We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Old style family hotel, very pleasant staff in a central location”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Hotel Zur Wiener Staatsoper
Ranked #210 of 360 Hotels in Vienna
Certificate of Excellence
Dublin, Ireland
Level 6 Contributor
93 reviews
41 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 65 helpful votes
“Old style family hotel, very pleasant staff in a central location”
Reviewed 6 August 2013

A nice old style family hotel, with very pleasant staff in a central location in a great city, with easy access and paid parking was nearby.

However, the keyword is 'small' and also a bit 'old'! Be prepared for a small room with a tiny bathroom, though with everything required; mind you a fan instead of air-conditioning. The security box has to be paid for and yet would barely hold a set of keys. The carpets could be cleaner and as a result there was a slight smell also, plastic flowers were notable!

  • Stayed July 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank S1m8ne
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

225 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    83
    89
    31
    8
    14
See reviews for
45
89
18
16
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (33)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Fort Myers Beach, Florida
Level 5 Contributor
46 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed 29 June 2013

it is a very nice family hotel located in the heart of Vienna. The rooms are comfortable but small. I would not recommend it for an obese person, it is hard to move around.
The breakfast is delicious and the location is perfect!

  • Stayed June 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Slavica B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Oregon
Level 4 Contributor
25 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed 28 May 2013

The rooms are small, and I imagine they could be warm in the summer with only a fan. However, the location, cleanliness, breakfast and staff can't be beat. I would stay here again, as my first choice over a chain hotel. There is something about being in the center of things, in a smaller hotel, that gives you a better feel of the city.

We were right around the corner from the opera house, a short walk from all the museums, and the public transit. The taxi driver had a little trouble finding it, after he dropped my friends off at the Marriott a few blocks away. But he dropped me steps from the door, and I liked the charm and feel of the place right away.

We called the room "Our princess room" and you can see why! Make sure you have good power adapters, of course. I blew the plugs in the room with my computer.

Reading the other reviews, I am reminded that you can always find fault anywhere because you take yourself with you. But, if you really want to experience Vienna and love local charm, stay here.

Room Tip: Off the alley is probably quieter...we used our ear plugs and still heard the partiers leaving the A...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank kathymcc
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dallas, Texas, United States
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 21 May 2013

My husband and I stayed at Zur Wiener Staatsoper for 4 nights and loved every minute. Claudia truly went above and beyond. We came to experience Vienna as locals and not as tourist. The staff recommended wonderful restaurants that we will crave for years to come. The breakfast is small but the perfect amount for a day of touring the city. The room was clean, comfy, quiet, and perfect for two. The location of this hotel is ideal! You are truly in the best location for the best price. Stay here, open the windows and take in the smell of the bakery across the street!

  • Stayed May 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Stefanie P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kauai
Level 5 Contributor
64 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
Reviewed 19 May 2013

An absolutely perfect location in the middle of all the attractions, Small rooms as is usual in Europe, but very clean. Most of the staff are friendly and helpful and good continental breakfast. Reasonable rates. Would definitely recommend this small 'boutique' hotel

Room Tip: Can be noisy when windows are open. Luckily there is a fan so you can keep cool with windows closed.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank 4fishtaco
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Canada
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 8 May 2013

Location couldn't be better BUT:
- charging 4 Euros for lock for in room safe and another 4 Euros for use of the electrical adapter is a cash grab,
- not lending you a wine glass because they may need them ( we never saw 1 person have a drink there in 4 days) is silly,
- having a staff member standing idly by as we (2 seniors) struggled with baggage in a tiny elevator and taking them to the taxi as we were checking out is just plain rude.
- being in an old European city, we did not want or expect a North American size or style room, but this is very small.

With the double windows we did not have a noise problem. We were there in early May - I can't imagine how hot it would be in that tiny room in the summer.

Bottom line - not terrible but I would keep looking if I were you.

  • Stayed May 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Canadian41
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Allerød
Level 5 Contributor
84 reviews
48 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 72 helpful votes
Reviewed 18 March 2013

We have just spent a weekend in Vienna and stayed at this good small hotel. The location could not be better - and it is really value for money. Staff is very nice and helpful. Rooms are small and the bathroom is tiny, but everything is neat and very clean.
We will certainly be back.

  • Stayed March 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Mette C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Vienna hotels
Inner City
Pension Aviano
Pension Aviano
#180 of 360 in Vienna
399 reviews
Inner City
Pension Suzanne
Pension Suzanne
#65 of 360 in Vienna
761 reviews
Inner City
Pertschy Palais Hotel
Pertschy Palais Hotel
#168 of 360 in Vienna
593 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Inner City
Pension Neuer Markt
Pension Neuer Markt
#188 of 360 in Vienna
331 reviews
Inner City
Hotel Mailbergerhof
Hotel Mailbergerhof
#167 of 360 in Vienna
251 reviews
Inner City
Pension Nossek
Pension Nossek
#169 of 360 in Vienna
244 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Zur Wiener Staatsoper? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Zur Wiener Staatsoper

Property: Hotel Zur Wiener Staatsoper
Address: Krugerstrasse 11, Vienna 1010, Austria
Region: Austria > Vienna Region > Vienna > Inner City , Innere Stadt
Amenities:
Hotel Style:
Ranked #210 of 360 Hotels in Vienna
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Zur Wiener Staatsoper 3*
Number of rooms: 22
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Ebookers, Evoline ltd and Cancelon so you can book your Hotel Zur Wiener Staatsoper reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Zur Wiener Staatsoper Vienna
Zur Wiener Staatsoper Hotel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing