We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great charm, hospitality and location”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Hotel Zur Wiener Staatsoper
Ranked #214 of 361 Hotels in Vienna
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 17 March 2014 via mobile

Lovely small an old-fashioned, very Viennese, family hotel. Friendly and caring atmosphere and service. Tiny rooms and bathrooms, tiny elevator. We slept well, some hollering outside in the street below. Walking distances to most tourist sights and many shops, truly in the midst of lovely Vienna!

Stayed: March 2014, travelled as a couple
Thank Rudbeckius
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (228)
There are newer reviews for Hotel Zur Wiener Staatsoper
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

64 - 70 of 228 reviews

Reviewed 10 March 2014 via mobile

Location is ideal - in the center of the city. Most highlights are a short walk. The Kaerentner shopping street is in front of you when you step out of the hotel, so are the Albertina Museum ( a wonderful exhibition "from Monet to Piccaso") and the opera - Staatsoper and the Hofburg.
The Stefan Cathedral is a 5 minutes walk through the beautigul Kaerentner pedestrain street, which will lead you to Graben.
Nashmarkt, the food market, is 10 -15 minute walk.
Lots of restaurants and Hotdog stands are in the vicinity.
Although it is a 3 star hotel, breakfast offers a big variety, a pretty Vienese style small dinning room and a wonderful service.
The room, in Vienese styles well, is not big but it is comfortable. I was glad to find a cupboard which I often missed in 4 srar hotels. The bath room is small yet functional.
The Staff is kind and very helpful and offered useful and reliable information regarding any question.

  • Stayed: March 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Rivka P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 February 2014 via mobile

We wanted to be able to go around by foot, so we chose a hotel in the centre. This hotel just a block away from the beautiful opera gives you an authentic austrian feeling for reasonable price.
The beautiful staircase and corridors, as well as the breakfast salone give the place a romantic spirit. You can tell the furniture is old but it is not obsolete and fits in. The carpets are bad, though, i hope those guys get rid of them soon.
The staff is friendly and breakfast is delicious!!!

Thank Цветанка Г
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveller and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Reviewed 3 October 2013

It’s hard to imagine a better location for sightseeing in Vienna. The hotel is located on a pedestrianized street just steps away from the Opera House, the Albertina Museum, the ring streets, and the Kaertnerstrasse shopping district. The Hofburg and Stefansplatz are a short walk, and there is easy access both to trams and the U-Bahn (subway) to range further afield. The hotel itself is small and cozy, and the front desk staff were very friendly and helpful. Our room was a very reasonable size for a mid-range hotel in one of Europe’s most expensive cities: not large, but not so small that there was no room to move around. The bathroom was tiny: it felt scarcely larger than an airplane toilet, but was adequate. Breakfast was served in a well appointed room right off the lobby, and was strictly European – cold cuts and rolls, some cereals, juice, tea, and coffee. The serving staff were very attentive. One drawback: our room was on the second floor and overlooked the street, which has a number of restaurants at which carousing continued well into the wee hours. Our choice was to keep the windows closed or be entertained by some very loud revelers.

Overall, this is a comfortable, reasonably priced hotel in an outstanding location.

Room Tip: Perhaps a room on a higher floor and away from the street would be less noisy.
  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Eeyore17
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 September 2013

After coming home I have read some revues about this hotel. It is true that Vienna is very hot in summer and the fan in the bedroom was useless. However our main problem was that the rooms are very, very, small and the bathroom was minute. It was also quite tatty, with no carpet on the stairs and very dusty artificial flowers everywhere. We found the staff friendly towards us but we did not complain about anything, we just put up with it. They also charged 4 euro for the safe key, 4 euros to borrow and adapter (my husband thought he would have a refund when he returned it!) and you could have had a small bottle of mineral water for 2.50 euro (we drink the tap water). It was convenient for all of the main tourist attractions. I am not sure how the price compared with other hotels in central Vienna but it was not, in my opinion, good value for money.

  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
6  Thank Joanna935
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 August 2013

The hotel's website promised "modern comfort" and a "ventilator during the summer months". What we got was a stuffy room that reached 40C (105F), with a small desk fan to move the hot air from one side of the room to the other. Sleep was virtually impossible, due to the heat and the noise coming through the window (which we had to leave open in the hope of reducing the temperature). Both the bedroom and the bathroom were rather small - poor value for money.

Room Tip: Go elsewhere in summer
  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank UKtravellerK
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 August 2013

During the summer months, you may regret bitterly staying in this hotel. This is particularly so if you stay in the rooms in the front of the hotel (the double rooms). These rooms face the sun all day long, so they becomes little better than green houses - Vienna gets fairly hot and sunny in July and August. The hotel provides no efficient means of ventilation - and they are not apologetic about it, quite the opposite. The "fan" provided is a small desk fan that does little to placate the heat. During the day is impossible to stay inside the room (for example, if you feel unwell), and during the night I measured 32C inside at near mid-night. We were told that opening the windows would help; it didn't, or not until about 4am, when the outside temperatues reached circa 25C, but then we were kept awake by the extreme street noise, as well as by the heat.
We complained with the receptionist, who was sort of blaming us for chosing to stay there (?!?), that we should have known that it would be that hot, because every summer Vienna gets hot - how should we know: there was no warning in theirs or booking.com sites and no one would automatically and willingly book a stay in hell. I tried to negotiate with the hotel owner to pay for one (unslept) night so that she would cancell the remaining of my booking, since the service provided was not as advertised nor fit for purpose. She was unrepented, she engaged in a monologue which seemed very well rehearsed - no doubt she has had to say that many times before. If I tried to interject (at no stage I raised my voice) she just kept on talking but louder and louder. I contacted booking.com and asked for them to help, and they tried. The owner again turned down any proposal from our side to negotiate an amicable exit. Like the receptionist, the owner was blaming us for chosing the hotel. Wasn't for the fact that I was feeling exhausted that morning due to the heat and an unslept night, I would have laughed. But it was then I fully sympathised with one of the reviews (the person who had asthma attack) I read in tripadvisor. Unfortunately I read it in retrospect: I should have paid more attention to the "Terrible" reviews for, although a minority, they were the most correct in this case. I ended up only staying one night in this hotel, it was impossible to stay for longer, and moved on to a nearby hotel, which was only 10% more expensive, but a few orders of magnitudes better (i.e. it did as advertised, it provided "comfort"). The owner of the Staatsoper hotel seemed very happy with the 3 for 1 deal she had on me: I paid for 3 nights but only cost her 1. Maybe this is the business model she is following.
I filed complaints with the Austrian authorities. This, and trying to warn other travellers here who, like me, pay more attention to the positive feedback, is the least I can do.

Room Tip: - Do not stay in this hotel in the summer months - If you must stay there, then chose the rooms at...
  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank Moonytat
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Vienna hotels
Inner City
Pension Aviano
Pension Aviano
#175 of 361 in Vienna
405 reviews
Inner City
Pension Suzanne
Pension Suzanne
#64 of 361 in Vienna
762 reviews
Inner City
Pension Neuer Markt
Pension Neuer Markt
#194 of 361 in Vienna
336 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Inner City
Pension Nossek
Pension Nossek
#186 of 361 in Vienna
254 reviews
Inner City
Pertschy Palais Hotel
Pertschy Palais Hotel
#169 of 361 in Vienna
599 reviews
Inner City
Hotel Mailbergerhof
Hotel Mailbergerhof
#170 of 361 in Vienna
255 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Zur Wiener Staatsoper? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Zur Wiener Staatsoper

Address: Krugerstrasse 11, Vienna 1010, Austria
Region: Austria > Vienna Region > Vienna > Inner City , Innere Stadt
Amenities:
Hotel Style:
Ranked #214 of 361 Hotels in Vienna
Price Range: £119 - £155 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Zur Wiener Staatsoper 3*
Number of rooms: 22
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Ebookers, Agoda, Evoline ltd, Cancelon and 5viajes2012 S.L. so you can book your Hotel Zur Wiener Staatsoper reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Zur Wiener Staatsoper Vienna
Zur Wiener Staatsoper Hotel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing