We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Reasonably close to the centre - a pleasant stay”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Mercure Grand Hotel Biedermeier Wien
Ranked #98 of 360 Hotels in Vienna
Certificate of Excellence
Nottingham
Level 6 Contributor
122 reviews
35 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 76 helpful votes
“Reasonably close to the centre - a pleasant stay”
Reviewed 6 August 2014

We were on a rail tour of “Grand Imperial Cities” with Great Rail Journeys and had 3 nights here. It is set at right angles to a main road about 20-30 mins walk from the centre. Reception, dining rooms and most bedrooms away from the road so reasonably quiet. Good food but breakfast was quite crowded. Staff friendly & helpful. Room quite small but adequate – a comfy chair would have been nice! Would stay again. [TIP - don't bother with the Spanish Riding School - they sell far too many tickets and for almost 30 euros each it was so over-crowded we saw almost nothing.]

Room Tip: Ask not to be on main road
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank savouk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,154 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    428
    534
    155
    27
    10
See reviews for
150
498
73
263
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (119)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Belgrade, Serbia
Level 6 Contributor
115 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 50 helpful votes
Reviewed 5 August 2014

The hotel is located in a charming alley way close to the Wien Mitte centre. Unfortunately, the charm wears off pretty quickly. The rooms are typical Mercure, small with everything chock a block stuffed in. (I will never understand why Mercure hotel closets never fit the length of coat hangers, so clothes are always stuffed into the closets.) The towels are so warn you can almost see through them.

My room was clean but several things were out of order: the air conditioning couldn't get the temperature below 29 C (outside temp was at most 30 C), the temperature control for the bath water was stuck so you could get water more than lukewarm, and the shower leaked from the top spraying water all over the room. Three days, three requests they fixed the shower leak. The water temp is still the same and the AC doesn't work. In speaking with other hotel guests no one is getting adequate AC. For that reason the rooms feel closed and stale.

My room was outside a set of steps going to another level. The noise of people dragging luggage or the maid dragging the cart with glasses would get me up between 5 and 6 am. Also, there is sort of a bellman who simply disappears if you need help with luggage. Because the alley way is cobblestone and it is at least 150 yards to the hotel, it is a bit of a challenge with heavy luggage.

The hotel's cafe has a great included breakfast. I would avoid any lunch or dinner. My all time Viennese favorite meal is Tafelspitz. When done well it is all day boiled beef slices in a variety of seasons served with cream spinach and crispy roasted favorites. Mine at the hotel Cafe was served with the beef the consistency of shoe leather (my knife wouldn't cut one of the pieces), the spinach was so salty it was inedible, and roasty potatoes were not only not crisp they were a ball of cooked potatoes. I mentioned my displeasure to the waitress who apologized. When I left i noticed the restaurant manager sitting there who simply grunted at me. There are so many wonderful restaurants in Vienna.... even if you decide to stay here... take the U ban to another section of the city.

In a sense this restaurant fiasco was my fault. I was especially tired and violated my rule of never eating at a hotel restaurant.

Room Tip: Ask to go to the room before taking it. Pay special attention to whether there are steps near your...
See more room tips
Green Features: Given the entire environment of the hotel, all of the cards advocating environmental friendliness smack of them trying to just save money.
  • Stayed August 2014, travelled on business
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank s G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Mercure_Biedermeier, Manager at Mercure Grand Hotel Biedermeier Wien, responded to this review, 14 September 2014
Dear s. G.,

Thank you for taking the time to tell us about your experience at the Mercure Wien Grand Hotel Biedermeier. I am sorry that your experience did not meet your expectations; please allow me to express my sincerest apologies.

We appreciate your sharing your concerns, and it is our hope that you will give us the opportunity to better serve you in the near future.

Best regards,
Benjamin Kuhn
Asst. General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Clarksville, Tennessee
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 4 August 2014

My wife and I booked the hotel through a travel company and the hotel was great. The staff was very friendly and accommodating to my poor English. Everyone spoke English, including the maid staff. Breakfast buffet was good and plenty of food! Our hotel was VERY clean.

The front desk staff also booked some tours for us as well.

The restaurant at the end of the walking street was also very good and reasonably priced. I'm pretty sure it's also run by the hotel, so I'll include it in this review as well. The wait staff was very friendly and the waiter we had for both meals was very helpful.

The hotel is also just a 5 minute walk or so from the main station in Vienna and the park. If/when I come back to Vienna, I'll definitely book the hotel again.

Room Tip: It was nice being able to open the windows of the hotel and get a breeze from the walking area.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Jarad S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Mercure_Biedermeier, Manager at Mercure Grand Hotel Biedermeier Wien, responded to this review, 19 August 2014
Dear Jarad S,

Thank you for sharing your positive impressions with the Trip advisor community. It is always nice to receive positive feedback. At Mercure we work very hard in order to provide outstanding service and it makes us proud that we were able to impress you.

I will share your review with the team as it will serve as encouragement for the future.
Thank you again for sharing your experience, and we hope your next visit will be as pleasant as the previous one.

Sincerely,

Benjamin Kuhn
Asst. General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Worthing, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
333 reviews
32 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 186 helpful votes
Reviewed 1 August 2014

This hotel is well positioned in a very central part of the city, being only about 10 minutes walk from Wien Mitte - The Mall where you can find the CAT City Airport Train. This gets you to and from Vienna Airport in 16 minutes and 12 Euros single, 19 Euros return.

There are shops, cinemas, market and restaurants all around. Even Stephansdom is only about 15 minutes walk away.

The rooms are clean and the breakfast is exceptionally good. Even Wifi is free. If you are English the choices on television are extremely limited - BBC World News and Sky News. How boring. The hotel is however recommended.

Green Features: The hotel tries to encourage customers to re- use towelling as by not washing them equates to saving so many trees.
  • Stayed July 2014, travelled on business
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Pisces232
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Mercure_Biedermeier, Manager at Mercure Grand Hotel Biedermeier Wien, responded to this review, 19 August 2014
Dear Pisces232,

Thank you for sharing your positive impressions with the Trip advisor community. It is always nice to receive positive feedback. At Mercure we work very hard in order to provide outstanding service and it makes us proud that we were able to impress you.

I will share your review with the team as it will serve as encouragement for the future.
Thank you again for sharing your experience, and we hope your next visit will be as pleasant as the previous one.

Sincerely,

Benjamin Kuhn
Asst. General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kaltenbrunn, Germany
Level 5 Contributor
55 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 37 helpful votes
Reviewed 28 July 2014

Alles hat perfekt funktioniert, von Reservierung, direkt bei Hotel, Garage, Rezeption, zimmer Qualität, Flurstück, Sauberkeit und preis Leistung Verhältnis. Sehr gut! Stadtmitte ist in 15-20 Minuten Zu fuß erreichbar. Ideal für paare, romantisches Abendessen und Wien Besichtigungen…
One of the hotels I highly recommend for Vienna visits. Everything excellent starting with direct reservation, reception, hospitality and friendliness of personnel, hotel cleanliness, buffet quality and location. Very classy and romantic only a few minutes away from St. Stephan church Vienna’s city center. Believe the center with its beautiful pedestrian zone is about 20 minute walk from the hotel...

Room Tip: Mit Sicht zu Garage/Park...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Adrians_Quests
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Mercure_Biedermeier, Manager at Mercure Grand Hotel Biedermeier Wien, responded to this review, 1 August 2014
Google Translation
Sehr geehrter Adi the Explorer,

wir danken Ihnen vielmals für Ihre Anmerkungen zu Ihrem Aufenthalt im Mercure Wien Grand Hotel Biedermeier.

Über Ihre durchwegs lobenden Worte freuen wir uns sehr. Ihre positiven Würdigungen werden wir selbstverständlich gerne an die betreffenden Mitarbeiter weiterleiten. Ihre Zufriedenheit ist für unsere Mitarbeiter, die Tag für Tag daran arbeiten, Ihnen einen einwandfreien Service zu bieten, die schönste Belohnung.
Ihre Anmerkungen werde ich gerne mit meinen Mitarbeitern teilen um die Qualität in Zukunft weiter zu steigern.

Wir hoffen, Sie schon bald wieder bei uns begrüßen zu dürfen.

Benjamin Kuhn
Asst. General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Manchester, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
44 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
Reviewed 27 July 2014

stayed here for 2 nights in a 2 bedroom suite, it was beautiful and very authentic Viennese hotel on a private cobbled street but in a perfect location for the newly built shopping mall, Stad park and the wonderful buildings of the main city. The staff were very helpful and aimed to please and help in any way they could. I will definitely stay here again and fully recommend this hotel.

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Ja m
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Mercure_Biedermeier, Manager at Mercure Grand Hotel Biedermeier Wien, responded to this review, 1 August 2014
Dear Ja m,

Thank you for sharing your positive impressions with the Trip advisor community. It is always nice to receive positive feedback. At Mercure we work very hard in order to provide outstanding service and it makes us proud that we were able to impress you. I will share your review with the team as it will serve as encouragement for the future.

Thank you again for sharing your experience, and we hope your next visit will be as pleasant as the previous one.

Sincerely,

Benjamin Kuhn
Asst. General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 25 July 2014 via mobile

I stayed there after 10days in Italy, hotel was the best. Got big graat room, service staff very helpfull. Breakfast superb, a lot of choices. I would like to have simillar hotel standard in Italy (stayed in 4s hotels and this is far better). Walking distance to city center and if you are cimming by car they have parking garage 19euros. For sure recommend.

Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank Sylwia M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Mercure_Biedermeier, Manager at Mercure Grand Hotel Biedermeier Wien, responded to this review, 1 August 2014
Dear Sylwia M,

Thank you very much for sharing your experience with the tripadvisor community. We are delighted to see that you enjoyed your stay with us as well as the good location of our hotel.

We are looking forward to welcoming you again and we hope your next visit will be as pleasant as the previous one.

With all our best wishes and have a great time!

Benjamin Kuhn
Asst. General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Vienna hotels
Leopoldstadt
Mercure Wien City
Mercure Wien City
#136 of 360 in Vienna
981 reviews
Josefstadt
Mercure Josefshof Wien am Rathaus
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Landstraße
Ruby Sofie Hotel Vienna
Ruby Sofie Hotel Vienna
#47 of 360 in Vienna
539 reviews
Inner City
Mercure Wien Zentrum
Mercure Wien Zentrum
#122 of 360 in Vienna
1,478 reviews
Inner City
Mercure Vienna First
Mercure Vienna First
#34 of 360 in Vienna
425 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Mercure Grand Hotel Biedermeier Wien? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Mercure Grand Hotel Biedermeier Wien

Property: Mercure Grand Hotel Biedermeier Wien
Address: Landstrasser Hauptstrasse 28, Vienna 1030, Austria
Phone Number:
Region: Austria > Vienna Region > Vienna
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#17 Spa Hotel in Vienna
#58 Family Hotel in Vienna
#67 Romantic Hotel in Vienna
#71 Luxury Hotel in Vienna
#74 Business Hotel in Vienna
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:4 star — Mercure Grand Hotel Biedermeier Wien 4*
Number of rooms: 198
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Mercure Grand Hotel Biedermeier Wien is a superior 4 star hotel in typical Biedermeier style, offering 198 rooms and suites. 1500 M from the city centre and St Stephens cathedral, the hotel is located in a quiet, heritage style Biedermeier arcade. 300 M away, you will find the subway and train stations as well as bus and tram stops. 16 Km from the airport. The hotel offers a cafe restaurant, hotel bar and the rustic Weissgerberstube pub. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Southall Travel, Priceline, Ebookers, Agoda, ACCOR, Odigeo, Ctrip TA, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Evoline ltd and Cancelon so you can book your Mercure Grand Hotel Biedermeier Wien reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Accor Grand Hotel Biedermeier Wien

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing