We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice Stay”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Mercure Grand Hotel Biedermeier Wien
Ranked #99 of 361 Hotels in Vienna
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 31 August 2014

we stayed for 3 night...was not sure of the location...but when we reach the hotel, have to admit was happy with the good location / quite at night / a restaurant near the Metro is open upto 12 AM / 2 underground trans stations...old town is walkable distance / !!!!

  • Stayed: August 2014, travelled with family
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank Abhijit13
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Mercure_Biedermeier, Manager at Mercure Grand Hotel Biedermeier Wien, responded to this reviewResponded 14 September 2014

Dear Abhijit13,

Thank you for sharing your positive impressions with the Trip advisor community. It is always nice to receive positive feedback. At Mercure we work very hard in order to provide outstanding service and it makes us proud that we were able to impress you.

Sincerely,

Benjamin Kuhn
Asst. General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (1,189)
There are newer reviews for Mercure Grand Hotel Biedermeier Wien
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

345 - 351 of 1,189 reviews

Reviewed 28 August 2014

This wonderful hotel used to be a complex of cheap apartments making the layout and room configurations unique and charming. It is tucked away in an alley way off of a busy street in easy walking distance to the center of Wien and the large city park. There are expensive and budget eateries nearby, accommodating any budget in addition to options at the hotel. The mini-bar is well stocked and reasonable. There is an internet lounge and the sauna / relaxation room / gym is functional and clean. The European breakfast is good and not over crowded.

On the down side, the mattresses are covered with rubber under the sheets, making for an uncomfortable, sweaty sleep. Also, the cobblestone alley makes suitcases on wheels sound like a freight-train at 5AM as folks get on tour buses or in cabs.

When (not if) we return to Wien, I'll stay here.

Room Tip: Get room off of the alley way.
  • Stayed: August 2014, travelled with family
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank richard l
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Mercure_Biedermeier, Manager at Mercure Grand Hotel Biedermeier Wien, responded to this reviewResponded 31 August 2014

Dear Richard I,

Thank you for sharing your positive impressions with the Trip advisor community. It is always nice to receive positive feedback. At Mercure we work very hard in order to provide outstanding service and it makes us proud that we were able to impress you.

I will share your review with the team as it will serve as encouragement for the future.
Thank you again for sharing your experience, and we hope your next visit will be as pleasant as the previous one.


Sincerely,

Benjamin Kuhn
Asst. General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 August 2014

Modern reception and public rooms, but dated guest rooms, many of which surround the central alley which can be noisy at night as it is a thoroughfare that contains a bar. The alley is the only way to the hotel, it is cobbled, so beware if you have heavy suitcases. Rooms were clean, air con was very efficient and unusually, tea/coffee making facilities were provided. Very good breakfast, English and continental, mostly buffet with some eggs cooked to order. Hotel is a few minutes walk from a main line station/metro station. 20 minutes walk into city centre. Cannot comment on value for money as booking was part of a tour. Staff we encountered were friendly - helps to smile and try a few words in their language to break the ice. Would use as a benchmark against other hotels if I was researching another stay in Vienna. Would be happy to stay again.

Room Tip: Avoid rooms close to alley bar if possible.
  • Stayed: August 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Thank Peter M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Mercure_Biedermeier, Manager at Mercure Grand Hotel Biedermeier Wien, responded to this reviewResponded 31 August 2014

Dear Peter M,

Thank you for sharing your positive impressions with the Trip advisor community. It is always nice to receive positive feedback. At Mercure we work very hard in order to provide outstanding service and it makes us proud that we were able to impress you. I will share your review with the team as it will serve as encouragement for the future.

Thank you again for sharing your experience, and we hope your next visit will be as pleasant as the previous one.

Sincerely,

Benjamin Kuhn
Asst. General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 August 2014

Nice hotel in a nice street. Close to a major train station, so easy to move around by public transport. City centre is within a 20 minute walk as well. The room was a decent size, but nothing spectacular. The hotel was similar, good but not spectacular. The staff was quite helpful, letting us check in early, as well as store our luggage till late at night on the day we checked out without a fuss.

  • Stayed: August 2014, travelled with family
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank AdyutK
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Mercure_Biedermeier, Manager at Mercure Grand Hotel Biedermeier Wien, responded to this reviewResponded 31 August 2014

Dear AdyutK,

Thank you for sharing your positive impressions with the Trip advisor community.

At Mercure we work very hard in order to provide outstanding service and it makes us proud that we were able to impress you. I will share your review with the team as it will serve as encouragement for the future.

Thank you again for sharing your experience, and we hope your next visit will be as pleasant as the previous one.

Sincerely,

Benjamin Kuhn
Asst. General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 August 2014

great hotel within walking distance (15-20 minutes) from centre of town. real good value when checking out the deals on the net, we had two rooms for two nights with a fantastic breakfast for euro 330,00 total.

Room Tip: room facing the alley
  • Stayed: August 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Thank hermann b
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Mercure_Biedermeier, Manager at Mercure Grand Hotel Biedermeier Wien, responded to this reviewResponded 31 August 2014

Dear Hermann B,

Thank you for sharing your positive impressions with the Trip advisor community. It is always nice to receive positive feedback. At Mercure we work very hard in order to provide outstanding service and it makes us proud that we were able to impress you. I will share your review with the team as it will serve as encouragement for the future.

Thank you again for sharing your experience, and we hope your next visit will be as pleasant as the previous one.

Sincerely,

Benjamin Kuhn
Asst. General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 August 2014

Stayed here for three nights. Pleasant, but rather unusual location down an alleyway off the main road, well away from traffic but not from guests having to drag thier luggage over the cobbles!! The room was very much 'bog standard upper budget', but clean & perfectly adequate. In fact the whole hotel was pretty much run of the mill - nothing particularly bad & nothing particulary outstanding. Nice reception area with pleasant enough staff - restaurant and bar staff tended to be rather surly and unhelpful. Restaurant food was OK but after three days was becoming a bit repetative. Have stayed at better - and worse!!!!

Room Tip: Judging by the photos we certainly didn't have one of the better rooms - so they must vary consi...
  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
1  Thank Travellingman6
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Mercure_Biedermeier, Manager at Mercure Grand Hotel Biedermeier Wien, responded to this reviewResponded 31 August 2014

Dear Travellingman6,

Thank you for taking the time to tell us about your experience at the Mercure Wien Grand Hotel Biedermeier. I am sorry that your experience did not meet your expectations; please allow me to express my sincerest apologies.

We appreciate your sharing your concerns, and it is our hope that you will give us the opportunity to better serve you in the near future.

Best regards,
Benjamin Kuhn
Asst. General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 August 2014

We booked 4 nights 20-24th Aug.
We enjoyed the hotel. Room was spacy comfortable the only thing was the choice of the room, whuch was above the alley.
Therefore all the noise from the street comes up and one cannot enjoy opened windows when the weather was so great for that.
We complained and right away were moved to a much better room facing the other side of the hotel
Here we spent 2 quiet nights
The breakfast is really rich and satisfying
Would recommend

Room Tip: Ask a room facing the garden and not the slley leading to the hotel
  • Stayed: August 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
2  Thank Alon G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Mercure_Biedermeier, Manager at Mercure Grand Hotel Biedermeier Wien, responded to this reviewResponded 31 August 2014

Dear Alongross,

Thank you for sharing your positive impressions with the Trip advisor community. It is always nice to receive positive feedback. At Mercure we work very hard in order to provide outstanding service and it makes us proud that we were able to impress you.

I will share your review with the team as it will serve as encouragement for the future.
Thank you again for sharing your experience, and we hope your next visit will be as pleasant as the previous one.

Sincerely,

Benjamin Kuhn
Asst. General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Vienna hotels
Josefstadt
Mercure Josefshof Wien am Rathaus
Leopoldstadt
Mercure Wien City
Mercure Wien City
#132 of 361 in Vienna
1,007 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Landstraße
Ruby Sofie Hotel Vienna
Ruby Sofie Hotel Vienna
#35 of 361 in Vienna
645 reviews
Inner City
Mercure Wien Zentrum
Mercure Wien Zentrum
#118 of 361 in Vienna
1,502 reviews
Inner City
Mercure Vienna First
Mercure Vienna First
#33 of 361 in Vienna
442 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Mercure Grand Hotel Biedermeier Wien? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Mercure Grand Hotel Biedermeier Wien

Address: Landstrasser Hauptstrasse 28, Vienna 1030, Austria
Phone Number:
Region: Austria > Vienna Region > Vienna
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#17 Spa Hotel in Vienna
#58 Family Hotel in Vienna
#67 Romantic Hotel in Vienna
#74 Luxury Hotel in Vienna
#74 Business Hotel in Vienna
Price Range: £81 - £166 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Mercure Grand Hotel Biedermeier Wien 4*
Number of rooms: 198
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Mercure Grand Hotel Biedermeier Wien is a superior 4 star hotel in typical Biedermeier style, offering 198 rooms and suites. 1500 M from the city centre and St Stephens cathedral, the hotel is located in a quiet, heritage style Biedermeier arcade. 300 M away, you will find the subway and train stations as well as bus and tram stops. 16 Km from the airport. The hotel offers a cafe restaurant, hotel bar and the rustic Weissgerberstube pub. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Travel Republic (UK), Hotels.com, Southall Travel, Ctrip TA, Agoda, TripOnline SA, Ebookers, Cancelon, 5viajes2012 S.L. and Evoline ltd so you can book your Mercure Grand Hotel Biedermeier Wien reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Accor Grand Hotel Biedermeier Wien

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing