt
Mercure Josefshof Wien am Rathaus
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Landstraße
Ruby Sofie Hotel Vienna
Ruby Sofie Hotel Vienna
#48 of 360 in Vienna
526 reviews
Inner City
Mercure Wien Zentrum
Mercure Wien Zentrum
#123 of 360 in Vienna
1,475 reviews
Inner City
Mercure Vienna First
Mercure Vienna First
#34 of 360 in Vienna
422 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Mercure Grand Hotel Biedermeier Wien? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Mercure Grand Hotel Biedermeier Wien

Property: Mercure Grand Hotel Biedermeier Wien
Address: Landstrasser Hauptstrasse 28, Vienna 1030, Austria
Phone Number:
Region: Austria > Vienna Region > Vienna
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#17 Spa Hotel in Vienna
#58 Family Hotel in Vienna
#67 Romantic Hotel in Vienna
#70 Luxury Hotel in Vienna
#74 Business Hotel in Vienna
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:4 star — Mercure Grand Hotel Biedermeier Wien 4*
Number of rooms: 198
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Mercure Grand Hotel Biedermeier Wien is a superior 4 star hotel in typical Biedermeier style, offering 198 rooms and suites. 1500 M from the city centre and St Stephens cathedral, the hotel is located in a quiet, heritage style Biedermeier arcade. 300 M away, you will find the subway and train stations as well as bus and tram stops. 16 Km from the airport. The hotel offers a cafe restaurant, hotel bar and the rustic Weissgerberstube pub. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, ACCOR, Booking.com, Priceline, Hotels.com, Agoda, Southall Travel, Odigeo, Ebookers, Ctrip TA, TripOnline SA, 5viajes2012 S.L., Evoline ltd and Cancelon so you can book your Mercure Grand Hotel Biedermeier Wien reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Accor Grand Hotel Biedermeier Wien

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing