We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Fantastic hotel” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Mercure Grand Hotel Biedermeier Wien

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Mercure Grand Hotel Biedermeier Wien
Ranked #94 of 367 Hotels in Vienna
Certificate of Excellence
Christchurch, New Zealand
Level Contributor
19 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“Fantastic hotel”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 29 June 2014

Great hotel down a gorgeous little courtyard side street. Location was great, 2 metro stations very close by and surrounded by bakeries, cafés, restaurants and grocery stores. The staff were so friendly, the rooms well maintained and comfortable and the hotel restaurant itself was delicious. We really enjoyed our stay here and couldn't fault anything with the hotel. We didn't have the breakfast here but ate at local cafés nearby. Wifi in the room worked very well and was fast enough for us. Highly recommended and would definitely return to stay if we go to vienna again.

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank abbey712
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Mercure_Biedermeier, Manager at Mercure Grand Hotel Biedermeier Wien, responded to this review, 3 July 2014
Dear Abbey712,

Thank you for sharing your positive impressions with the Trip advisor community. It is always nice to receive positive feedback. At Mercure we work very hard in order to provide outstanding service and it makes us proud that we were able to impress you.

I will share your review with the team as it will serve as encouragement for the future.
Thank you again for sharing your experience, and we hope your next visit will be as pleasant as the previous one.

Sincerely,

Benjamin Kuhn
Rooms Division Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,058 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    398
    487
    142
    23
    8
See reviews for
139
445
68
245
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (113)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Flintshire, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
151 reviews
42 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 96 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 29 June 2014

Vienna is, at first, a confusing city for those who are used to the Roman city layout. Vienna has three main ring roads interconnected by streets, in turn interconnected with by-ways. This hotel, in common with others, is in one of these by-ways, seemingly always hidden from view. It's city location is excellent. Our first floor bedroom was very comfortable, although I repeatedly stubbed my toes on the oversized bed base, was quiet and overlooked private gardens. Lift service is good. The room where we breakfasted was, maybe, a little cramped, which meant that one could not use the toaster which was blocked by the queue for cereals and passage between the tables had to be "planned". Breakfast options were good. Staff were excellent and efficient.
Until you get your whereabouts in Vienna sorted out, be sure to carry the hotel address card with you and use the trams/underground to transit from area to area. This is MUST DO!

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled with friends
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Ian654
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Mercure_Biedermeier, Manager at Mercure Grand Hotel Biedermeier Wien, responded to this review, 3 July 2014
Dear Ian654,

Thank you for sharing your positive impressions with the Trip advisor community. It is always nice to receive positive feedback.

I will share your review with the team as it will serve as encouragement for the future.
Thank you again for sharing your experience, and we hope your next visit will be as pleasant as the previous one.

Sincerely,

Benjamin Kuhn
Rooms Division Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Taipei, Taiwan
Level Contributor
12 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 23 June 2014 via mobile

Be careful with the room they arrange for you. The attic room we stayed was small at the very top and the end of the building. The air conditioning flew right to your head, very uncomfortable. My husband almost got caught during the night. When we asked for changing the room, the reception guy was cold and said all the rooms were full. I think 4 star is overrated. Anyhow, will not come again, not recommend either.

Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank Linlinch
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Mercure_Biedermeier, Manager at Mercure Grand Hotel Biedermeier Wien, responded to this review, 3 July 2014
Dear Linlinch,

Thank you for taking the time to tell us about your experience at the Mercure Wien Grand Hotel Biedermeier. I am sorry that your experience did not meet your expectations; please allow me to express my sincerest apologies.

At Mercure, we strive to provide a superior service experience for every customer; therefore your feedback is very important to us. Please rest assured that we are taking the appropriate measures to address the problem and prevent future occurrence.

We appreciate your sharing your concerns, and it is our hope that you will give us the opportunity to better serve you in the near future.

Best regards,
Benjamin Kuhn
Rooms Division Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dubai, United Arab Emirates
Level Contributor
25 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 22 June 2014

This hotel could do with some loving. The entrance is through a private little alley which is both cute and spooky. Our room had a view into this alley which was quite depressing and super noisy as people & suitcases passing through would be heard in echos.. The reception area is not very welcoming and quite dark. The furniture and decor could do with a revamp. Soon.
The restaurant's staff were suuuper friendly and nice though, and the schnitzel was delish!

  • Stayed February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank azeebazee
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Mercure_Biedermeier, Manager at Mercure Grand Hotel Biedermeier Wien, responded to this review, 3 July 2014
Dear Azeebatee,

Thank you for taking the time to tell us about your experience at the Mercure Wien Grand Hotel Biedermeier. I am sorry that your experience did not meet your expectations, and that our unique and rewarded Biedermeier style is not to your liking.

We appreciate your sharing your concerns, and it is our hope that you will give us the opportunity to welcome you in the near future.

Best regards,
Benjamin Kuhn
Rooms Division Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Edinburgh, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
179 reviews
104 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 152 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 21 June 2014

The hotel in general could be lovely and probably was 10 years ago. Now it is badly in need of a refurb.

My room could have been cleaner, bathroom fittings etc had dust and dirt around the edges, basically the room was not being cleaned as thoroughly as it should.

Staff at breakfast were cold and unhelpful and constantly trying to rush people. Coffee was served in flasks and tasted ghastly. The eggs tasted of chlorine.

The location is very good, and the bar staff were really good, so the hotel does have some redeeming factors, but overall it is a bit meh.

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled on business
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Sirbalkansobranie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Mercure_Biedermeier, Manager at Mercure Grand Hotel Biedermeier Wien, responded to this review, 3 July 2014
Dear Sirbalkansobranie,

Thank you for taking the time to tell us about your experience at the Mercure Wien Grand Hotel Biedermeier. I am sorry that your experience did not meet your expectations; please allow me to express my sincerest apologies.

At Mercure, we strive to provide a superior service experience for every customer; therefore your feedback is very important to us. Please rest assured that we are taking the appropriate measures to address the problem and prevent future occurrence.

We appreciate your sharing your concerns, and it is our hope that you will give us the opportunity to better serve you in the near future.

Best regards,
Benjamin Kuhn
Rooms Division Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Avon, CT
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 17 June 2014

We stayed at the hotel the night of June 10, 2014 on the way to the airport the next morning. The hotel was surprisingly high quality for the price. The room was updated, spacious and well equipped. The bathroom was modern and spacious. There were three outdoor cafes and a restaurant as well as health club. We ate in the associated café Weissgerberstube in the walkway to the hotel and had an outstanding meal. The hotel is only 2 blocks from the Landstrasse Wien Mitte station where you can take S7 to the airport, U3 to the tourist attractions in the center of town, and U4 to the Schombrunn palace. You can also walk to most of the sites. It is a great "find" and highly recommended.

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
4 Thank LucilleM
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Mercure_Biedermeier, Manager at Mercure Grand Hotel Biedermeier Wien, responded to this review, 20 June 2014
Dear LucilleM,

Thank you for sharing your positive impressions with the Trip advisor community. It is always nice to receive positive feedback. At Mercure we work very hard in order to provide outstanding service and it makes us proud that we were able to impress you. I will share your review with the team as it will serve as encouragement for the future.
Thank you again for sharing your experience, and we hope your next visit will be as pleasant as the previous one.

Sincerely,

Benjamin Kuhn
Rooms Division Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lossiemouth, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
16 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 13 June 2014

Our Great Rail Journeys tour stayed here for 3 nights. I had a single room which was a decent size and the hotel was easily walkable from the Ringstrasse and also from its nearest Metro station. The breakfast buffet was good if confusing due to there being more than one dining area. TV channel selection was good. Because of its location above and around a shopping arcade, sleeping with the window open was not an option due to noise from the bar at the end of the passage and from people walking down and over the cobble stones. The rooms were airconditioned however but I find it difficult to sleep with airconditioning on.

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled solo
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Brenda F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Mercure_Biedermeier, Manager at Mercure Grand Hotel Biedermeier Wien, responded to this review, 20 June 2014
Dear Branda F,

Thank you for sharing your impressions with the Trip advisor community. I am sorry that you were not able to sleep with open windows, altough the hotel is in a private side alley we cannot always avoid these external influences.

Thank you again for sharing your experience, and we hope your next visit will be as pleasant as the previous one.

Sincerely,

Benjamin Kuhn
Rooms Division Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Vienna hotels
Landstraße
Ruby Sofie Hotel Vienna
Ruby Sofie Hotel Vienna
#48 of 367 in Vienna
4.5 of 5 bubbles 451 reviews
Leopoldstadt
Mercure Wien City
Mercure Wien City
#141 of 367 in Vienna
4.0 of 5 bubbles 930 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Josefstadt
Mercure Josefshof Wien am Rathaus
Inner City
Mercure Wien Zentrum
Mercure Wien Zentrum
#120 of 367 in Vienna
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,430 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Mercure Grand Hotel Biedermeier Wien? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Mercure Grand Hotel Biedermeier Wien

Property: Mercure Grand Hotel Biedermeier Wien
Address: Landstrasser Hauptstrasse 28, Vienna 1030, Austria
Phone Number:
Region: Austria > Vienna Region > Vienna
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#17 Spa Hotel in Vienna
#58 Family Hotel in Vienna
#67 Romantic Hotel in Vienna
#68 Luxury Hotel in Vienna
#74 Business Hotel in Vienna
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:4 star — Mercure Grand Hotel Biedermeier Wien 4*
Number of rooms: 198
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Mercure Grand Hotel Biedermeier Wien is a superior 4 star hotel in typical Biedermeier style, offering 198 rooms and suites. 1500 M from the city centre and St Stephens cathedral, the hotel is located in a quiet, heritage style Biedermeier arcade. 300 M away, you will find the subway and train stations as well as bus and tram stops. 16 Km from the airport. The hotel offers a cafe restaurant, hotel bar and the rustic Weissgerberstube pub. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotel.de, Agoda, ACCOR, Booking.com, Southall Travel and Hotels.com so you can book your Mercure Grand Hotel Biedermeier Wien reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Accor Grand Hotel Biedermeier Wien

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing